We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel for its value in San Diego Area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Bay Marina Drive, National City, CA 91950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in National City
VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best hotel for its value in San Diego Area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were first greeted by the lady in the reception area and she was the best. She was very friendly. she gave us all the information we need. she gave us maps, coupons, and routes, lunch and dinner places nearby, and almost everything we need to know about the area.

The rooms were great and the area was great. Very conveninety located by the I-5 exit and very close to imperial beach. This is the best location and the best hotel to stay. The free wifi was fast, the bed was clean. The bathrooms were big. The A/C unit was calm, room was very well ventilated. Everything was superb. There was a fitness center and the pool. Amazing and Amazing people and amazing hotel.

I would stay here again for our next visit and would recommend this to anyone who wants to stay in San Diego area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    58
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
85
58
16
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh,PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

What a great deal we got on Hotwire! The hotel is pet- friendly and they gave us a room on the first floor on the road side. It was very clean and quiet. No dog odor or some other strong smell. Everything still looks very new, grounds are well maintained with lush plants, pool is heated, beds are comfortable and every room has fridge and microwave. Since the prices in the restaurant (Buster's) seemed high, we had breakfast in the room. The hotel is located near Balboa Park, Seaport Village and just across from Coronado. Staff is friendly and helpful, ask them for advice. In short: stay here if you want value and convenience (a piece of advice coming from pretty picky travelers).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The staff was exceptionally courteous and nice. It was 10 minutes from San Diego in a quite industrial neighborhood. Not a lot within walking distance but it was quite. I loved that the pool was heated!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Only a few years old, this hotel exudes newness. Immaculate rooms and great pool and hot tub make it our go to place when we only want to feel like we are getting away. It's location is ideal for tourists, only minutes from the hot spots in San Diego. Plus, Mexico is a mere five minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Would like to thank the staff and managment for the great hospitality and great service. My room was always cleaned professionaly and the resturaunt Busters makes the stay even better. When I am in San Diego again I will stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have been coming here for few years and will recommend my friends and family to stay here for I have stayed at other hotels in the area and can say that nothing compared to the Best Western for the staff are very helpful, friendly and courteous and eager to assist to make your stay as comfortable as they can.

I always see the workers cleaning amd making sure that indise and outside appearance is tidy and also the young ladies cleaning the room do an excellent job and making sure that I am satisfied which is never a complaint.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Poor sevice - They gave us a disabled room without asking which we did not prefer, and didn't let us change without even checking the availabilities. Their reception is not well trained, a man from the reception looked at my husband in a strange way when he came back to the hotel at late night.

Not clean - The room was not clean, there was a pill lying on the floor when we checked in, definitely not from us.

Very noisy - The hotel is just beside railways and you can hear train whistles starting from early morning which is very annoying if you need more sleep. And our room was the nearest to the elevator , we heard people talking and the elevator's dinging sound very often during our rest.

I choose this hotel because it was cheap but it did not reach our expectation.

Room Tip: away from the elevator if you want to sleep late
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your less than spectacular stay with us We apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us regarding housekeeping and guest service to implement improvements and to ensure we offer a better experience for our guests in the future. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Address: 800 Bay Marina Drive, National City, CA 91950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in National City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marina Gateway Hotel National City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.