We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveler with Dog” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Mirage Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Desert Mirage Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Mirage Inn and Suites
1910 Needles Highway, Needles, CA 92363   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Needles
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Traveler with Dog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I too am amazed at how some reviewers seem to search for the clever phrase to put down this motel. I stay a lot at Motel 6 because the dog stays free and I know what a budget motel looks like and sleeps like.
This motel is a large step up from that. It is not five starts, but I paid a total of $44 for my dog (just $5 for him), my room, and tax. It was on a Friday and cheaper than the local Motel 6 at that time.

The outside might give you pause, but the rooms were very clean and modern. The carpet looked new and the bathroom was well styled with tile, etc. The furniture was still in good shape thanks to glass tops although the upholstered chairs did show a few faint stains. The king bed was not hard, nor scratchy.

If you want to stay some place inexpensive yet clean with better than average room decor, this is the place. The pool is fine for my needs and the ac was very cold on that 105 degree day.

No smells and no noise. The wifi was free, but slow and dropped out from time to time. The room had a refrig and micro.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
8
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I've seen a lot of negative feedback on this place but honestly its great. Its a "Motel".....in Needles people so don't expect 5 star amenities. It's newly renovated. Clean. Nice decor. Smells clean. Comfortable beds. A/C worked great. They provide soap, a hairdryer, frig and microwave in the room. If your needs are beyond that then bring it or just ask. Nice friendly people who own/run the place. Even at 2:30am which was our arrival time and I clearly woke them up, I still was helped with a smile. My only suggestion to the hotel would be to offer extra blankets in the cabinet. the covers on the beds are pretty much sheets.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 121. Bring a blanket if you are like me and like to be under one no what the weat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The first room had problems with the toilet. We got another one, but that was just as dirty as the first. Moreover, it was noisy and smelly. We did not even change the room for one night. Who knows what we would have expected?
My recommendation for all travelers not to stay there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

,We used it as an overnight stop from the Canyon to Hollywood and found it to be fine,£23 a night real good value,the room was clean,had a fridge and a microwave if you needed them,you will need the fridge too as Needles is one hot place,thank god for air conditioning.there is a pool but didn't look too inviting but why would you when you have the Colorado River near by,there is a Bar next door which was a friendly place and eating places around,If you like a Beer with your meal don't eat in the Wagon Wheel as they dont serve Liquor,the food is good though.would we stay here again,yes we would.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay this is fine. Clean and comfortable. We weren't sure as at night it looked a bit ominous, but place was friendly enough. We didn't really rate needles as whole though, just a place to pass through, nothing to do that we could see.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

If you have to stay in Needles, don't! It is a very depressing little city and the hotel was not that great. We had to change rooms since our room did not have a door guard allowing inches of rain into the room as well as torn up electrical sockets. The bed was comfortable once we changed rooms and the TV worked. The office was closed in the morning so check out was a little weird.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Cove, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My room was SPARTAN! No wall hangings...and the lights were flourescent - VERY harsh in an all-white room! One of the lights was not working. I had to turn on the only incandescent light (bathroom) to tolerate any light.
There was not shampoo or soap, so I mentioned it to the front desk person who did come by later with two soaps (no shampoo).
The whole facility was quite old but had been converted somewhat.
The carpet was old and very cheap-looking. The sheets were a meager quality. No blanket was provided.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Mirage Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Mirage Inn and Suites

Address: 1910 Needles Highway, Needles, CA 92363
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Needles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Needles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Desert Mirage Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Mirage Hotel Needles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Mirage Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.