We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bug motel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Best Motel

Best Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Best Motel to your Saves list
Best Motel
1900 Needles Highway, Needles, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Needles
san diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“bug motel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Four kind of bugs........ bed bugs, crickets, cockroaches, moths caught 18 critters before I had enough and had to leave. the shower was full of standing water drain not working, papramedics and police clean out a room with 8-10 people some arrested, some gurneyed away by the local fd.If you watch south park the bar /restaurant reminded of that place with a bunch of middle to old age ex-men, its the episode where they say "we don't take to your kind around here." went next door to another place very nice room, clean, no bugs, no druggies

Room Tip: go next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    3
    0
    11
See reviews for
1
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, we didn't stay here. We left after less than 5 minutes. Let me explain why.
As we walked into the office, the manager(?) was obviously making 'happy time' with himself. He politely stopped as myself and my girlfriend entered. Seemed like a quiet day, so we let him off. $40 a night? Cash only. Fair enough. Not the cheapest place in town, but one of. Room 26. Sorted.
We decided to have a look at the room before we took out bags in.
Dirty bed linen, dirt in piles against floor, bathroom was.... Alive. And so were the cockroaches. Covering the entire place. We escaped the room before we caught something.
The bloke in the office wasn't happy about giving me the money back, but after telling him if report him to health and safety if he didn't, we were reimbursed.
I probably will report him anyway.
Went to the best western after that up the road and had a very long shower.

Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here after a hard day riding.
The first room was stinking of smoke, dusty, dirty, dated and the towels were used and still wet.
I asked manager for a better room and said "his housekeeper must have smoked too much weed that day"????
He kindly gave us the VIP room, which has a hot tub in it (its a spa bath).
I've been unable sleep due to noise and I've placed a chest against the door.
I hope my bike is still there in the morning.
Avoid at all cost

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I ended up going out to the truck at 2:30 a:m and sleeping in there instead. Food crumbs and pubes in the bed, room smelled like rottent ashtray, one dirty towel, dirty floors, ac not working right, stains on walls. People arguing at all hours of the night. This place should be condemned. Worst of the worst. Probably got some diseases just from watching tv there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Disgusting,filthy,dangerous rooms. We stayed for one night, in the 3rd room they showed us.The first 2 were unacceptable. The fridge and microwave was dirty and rusty and had no turntable. The air conditioning didn't work. The door and window were broken. The carpet and furnishings were stained and dirty.The bin was filthy. They would not accept our confirmed booking price, and wanted a third more, and would only accept cash payment, when we had booked with visa. Our booked room was for 2 Queen Beds. We had 1. Don't go there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Everything was dirty and filthy. The place stinks. We could hear every single sound from other rooms. Air conditionning down. Fortunatly no bedbugs but cigarettes holes. $40 only in cash. Unfriendly staff, impossible to connect the so-called free wi-fi. Probably with dealers and prostitutes... Try another motel on 66 road.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needles, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

drug dealers and prostitues, nasty rooms and roaches, stay away.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Motel

Address: 1900 Needles Highway, Needles, CA
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Needles
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Needles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Best Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.