We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South - National City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express South - National City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South - National City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1645 East Plaza Blvd, National City, CA 91950 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in National City
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

hotel was clean, rooms where clean, staff if great, and made you feel very welcomed. i would really suggest this Hotel to anyone visiting in this area.....

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    33
    18
    2
    5
See reviews for
41
23
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Stayed here in January 2011. The room was not clean especially the toilet bowl which was also not mounted to the floor tightly. Carpet was not clean in the room and was coming up in the halls. The place was noisy all night and this was a Thursday. Guests dogs were in the lobby unleashed. The staff were nice but this place is a dump.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mganshorn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South - National City, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Thank you for contacting us. The management and staff at Comfort Inn South Bay also share your commitment to world-class guest service and satisfaction, and appreciate the opportunity to resolve any guest relations issues with the utmost urgency and care . I apologize for any misunderstanding, I'm certain this matter has been taken care of with a full resolution and we pledge to be more mindful in the future when confronted with similar incident.
Thank You
Monika Ganshorn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Here is a short and simple review:

1)Location: Close to local stores like CVS, CHASE Bank, and fast food restaurants.
2)Staff: All staff members are courteous and helpful. The front desk clerk called cabs for my friends and I. Also, googled several locations for us.
3)Rooms: The rooms are lovely. As soon as you walk in you are welcomed with candy on the bed. The bathroom had nice marble and the water pressure was amazing!
4)Breakfast: Totally worth getting up in the morning. They had scrambled eggs, waffles, cinnamon rolls, cereal, and fruit.

You get your money's worth at this hotel and a good night sleep! It's rare to come across a hotel were you feel welcomed, safe and at home. This is that hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

first of all i like too say i have traveled al over the world and not once have i ever been so upset too find out that my credit card was charged 2 eatra nights and 150 dollers for smokeing in the room first of all i dont smoke and have the start on emphazme secondly i was home in my own bed when this took palce my wife did verfiy it hopeing i can get thease charges off my credit card can anybody help.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mganshorn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South - National City, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Thank you for contacting us. The management and staff at Comfort Inn South Bay also share your commitment to world-class guest service and satisfaction, and appreciate the opportunity to resolve any guest relations issues with the utmost urgency and care . I apologize for any misunderstanding, I'm certain this matter has been taken care of with a full resolution and we pledge to be more mindful in the future when confronted with similar incident.
Thank You
Monika Ganshorn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights and was very satisfied with the overall hotel. Very friendly and accommodating staff, very clean, very comfortable with free and ample parking. Expanded continental breakfast with hot food, eggs, sausage, and waffles.Nice location with reasonable prices for San Diego visitors. I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

My trip to San Diego resulted from a death in the family. I was looking for a hotel that was convenient, safe, and relatively inexpensive. What I got was all of those, plus a clean, comfortable room and the most compassionate, helpful staff I've ever experienced. From the reservation process, to checking in, to the stay itself, I found that the staff went out of their way to provide excellent service, and knowing my situation, simple kindnesses. Thanks so much to Kim, Wes, and Bobby, as well as the service staff. You made a difficult situation bearable.

As for the accommodations, the beds were comfortable, the hotel was quiet (even on a holiday weekend) the jacuzzi and pool very accessible, a better than average breakfast served, AND I felt quite safe going back and forth. A great value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mganshorn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South - National City, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Thank you from all of us here at the hotel. We all remember you and and want to thank you for your kind words. I am certainly proud of the wonderful staff here at Comfort Inn South Bay. Kindest wishes to you and your family.
Monika Ganshorn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We planned a vacation for an family get-together and had family coming for all over the U.S. We choose this hotel because of the location and the advertised breakfast. However, the whole experience was awesome!!!!
The staff was so friendly and helpful - from the front desk staff to the housekeepers and breakfast room staff. We raved about our comfort there and happiness with the hotel amenities the entire long weekend.
I got back home yesterday and have already recommended this hitel to others.
Thank you for all your help and concern.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mganshorn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South - National City, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
We are all so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. thank you for taking the time to give the hard working staff the praise that they deserve.
Monika Ganshorn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express South - National City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South - National City

Address: 1645 East Plaza Blvd, National City, CA 91950 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in National City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South - National City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the smoke-free Holiday Inn Express San Diego South – National City and enjoy our complete renovation that will “awe” you. We are conveniently located off I-805 and are within minutes from San Diego’s biggest attractions. We provide a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free parking, business center, fitness room, an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool. A host of amenities such as plush new bedding, 37’ LCD television with cable channels, free wireless internet, refrigerator, and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South - National City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Bay Hotel National City
Comfort Inn National City
National City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South - National City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.