We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was unsafe, absolutely unsanitary and had horrible customer service.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn National City

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn National City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn National City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   607 Roosevelt Ave, National City, CA 91950   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in National City
1 review
“This hotel was unsafe, absolutely unsanitary and had horrible customer service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

On thanksgiving we booked two rooms: both the rooms were disgusting. After discovering the roaches in the first room the hotel clerk gave us another room but even then it was the same situation. This location was absolutely horrible. Roaches in the bathroom, semen stained bed sheets, uncleaned rooms, drug dealers in the parking lot, prostitutes on the premises- do I need to go on? One thug looking man approached my daughter and harassed her about what room she was staying in. I mean this was by far the worst hotel experience ever. The management was rude and horrible they even had the nerve to try and deny Expedia for our money back. Needles to say that we did not last more then an hour before we evacuated that hellhole and got our money back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Rodeway Inn National City, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We are very sorry for your experience you had here at the Rodeway Inn. We are under new management, All of our rooms are nice and renovated. They are very clean and we invite you to come and try us out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    5
    0
    16
See reviews for
6
2
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed at this hotel because every other hotel had no vacancies (we didn't realise there was an event in San Diego when we visited)

I have stayed in some cheap and nasty hotels in my time but this this is way beyond that. The room was filthy, sheets dirty and cigarette butts on top of the shower. The air con sounded like it was going to explode but at least that drowned out the sound of the traffic and unsavouries that were loitering around the car park.

Even if you are desperate for a place to stay, I'd save your money (we paid $140 a night) and if you have a car sleep in that!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Rodeway Inn National City, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for the review, You stayed during the biggest convention of the entire year and our rates were competitive or lower than those arund us. We have since renovated this hotel and it is nice new and clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

After reading everyone else's reviews, I don't know if I was just fortunate or what. The room was decent with a soft bed and cable. Free Wi-Fi and a comfortable chair and desk, plus fridge and microwave.

On the other hand.... the customer service here could be a lot better. Enough said on that. The customer service could be a lot better. And so could the housekeeping. The bed was uneven and poorly made, and I found a candy wrapper sitting under the AC unit. I was okay with taking care of these myself, but bottom line: It's their job, not mine.

Nearby amenities are limited. You have an AM/PM service station, but there is a decent Italian restaurant behind the motel called Napoleone's. Very good lasagna. Also a Jack In The Box less than a block away next to the AM/PM. Anything else is about a mile away on Highland Avenue.

Good place to stay in a pinch, but if you're looking for a place to stay around Naval Base San Diego or National City, you can do a little bit better.

Room Tip: Only tip is to reserve online.... trying to stay here in the past, they almost NEVER accept walk-ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Rodeway Inn National City, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We have taken the info given in these reviews and made many changes. We have updated and renovated this property, new beds and amenities as well as 32" LCD Tv's, free continental breakfast and free off-street parking. We are right next to a freeway off ramp and have easy access. We are trying to make this property a better property with better customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This Roadway was the worst place I had ever stayed in . Out of fiftyfour yearsI have never been in a place like that. There holes in the blanket and the certains. I made reservations for a non-smoking room they lied and said that they did not have one . Then he told me that I could get and non-smoking room the next day and that did not happen. I will not advise a dog to stay in that place and I will never go there again .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Rodeway Inn National City, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
This entire hotel has been upgraded, beds, linens, appliances etc. thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011 via mobile

I don't normally write these because all reviews have good and bad however for this one people need to know! Do not stay here the manager is the rudest man I have met in my 2 years of travelling! He ripped us off and laughed at it! The place is scary with dodgey men outside every room and it looks like a place from a thriller film! The manager doesn't deserve Anyones money!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Rodeway Inn National City, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Since this review, many years ago we have had some sensitivity training and we have upgraded our breakfast and renovated the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuqueruqe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We arrived and there were prostitutes and the place was trashed. We didn't even check in. Four of the five cabs wouldn't pick us up from this location. BAD BAD part of town. we went to Porto Vista in Little Italy and the price, rooms and location were great. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Rodeway Inn National City, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We appreciate the review it is very old and we have a ZERO tolerance policy and have many families that stay here. We are a limited service budget hotel and the Porto Vista is a 3 + star restaurant onsite with complete renovations starting at $109.00 + tax a night. NO we do not compare with that, however we have worked very hard to upgrade this property and make it safe comfortable. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Smallest hotel room I've seen and the beds looked old and dirty. Not to mention the ghetto people drinking and smoking you have to pass on the way to your room. Felt uneasy the whole time. Thank God it was only for one night. DON'T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M P, Manager at Rodeway Inn National City, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We have new beds and complete renovation. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn National City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn National City

Address: 607 Roosevelt Ave, National City, CA 91950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in National City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn National City 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a limited service budget hotel with a great location just off interstate 5 in National City. Within walking distance to eateries and we have off street Free Parking and Free WiFi and Free Continental breakfast with In-Room Micro/Fridge and Coffeemaker. Come stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rodeway Inn National City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National City Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn National City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.