We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2223   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #1 of 25 hotels in Napa
Pittsburgh, Pa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best Stay Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I don't usually give any of my reviews a 5-star rating because I think there is always room for improvement, however this time I will make an exception. Everything from the helpfulness of the staff to the ambience makes this the best Hotel I have ever stayed at. Yes, there is room for improvement but I would just be nit-picking. Great location to Napa and Sonoma, affordable price,clean, tasty breakfast, attractive rooms, etc., I could go on and on. I would advise people to book early because there are not many rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    934
    153
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
141
709
19
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I loved our stay at the Elm House. The service, comfort and breakfast are all first class. One of the most comfortable rooms that we have ever had at a motel or hotel. This property ranks up there with far costlier properties, which in many cases are not as delightful.

Room Tip: Try a room in the new addition. Great! Free on-site parking is provided and the motel is in the mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Elm House for 4 nights while visiting Napa for our honeymoon. The staff was very attentive and nice. Our room was roomy, comfortable, homey and quiet. The location is amazing. A little walk from the downtown but soooo convenient to the high way with out feeling you're right ON the highway. We walked to downtown most often but it felt like a safe walk each time and it only took us about 15-20 minutes to get down there.
The breakfast and cookies offered are great. The breakfast in the morning is probably one of the best I've ever had included in the cost of a hotel. There was such an array of offering including fresh mini-loaves that were clearly homemade, hard boiled eggs, cereal, fresh waffles, a variety of toasts, and outmeal with a bunch of toppings. We REALLy took advantage of breakfast.
The value of this hotel vs. others in Napa is perfect. I did a lot of research and ultimately decided that we wouldn't be in the room enough to really enjoy a pricey place so it would've been a waste but this was truly the best of both worlds. The room was comfy enough that when we did have a night in it wasn't a big deal. We actually liked our room a lot.
If you're deciding between this and another pricier hotel I'd go with this! Just saying!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the 3rd floor. We loved our room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We just came back from spending a couple days at this Best Western. This is truly an absoute gem in the Napa Valley!! It is very unlike any other Best Western we have stayed in. (more like a bed and breakfast feel). It is so unique and the staff are unbelieveably helpful, kind and considerate, wanting to make your stay so enjoyable. Very warm atmosphere and very well maintained! The breakfast was absolutely great along with the cookies in the evening. The hot tub was very nice as well for an evening dip. The hotel is in a great location. As we said "why look anywhere else"?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

A little bit of a drive if your wine touring recommend a DD !!!! Nice place great value for napa valley !!! Grounds r manicured easy to find right off 29. Plus fresh baked cookies every evenings !!! Rooms are clean and pleasant !!! I would recommend to friends and family !!!! Front desk very pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Chose Ellm House because of all the reviews and the cost. For what they offer, the price is great. To repeat others: right off 29 (easy to find, easy access to wineries and downtown), room in annex facing the garden (beautiful and quiet), breakfast delicious and filling before hitting the wineries), very helpful front desk (printed out some 2 for 1 coupons for tastings and offered many suggestions). CLEAN, FRIENDLY, PRICE IS RIGHT for the area and what you get! Thank you Miriam and Tim (gentlemen owner?).

Room Tip: Annex rooms (short lovely walk through the gardens) facing gardens are VERY QUIET and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

what a lovely find! we only stayed one night but it was perfect for our last night in the USA. The cookies were sublime which had been freshly baked, in time for early tea. (did try to get the recipe!) The proprietor and staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a really good choice including waffles, cereal, fresh fruit and more home baking. The only small issue was as the hotel was pretty fullthe breakfast area was also full but we were sitted on front on a couch on front of the fire which may not be ideal for some. hope to return here soon if only for the cookies

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Elm House Hotel
Best Western Plus Elm House Hotel Napa
Best Western Elm Hotel
Best Western Napa
Napa Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA
Address: 800 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Napa
#1 Business Hotel in Napa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.