We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of De-reservations” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Roosevelt Avenue, National City, CA 91950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in National City
Hemet, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beware of De-reservations”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I made an on-line reservation the day before my arrival. I called the facility the morning of my arrival to ensure that there were no problems. I arrived at 6 pm that evening and was told that there was no reservation in my name and they could not do anything for me.
Enough said!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    17
    13
    5
See reviews for
28
19
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WINCHESTER
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

When my husband called the person answering the phone new his name. That was great because we stay there often. It is close to the freeway and easy to get to. It is clean a big king bed to sleep in with 4 pillows. Lots of channels on the TV. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SynergyHotelGroup, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you Howard Johnson Traveler

We appreciate your stay with us and your wonderful review. As you were able to see, our staff are trained with high customer quality care services and knowing our guest is part of our duties to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. We are glad that did not go unnoticed. We are located only minutes from the Freeway where you can enjoy the many attractions San Diego has such as Petco Park where the San Diego Padres play or Qualcomm Stadium where our San Diego Chargers dominate the field or visit the many beautiful beaches and enjoy a nice sunset dinner. We do hope to have you back in town with us again soon.

Thank you
Mallarie

Mallarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hi. We spent two night at this hotel and we both liked the room. The room was clean and well presented. The bed was super comfy making it hard to get up. I personally liked that the parking was in the middle of the hotel, like a courtyard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SynergyHotelGroup, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hello Kimberly
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Howard Johnson. We are happy to hear that your room was well presented and clean to your satisfaction. We hope that you were able to get a chance to check out some of the many wonderful attractions that San Diego has to offer like Petco Park, Downtown San Diego, Sea Port Village to name a few. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Mallarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you are just looking for a decent place to sleep, free parking, and free continental breakfast for a affordable price and close driving distance to San Diego this is the place for you. It is located about 8 miles away from San Diego by highway. I stayed in a room that was clean and looks recently rennovated (other than the phone). There was a flat screen TV and a mini fridge in the room. The bed was comfy and bathroom looked decent. This is not a luxury hotel so don't expect that for the price! The breakfast was filling- toast/muffins/cereal/juice/hard boiled eggs- what more can you ask for? It was worth the drive to save $100 bucks a night from staying in within San Diego directly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SynergyHotelGroup, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you Babydream7 for your review and recent stay here at our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast each morning. As you said we are located just a few short miles from all the major attractions within San Diego such as Petco Park, the San Diego Chargers Stadium, the wonderful beaches, and the many restaurants in Downtown San Diego. As you stated we have recently done some renovations to our rooms and we are pleased to hear that you noticed them.

Thank you and hope to see you again soon
Mallarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS MORALES POLANC NA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The surroundings seems to be dangerous. And when I moved the night table to protect my little child from falling from bed I found a condom cover and that gave me a terrible impression and my little girl's socks ended black instead of white just in a few minutes due to dirtiness in the rug.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SynergyHotelGroup, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hello Ricardo
We sincerely apologize for the condition of your room. I can assure you that our housekeepers are being trained to ensure the cleanliness of your room and they will also have refresher training as well. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to see where we need to improve.

Thank you
Mallarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South

Address: 521 Roosevelt Avenue, National City, CA 91950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in National City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn National City San Diego South Hotel National City
Howard Johnson National City
National City Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.