We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2223   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We can't speak highly enough of the Elm House Inn in Napa and Tom the Innkeeper and his family and staff. Their recommendations for sightseeing and evening meals were spot on. Anyone who has the good fortune to enjoy the hospitality of Elm house will have a special holiday. Our children loved sitting in front of the fire eating freshly baked chocolate chip cookies each evening,and being spoilt with fresh waffles each morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    173
    24
    14
    3
See reviews for
160
787
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It's a great combination of amenities and boutique hotel feel....22 rooms, homemade breakfast in the morning with great service. Nice hot tub and front desk staff was very helpful. Very convenient to highway for wine tasting or walk to Napa downtown. I'd request an upstairs room though...downstairs room are right by breakfast room so could get noisy in the early morning. No pool but not an issue in fall/winter.

Room Tip: Upstairs to avoid morning breakfast room noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful B&B / Boutique Hotel just after Christmas. The lobby area has a very homey feel and was tastefully decorated for Christmas complete with a roaring fire and beautiful tree. The staff are very friendly and go over the top to help you in anyway they can. one evening we were trying to make last minute dinner reservations and the young lady at the desk was helping. We went up to our room and I got tied up on the phone for a long time. This lady ran up and down the stair to our third floor room twice to keep us informed on the dinner situation because she couldn't get through to us n the phone. You can't ask for any more than that from a hotel staff member and in fact I wouldn't ask that much.

Even on the third floor I was awakened in the morning by the smell of fresh coffee and muffins, what a great way to wake up. The food that was provided was filling and mostly homemade and all free or included, however you want to look at it.

In short, the hotel is great, the staff were welcoming and friendly and we were treated better than family. I'd go back in a second.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
195 hotel reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
582 helpful votes 582 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Elm House is located just off the highway on the outskirts of Napa. Although it is a new facility, it was designed to look like an old inn and therefore has more than usual character. The lobby/common area is an open two-story area with cozy seating and a large fireplace (this is also where buffet breakfast is served). We were there for 2 nights at the beginning of December and the holiday decorations added to the welcoming atmosphere. It was very comfortable and certainly an excellent value.

Our room was in a separate annex a short walk from the main building, on the second floor. This was a “deluxe” room, and it certainly was in terms of size and comfort. The spacious main area had a comfortable king bed with night stands on either side, a sitting area with two cushy upholstered chairs and an ottoman, a desk, a bureau with tv, and a small side table. The tiled bathroom was good sized with a tub/shower and a pedestal sink. The unusual feature, though, was a second vanity in another adjacent room with a spacious countertop and another sink. The second room also had space for hanging clothes and had a coffee maker and a small refrigerator. This second vanity area turned out to be very handy.

Breakfast in the lounge area was included and was ok – some fresh fruit, boiled eggs, yogurt, and waffles could be ordered. The setting was cozy and pleasant.

The staff at the Elm House was very friendly and helpful. The free wifi worked well. There is also an outdoor jacuzi, but we did not use it during our stay.

Probably the only downside to staying here is that, while convenient to Napa town, you are at the southern end of the valley and most wineries are therefore a short drive away. Yountsville or St. Helena would be more central, though probably much more expensive. All in all we recommend the Elm Inn for its value and comfort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I travelled to Napa for business and my stay lasted one week, which was right before Christmas. I had such a great stay here. The staff was so attentive and friendly. The lobby was so inviting, with a nice, warm fireplace and a beautifully decorated tree. The room was nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. In the morning, they serve a continental breakfast with different types of bread, fresh fruits, hot and cold cereal, and some delicious fresh baked muffin loaves. They also can make you Belgium waffles, which were so tasty. Especially the Egg in the hole waffle, which they mix bacon into the mix and they dig a hole in the middle and place a poached egg in it. In the evening, they serve these superb, homemade chocolate chip cookies, that I looked forward to eating after getting back from work.
I hope to make it back to Napa soon, preferably with my wife, and would definitely make The Elm House Inn my go-to Napa hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn

Address: 800 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Napa
#1 Family Hotel in Napa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Elm House Hotel Napa
Best Western Elm Hotel
Best Western Napa
Napa Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.