We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would gladly go again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Platypus Wine Tours

Platypus Wine Tours
101 S Coombs St, Napa, CA 94559
+1 707-253-2723
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 217 Activities in Napa
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: $110 Per person: Join other fun-loving wine tasters aboard our small-group shuttle for a guided tour of smaller, historic & backroads wineries. Picnic lunch, served at a winery is included. We feature some of the most beautiful wineries and some of the tastiest wines in the area. We'll discuss local history and culture, as well as wine making info. Choose Napa Valley or Sonoma. Make the most of your short time in the wine country! This is a social, light-hearted activity. Did we mention, fun?
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would gladly go again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Brilliant guide (Toni) , visited 4 wineries with about 20 tastings! Guide was very interactive, friendly, fun... can't praise enough. Lunch was included and very tasty. Before booking I looked around Napa and priced a lot of tours - this is as good a price as you'll find and everyone on the tour had a blast

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,371
    270
    38
    12
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful and lots of Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

You don't have to pay big bucks to have fun. Platypus is well organized and can't be beat. Lunch is provided. (Good and fresh) I've been on the fancy Mercedes tour through Tuscany and France and to me this was the best! We had a blast and our tour guide for the day was Toni. She gave us the best advice on how to travel back home with our wine and save lots of money! She took us to darling, beautiful estates and we had a lovely group of people on the tour. We all basically ended up at dinner after the tour at a restaurant in downtown Napa that Toni recommended. If you like Fun, book this tour. Napa is amazing. This was a getaway for me and my husband after having a baby. Much needed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Marlene was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Marlene Paulson was our guide - her communication leading up to the tour was excellent. We had several wineries in mind and she booked a tasting for us. She made the tour an easy going experience. We had a nice picnic lunch at one of the wineries. After one disappointing winery (which we chose) she offered to suggest a winery that might be more appropriate based on our preferences. She was correct and we enjoyed the winery and bought from them. I would book through Platypus again and definitely ask for Marlene.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Thanksgiving in Napa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had a great experience with Platypus Wine Tours! They came recommended to us by the Inn in which we stayed in and Mike Small (Keith Urban look alike) was a super tour guide! All of the people (there were 8 of us) on the tour stayed at the same hotel so that made the tour even more enjoyable. Mike was very knowledgeable about the history of the wineries and their owners. The tour provided us with lunch (and they were conscious of people's dietary needs) at one of the wineries which was great. I would use again and recommend the services of Platypus Wine Tours!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
1 review
“Excellent tour for all levels of wine enthusiasts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our tour guide, Scott, was phenomenal! I really did not know what to expect by this tour, and was completely blown away! We were first time visitors to Napa, and this was a great way to get to know the area. We had an interesting combination of people on our trip, and Scott knew where to go for everyone. It was an amazing experience and I would recommend to everyone! Delicious cheese plate on bus and lunch at one of our tour stops.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platypus Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to Platypus Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platypus Wine Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.