We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2223   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Romantic weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

Stayed here for our honeymoon for 3 nights before heading to San Fran. The staff was very friendly and helpful in finding restaurants nearby. We got a great rate ($139) on a deluxe room and stayed on the second floor in the old building. I would not recommend staying on the first floor, especially in rooms 104 & 105 as they are directly outside the dining area and lack some privacy and could be noisy in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    192
    25
    14
    3
See reviews for
176
878
28
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

I travel a great deal and have been using the tripadvisor website reviews to choose my hotel destinations. I have not once been disappointed in my choices. Again, I chose the #1 hotel in Napa Valley and I am forever grateful that it was perfect for the women in my family to celebrate 2 of our birthdays. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The four of us stepped into a Bed and Breakfast feel that was welcoming with fresh cookies and apple cider, followed by warm smiles from Tom. The room was very clean with plenty of space for all of us. Upon our return from a great dinner at Bistro Don Giovanni the fireplace was roaring and we sat down by the fire with our glass of wine purchased from a great winery Chateau Montelena (Calistoga). After a quick dip in the hot tub we headed back to our room. The next morning we woke up to the smells of fresh Belgium waffles and fresh squeezed orange juice. The staff were very attentative and quick to make us feel like we were special. It was sad to leave, but we have decided to make this a yearly trip and I will be calling Tom soon to book us a room, this time for 2 nights. Thanks again to Tom and the staff at the ELM HOUSE INN for making our stay feel like were at home.

  • Liked — bed and breakfast feel, great staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

My wife and I met some friends and family for a few days of wine tasting. We picked Elm Street based on some reviews. It was a third the price of places in the area (my brother paid three times our price). We were surprised by the care of the owners and the service. We were treated like old friends. The rooms were older, but well maintained. We had a fireplace. Breakfast was provided. It was more like a bed and breakfast than a Best Western.

  • Liked — Care provided by the owners and staff.
  • Disliked — One way streets in the surroundings.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2007

The Elm House Inn was a great place to stay during our visit to Napa Valley. Connie and Tom the Inn Keepers were gracious hosts and the staff was friendly and very helpful. I took my parents and they were not sure about staying here, but once they walked in and saw how lovely the Inn was that took away any and all doubts. Beds were very comfortable and room nice and clean. Waffles were delicious each morning and cookies were a special afternoon treat. I loved the fresh flowers that Connie brings in from the San Francisco flower market and the fire place in the evening was so relaxing after dinner. All the other guests were very friendly and everyone was just enjoying their choice of the Inn for their stay in Napa Valley. I will definitely return to the Elm House and tell my friends about this treasure. Elm House is located in a great location for getting on Hwy 29 and close to downtown Napa. We also did lunch on the Wine Train in the Vista Dome car and that was excellant. Was raining that day, but we still had a wonderful time.

  • Liked — Friendly-courteous staff with clean lovely accomdations
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

This was the priciest hotel we had during a 2 week trip from Portland down the coast and in to Sacramento. We stayed 2 nights at the Elm House. I wasn't sure what to expect since the prices are generally high in Napa, but the Elm House was top quality. Since this was the best internet connection we'd had for several days, we spent more time lounging around the hotel than we normally do - with a few bottles of excellent wine, of course! We used both their wired and wireless internet. Plus there were many outlets in the room to charge all of our electronic gadgets. Everything else was great - the breakfast, the room, the friendliness of the staff, the in-room coffee, the parking.

We went on the wine train for lunch (our first time) then just wandered around downtown. The lunch was beautiful, delicious, and relaxing and the scenery, lovely.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

after reading all of the positive reviews we made a reservation to stay at the elm house inn. upon recommendations of other reviewers we requested an outter room and were given room 402, which was not a typical hotel room but rather a nice sized suite. the high ceilings were a plus. the mini fridge located in the powder room was pretty convenient also. i am not sure how recent the renovations were done, but everything appeared new and decor was done relatively tastefully. in the morning we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast including belgian waffles, fruits, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, juice and hot beverages. it was a nice way to start the morning. overall, we were very pleased with our stay at the inn. we would definitely return if we needed accomodations in napa and hope that next time will be a longer stay. due to our overall pleasant experience i felt compelled to share a review and attach some photos as well. unfortunately from the photos the feeling of being at a bed and breakfast rather than a hotel chain is not captured, but i hope it is helpful for those who are looking for a nice place to stay. and thank you everyone for your reviews and steering us in the right direction.

  • Liked — spacious room
  • Disliked — on the pricey side although convenient location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

The online photos don't do this hotel justice. We learned from the staff that it's classified as a "boutique" hotel, which has the comfy features of a B&B. It is charming, clean, nicely furnished, homey, spacious, and the breakfast was much better than average. The staff was very helpful and we hope to make a return visit.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2004, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn

Address: 800 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Napa
#1 Business Hotel in Napa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Elm House Hotel Napa
Best Western Elm Hotel
Best Western Napa
Napa Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.