We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2223   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 25 hotels in Napa
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Chose Ellm House because of all the reviews and the cost. For what they offer, the price is great. To repeat others: right off 29 (easy to find, easy access to wineries and downtown), room in annex facing the garden (beautiful and quiet), breakfast delicious and filling before hitting the wineries), very helpful front desk (printed out some 2 for 1 coupons for tastings and offered many suggestions). CLEAN, FRIENDLY, PRICE IS RIGHT for the area and what you get! Thank you Miriam and Tim (gentlemen owner?).

Room Tip: Annex rooms (short lovely walk through the gardens) facing gardens are VERY QUIET and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    984
    163
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
149
745
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

what a lovely find! we only stayed one night but it was perfect for our last night in the USA. The cookies were sublime which had been freshly baked, in time for early tea. (did try to get the recipe!) The proprietor and staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a really good choice including waffles, cereal, fresh fruit and more home baking. The only small issue was as the hotel was pretty fullthe breakfast area was also full but we were sitted on front on a couch on front of the fire which may not be ideal for some. hope to return here soon if only for the cookies

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived at the Elm Inn and was greeted by the friendly staff who advised on places to eat that night and invited us to come and join the other guests for cookies. We had booked a premier room which was larger and as I had expected from the website had a spa bath which I was looking forward to after my long journey. When we got in the room it was spacious well decorated and had everything except for the bath I was expecting. My partner went to see the manager who apologised and after some discussion we ascertained the inn had been remodelled and the spa bath taken out, it was disappointing however the manager offered a discount on our rate and as we were only staying for a couple of nights i put up with a tiny bath and shower. Another negative was the air con/heater was very noisy when you put it on and the street noise was louder than expected. Good points are the place is kept immaculate and clean and the free breakfast including the waffles are great and you have free wifi and theres a hot tub if you want to use it.

Room Tip: Choose a quiter room if you want sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was disappointed with our stay at the property, not due to any fault of the service or facilities. I just struggled to get a good nights sleep due to the noise of the traffic off the adjoining streets. When we checked in I requested a room off the street because I am a light sleeper and was informed that every room faced out onto the street. Nonetheless the staff were great and very helpful and we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast but for me disturbed sleep left me wanting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Road, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Ok so the title sounds strange for a hotel review but there's absolutely nothing I can fault Best Western Plus Elm House Inn!

The room is spacious, the grounds are beautifully manicured, there's a hot tub too, the breakfast spread (oh the varities!) came with freshly made to order waffles amongst choice of cereal, muffins and buns, cakes, juices, coffee tea and all!

Now, I personally think all hotel bookings should come with breakfast, because you really want to fill up before you start a day of sightseeing!

I stayed at Bardessono before this, and whilst it is absolutely amazing, the price tag of that room plus the bill of the breakfast, I'd take Elm House Inn anytime.

Also, come evening time, there are fresh chocolate chip cookies at 6pm and nothing could beat the feeling of smelling chocolate chip cookies in the crisp Napa air.

Recommendations to nearby restaurants were also spot-on! Bounty Hunter and Oxbow Market are must go places for food!

The stay was comfortable, homely, safe, convenient, clean and affordable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, TN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is not your average Best Western. In fact, I've never seen one like this one. It doesn't look like a hotel on the outside and the inside is warm and inviting. The staff were superb. The rooms were large, clean and complete (wifi in the rooms). If I were returning to Napa, I wouldn't even look for a different place to stay; this one is tops. I've stayed in many hotels in the past five years and this is in the top three of all of them. We had a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We decided to visit Napa during a week long trip to San Francisco. We booked Elm House Inn on the advice of trip advisor and we were really pleased. Our room on the third floor was private and had plenty of space. We enjoyed the spa one night after wine tasting. It was very warm against the cooler evening. The back garden is like a magical oasis. All the guests seemed friendly and chatty. There was a social gathering in the wonderful back yard for an hour or two in early evening. One thing you should not miss is the fantastic continental breakfast. We had boiled eggs, unbelieveable fresh made waffles, oats, cereals, fruits, freshly brewed coffee, and home baked muffins. It is served from 7.30am to 10am. We highly recommend this place. One of the best we have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn

Address: 800 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Napa
#1 Family Hotel in Napa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Elm House Hotel Napa
Best Western Elm Hotel
Best Western Napa
Napa Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.