We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Mirage Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Desert Mirage Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Desert Mirage Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1910 Needles Highway, Needles, CA 92363   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Needles
Oswestry, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay this is fine. Clean and comfortable. We weren't sure as at night it looked a bit ominous, but place was friendly enough. We didn't really rate needles as whole though, just a place to pass through, nothing to do that we could see.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
8
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

If you have to stay in Needles, don't! It is a very depressing little city and the hotel was not that great. We had to change rooms since our room did not have a door guard allowing inches of rain into the room as well as torn up electrical sockets. The bed was comfortable once we changed rooms and the TV worked. The office was closed in the morning so check out was a little weird.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Cove, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My room was SPARTAN! No wall hangings...and the lights were flourescent - VERY harsh in an all-white room! One of the lights was not working. I had to turn on the only incandescent light (bathroom) to tolerate any light.
There was not shampoo or soap, so I mentioned it to the front desk person who did come by later with two soaps (no shampoo).
The whole facility was quite old but had been converted somewhat.
The carpet was old and very cheap-looking. The sheets were a meager quality. No blanket was provided.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Such a lovely motel, a gemm in the desert, yes, for its category (the double bedroom was just under 40$ mid-may). We were on our way to the most luxurious resort (Amangiri in Page, a 1100 dollars/night + taxes and gratuity palace). The Desert & Mirage Inn felt good : it just felt like its modest yet perfectly tuned counterpart. Highly recommended for a rest between LA and Arizona or Southern Utah.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

About 20 of us, on a classic car run stayed here on a Friday evening in May of 2012. I've been staying here the first night of the run for the past 8 years, and many of the guys have been staying there for a lot longer.
This year was a pleasant surprize. All the windows, beds, and most of the appliances had been upgraded and replaced. The price went up to $45 - $49 a night, but it was well worth it. The property managers were as always very helpful and kept their sense of humor when we all showed up late, and without reservations.

The room had a wide screen TV, fridge, and microwave.

Room Tip: I only saw my own room on this trip, so as always I prefer a ground floor room. There are no elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

It's a fine little spot. The rooms are spacious, clean, and well outfitted. Far superior to the national chain motels. I stayed on a Friday night and there were no problems. Quiet and charming, with a wonderful staff. I'd stay again

Los Angeles

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. For $30 a night this motel was the best value we had on a recent one month trip. The room was large and well equipped.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Mirage Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Mirage Inn and Suites

Address: 1910 Needles Highway, Needles, CA 92363
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Needles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Needles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Mirage Inn and Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Desert Mirage Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Mirage Hotel Needles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Mirage Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.