We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Every Hotel Experience Should Be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2223   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Napa
Rancho Murieta
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“What Every Hotel Experience Should Be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The title clearly states my opinion of our stay...these people have it figured out. In an area where you can spend an extraordinary amount of money for lodging, the Elm House provides a five-star experience without traumatizing your wallet. Their excellent service started from when I called to make our reservation and continued to the moment we left. The owner, Tom, and his staff make it exceedingly obvious they sincerely want you to enjoy your stay. I did not talk to any other guests during our two-day stay who didn't acknowledge and appreciate the results of the efforts of the staff and management.
The rooms and grounds are immaculate...the location is excellent...the atmosphere is relaxing...the included breakfast is splendid...and the service is off the charts.
I really don't know what else I can say.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,008
    167
    23
    13
    3
See reviews for
156
761
23
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Elm House Inn in June, 2013 and would heartily recommend it. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. It has a relaxed atmosphere. The room was fairly large and well appointed. This hotel / Inn is a very good value, especially compared to other properties in the Napa Valley. Downtown Napa is a very short drive, but we walked into town for dinner both nights - it's a nice stroll down residential streets.The breakfast was good, with very fresh fruit and other choices. The bed could have been a little comfortable, but it was not bad.
We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a special treat to find this hotel! We highly recommend it. We were looking for a less pricey accommodation than those in Yountville or St. Helena, and this little gem fit the bill perfectly. The room was extremely comfortable and cozy, and our room and the entire property was immaculate. The owners and staff couldn't have been nicer. We had considered having breakfast at a bakery downtown, but after seeing the large spread of food, we opted to enjoy their wonderful buffet selections sitting at a charming little table by the fountain on the beautiful patio. When we visit Napa Valley in the future, we will definitely stay at this great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Elm House in Napa was one the most pleasant places we stayed on a journey that took us 3 weeks across the western US. The location was excellent but surpassed by charm and gracious staffers. We stayed for 3 nights and highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I were driving from San Francisco to Seattle and this was one of our first stops. After our stay we decided to try and look for other Best Western plus accommodations on our tour. It's a nice blending of well known hotel and cosy atmosphere of a B & B. We had a spacious room, 2 comfy armchairs and inroom fridge. The main lounge is beautifully decorated, comfy sofas, fireplace. High ceilinged room with balcony around, the second floor rooms look down into the lounge area. Delicious cookies and drinks in late afternoon. Lovely breakfast to start your morning. The aroma of baking and cinnamon was a nice way to wake up.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vstrip
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We did 8 days in California with Napa being our last stop. The hotel is delightful, the staff charming, and the breakfast was perfect. The rooms were very clean and the linens nice. We had a room on the front of the hotel and the street noise was the only small drawback. The gardens were so pretty and their roses were gorgeous. As anxious and ready as I was to get home, i would have loved to stay a few extra days in Napa and at Elm House.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were not disappointed. As many reviewers have suggested, the place has sort of a B&B feel to it. I should add though that the breakfasts are not as elaborate as I've seen at "real" B&B's. There were your basic cereals and breads and fruits and such. The only thing they prepared were waffles, which were quite tasty. That said, everything else about it did have a real nice homey feel that you don't often get from chains. The service was very good. We arrived quite late (about 11PM) and we were greeted quite nicely. She even got us a few delicious cookies (which were baked fresh every day) and a couple of glasses of wine to retire in our room with. And the room was very nice. We paid a bit more to get the one right above the reception area on the second floor which featured a fireplace and a Jacuzzi tub. Sadly, we didn't get to enjoy either one of them (it was warm and we lacked a lot of time in the room given that we were running around the beautiful Napa area most of the time), but the room itself was quite large with a separate couch area where we could watch TV and such. The bed was not the best, but quite comfortable for a good night's sleep. The location is also quite good, less than a mile from downtown Napa. If this were an extremely expensive hotel, like some of the others in Napa, I might be inclined to give it 4 stars, but we were very impressed with the value which, for me, tips it toward 5.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the larger room with the fireplace and the Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn

Address: 800 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Napa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#1 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Elm House Hotel Napa
Best Western Elm Hotel
Best Western Napa
Napa Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.