We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National City hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Bay Marina Drive, National City, CA 91950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in National City
Chicago, United States
1 review
“National City hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great hotel for business in the area. Very clean. Restaurants within a 2 minute drive (including a great sushi place; OK, In-and-out burger place as well) and also within walking distance. Rooms very clean. Coffee maker, microwave and small fridge in the room. Staff friendly and efficient. Easy access from the 5. A short and easy trip back to the airport. All drinks are out of paper or plastic cups.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    82
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
110
77
18
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed in this hotel 5 nights and it was very new hotel.
Very nice decorated, staff was very friendly and there was a huge parking lot.

Just next to the hotel was a restaurant with very good breakfasts.

Large and very comfortable beds, luxurious bathroom - simply very good choice and it was for very reasonable price!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel because the company that was supposed to provide free airfare to Washington D.C. couldn't meet their obligation and provided a stay in San Diego instead. The location is near the port where cars are delivered from Japan and just south of the San Diego Naval Base where they play taps and the Star Spangled Banner every weekday morning over the loudspeakers at about 8:00 a.m. The hotel is convenient to San Diego and Imperial Beach. Upon arriving and during our entire stay, the staff was very friendly. The room was very clean with typical amenities. The only two things we did not like about the hotel were the bed, which was too firm for our liking, and the lack of wall insulation since we were able to hear the neighboring guests on our last night's stay.

There is a very good restaurant (breakfast) next to the Hotel called Goodies Pours & Grill.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great hotel; Clean Rooms; Great Customer service with ample parking. The Busters restaurant across the parking lot is a great, family restaurant. The owners are hand on and can be found their on any given day. The food is very reasonably priced and made to order. While you're there do yourself a favor and treat your palate to their famous French fries. I've tried to duplicate the seasoning at home and have been unsuccessful. Get them while their hot!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc County, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Could not find a thing that they could have done better.Great hotel with both appearance and staff. Location allowed us easy access to take in all the sites and tours of San Diego. Could use their business center to access internet and print out all coupons for attractions

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Don't expect people to solve problems. It's like going into a highly decorated McDonalds' where the employees are in suits, greeted you in a professional way. The minute you have a concern that involve their part to make things right, then you will be on your own. They will be apologetic, but they would just not do anything for you. This hotel has some of the best rates in the nearby area, so if you find it fit your budget, take it. Good Luck.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
January 1, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We sincerely apologize for your experience at our property and we appreciate you providing us with feedback. We take great pride in our excellent customer service, and I want to personally apologize that your recent stay did not reflect this. We will be sure to follow up with our entire staff at our hotel and we will use your feedback as a training tool. As you can see from our previous reviews, this case was an out of the ordinary and guest satisfaction is our most important goal. Thank you for the time you spent responding and we will continue to strive to do a better job of taking care of our guest’s concerns.


Sincerely,

Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 5 nights. Jeff checked us in. He was really nice and said he gave us a room with great ocean view. Room 411. When we got to the room (it was really late), we searched for that water outside and couldn't find it. We just laughed about it and went to bed. In the morning we did find the ocean! It is really far away, you will have more of a parking lot view. Just saying if you are looking for an ocean view, this is not a hotel for you.

The hotel was VERY clean and very nice. Front desk people were so friendly and accommodated every request we had: wine glasses, sea world coupons, change for the meter. They are great. They will do anything to make you happy.

The room was very nice. Comfortable beds, clean sheets. Also they have nice bathroom supply like shampoo, conditioner and lotion. And they brought new ones every day. Most hotels have cheap low quality ones and don't replenish them at all, you would have to ask for extra. In this hotel it was there for you every day.

I think the only down side of this hotel is the location. I would rather stay downtown but then besides the hotel bill you get parking and internet bill. Here everything is free. You have to have a car to get around, that's for sure. There is not much around the hotel.

Breakfast: the only option you have is the restaurant next door unless you want to drive. When we are on vacation, we always try different places, so we didn't care about this place but went there once for dinner since we were too tired to drive anywhere else. This place is like your neighborhood diner with prices of a restaurant. It was horrible. Just heads up. This place has nothing to do with the hotel though...


Overall great experience in the hotel. Really nothing to complain about. Clean rooms and great staff!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Address: 800 Bay Marina Drive, National City, CA 91950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in National City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marina Gateway Hotel National City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.