We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MY FAVORITE IN SAN DIEGO!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Bay Marina Drive, National City, CA 91950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in National City
Tumon, Mariana Islands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“MY FAVORITE IN SAN DIEGO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

This hotel meets all the highest criteria! Beds are wonderful! The staff go out of thier way to do what ever possible situation might occur! The atmosphere and attention to detail (fresh towels always on hand at the pool and a BBQ when requested!) and the decor are all condusive to a very relaxing stay no matter what reason you are in town. I have stayed now at this hotel 3 times (over 25 days total) and found consistent,excellent and friendly staff in housekeeping/maintenance and very importantly the front desk! Immaculate rooms! But don't forget to ask for an ethernet cable if the hotel is full, this will guarentee fast internet too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    82
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
110
77
18
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

great staff at THE best hotel in the area. staff went to great lengths to take care of me and my coworkers, going above and beyond. i highly recommend this place. nice, clean rooms in national city!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

New hotel. Spacious rooms - very clean. Buster's Restaurant next door is a fun sports bar - very casual - food good and fairly inexpensive. Hotel rooms have microwaves and small refrigerators. There is no breakfast, unless you order room service which comes from Buster's. Can see railway tracks from some of the rooms, but we didn't hear any trains during the night. Only about 6 miles from the San Diego Convention Center.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Although this hotel is in a very convenient location for visiting San Diego (right off I-5) and features free parking and clean modern rooms, I would hesitate to recommend this hotel given the extremely loud live music that takes place every Friday and Saturday evening at the restaurant located across the parking lot. The band plays until 10:30 pm and it is incredibly disruptive. There is nothing the hotel can do about the music, especially when the hotel is fully booked. I wish I had known about this before booking as I would have chosen another hotel.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorruthers, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
I would like to thank you for choosing the Best Western Marina Gateway for your accommodations. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel and I am sorry you did not get to enjoy the music at Busters Beach House. It has been a really positive atmosphere for our local community and hotel guests. We did speak with the owner of the restaurant and shared your comments with him to ensure the music is not a disruption to our guests. I really appreciate ALL of your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 nights. All services deserve 5 star rating. Quiet and restful. Pool nice and warm:) Nice and close to SD Trolley. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to San Diego.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel is brand new, but it is run like a well oil machine. The staff was great and very professional. The actual room we booked wasn't available, but the gave us an up-grade at no charge that was wonderful. The hotel is clean, modern and better than the average Best Western (of course I haven't found a bad Best Western yet). The location is freeway close with nearby restaurants. Thanks for a wonderful night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

This hotel was a pleasant find. We stayed here for two nights in late June 2011. The hotel is located a short drive from most attractions in San Diego. It gives you all the perks of staying close without the headache of trying to find parking downtown. It is evident that the hotel prides itself on cleanliness and appearances. The rooms and public areas were spotless and elegant. Landscaping was also first class. Beds were wonderful. When in the San Diego area I recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel

Address: 800 Bay Marina Drive, National City, CA 91950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in National City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marina Gateway Hotel National City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.