We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Platypus Wine Tours

Platypus Wine Tours
101 S Coombs St, Napa, CA 94559
+1 707-253-2723
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 217 Activities in Napa
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: $110 Per person: Join other fun-loving wine tasters aboard our small-group shuttle for a guided tour of smaller, historic & backroads wineries. Picnic lunch, served at a winery is included. We feature some of the most beautiful wineries and some of the tastiest wines in the area. We'll discuss local history and culture, as well as wine making info. Choose Napa Valley or Sonoma. Make the most of your short time in the wine country! This is a social, light-hearted activity. Did we mention, fun?
Hollis, New Hampshire
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nov. 9th. Weekend, seven of my now closest friends and I decided to do a Wine tour. Platypus Wine Tours was highly recommended so we booked two days. I can't begin to tell you how much we enjoyed ourself. We had the pleasure of having Sam as our guide. He was so relaxed, knowledgable, funny and gracious. So much so we now refer to ourself as Sam's girls! He took us to some remarkable winery's, large and small, tasted lots of special wines and introduced us to some amazing people. He served us a delicious lunch both days while we relaxed outside soaking up the magnificent views. A nice touch in the late afternoon they served us a lovely light cheese selection. All in all I highly recommend this company, they value their employees and customers and it shows.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,371
    270
    38
    12
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Russellville, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What a great day of fun touring the 4 wineries. The setting was great as there were only 10 of us and our driver/guide Sam made the trip even more enjoyable. A relaxed, fun filled day for all!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Platypus Wine Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Platypus tour was a great way to experience the Napa valley. We took this tour on our first trip to the Napa Valley. We like to drink wine, but admittedly we are not exactly a wine cognoscenti (its a real word look it up). We got to tour four wineries, chosen ahead of time by Platypus staff.
Throughout the tour our less than refined pallets were treated to world class, award winning vintages, while receiving an education on the entire process from soil to bottle both from the winery staff and our awesome tour guide Sam. If you are a stuffed shirt wine snob this tour is not for you but if you want to have a real blast meeting great people, sample some amazing wines in a relaxing fun enviroment then I highly recommend this tour !

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a fabulous wine tour with Greg as our Tour guide. He was friendly, full of fun facts and took us to 4 great wineries. He also helped us go to a store at the end of the tour and buy the rght packaging to transport our wine on the airplane home. I would highly recommend this group, because they pick small family owned wineries that are initmate and personable. It was a great day, and we are glad we chose this tour group!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great tour!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had so much fun on this tour with Sue (our tour guide). She picked really fantastic, unique wineries to visit that I am sure we wouldn't have found on our own. In each instance, the winery owner/tasting guide mentioned how much he or she enjoys working with Sue and their good relationship was evident in the great treatment we got at each place. She really set a fantastic mood, got the whole group laughing right away, and was extremely knowledgeable about the area. All around, I was absolutely thrilled with the experience and will definitely go on Platypus tours again in the future. I was hesitant this would be awkward or kitschy, and I could not have been more wrong - it was just a hilarious, interesting, insightful, and relaxing way to see wine country!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platypus Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to Platypus Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platypus Wine Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.