We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay at the Marriott” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3425 Solano Avenue, Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very nice stay at the Marriott”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed at the Marriott for 3 nights while visiting the Napa wineries. Check in was quick and easy and we really liked our room. We were on the second floor facing the parking lot, but I heard absolutely no noise from the lot or the street. The beds were very comfortable!
We enjoyed breakfast in the lobby restaurant every morning, one morning ordering from the menu (the cornmeal blueberry pancakes - yum!), and then doing the weekend buffet on the others. They made great omelets and the food was fresh and plentiful. There was also complimentary Starbucks coffee in the lobby.
We also enjoyed the happy hour in the evenings and often took our glass of wine to the swing out back to recap our day.
The concierge was terrific. Sam and Shari both made excellent recommendations as far as wineries to visit, restaurants, and loaded us up with winery coupons and a highlighted map each day. They really made our trip wonderful.
My only tiny complaint was the lack of internet access and printers. I understand they want to push their concierge level rooms, but I would have liked free wi fi in the rooms, or at least the lobby for more than an hour. Yes, you only get free wi fi in the lobby for one hour during your entire trip. We went to the business office to print some shipping labels and the cost per minute on the pc, plus the cost per page seemed a little steep. Other than that, the stay was great and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaValleyMarriott, Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Thank you so much for the feedback. So glad you enjoyed your room, our wonderful beds and the complimentary wine pour. You did mention the charges for the internet as well as the limited lobby access. We do charge a $4.95 per day charge but it is significantly lower than most of the full service hotels in the area (who either charge a $9.95 rate or include it in a mandatory nightly resort fee). Also, you mentioned that we offer complimentary lobby wifi for just 1 hour per day, but that simply isn't the case and I'm so sorry you were told that. Every hour the system does require you to re-login, but you can have complimentary access in our lobby for as long as you like! Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you in Napa soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    388
    158
    47
    19
See reviews for
124
414
16
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
326 helpful votes 326 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We (wife and I), along with another couple, stayed at this property in Feb of this year for a couple days of wine-tasting. Check-in process was prompt, our assign room was facing the courtyard, so we didn't have any problems with traffic noise. Although our friends were not so lucky and they got rooms(switched after the first night) that had very noisy neighbors, but strictly speaking this is not the hotel's fault, except maybe the walls are a bit thin?
My wife and I used the fitness center which is across the main hotel building in the spa area. It's not a big facility so the treadmills filled up pretty quickly so one may need to wait for a while. Also, I guess the hotel is a good place for seminars/business conventions in Napa as I see many people with name badges mingling around. It's no big deal but just made the place less of an intimate feel.
In any case, this is a pretty good stay with competent staff providing good care and service to the guests. I especially enjoyed the "happy hour" complimentary wine by the living room lobby fireplace, and having conversations among friends. I would recommend this hotel to others if you can get a reasonable rate. We did, via hotel's own website.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaValleyMarriott, Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Thank you so much for the feedback. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable experience while in Napa. We were especially happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary wine pour as well as our staff's overall service and care. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nites in September and had an excellent stay. We booked through Priceline at $90 per nite which was a great deal given the quality of the hotel. It is not a big hotel just two stories with meticulous grounds. It is located just off Highway 29 so it was easy on and off to the vineyards. Our room was on the first floor and very quiet. Parking is free. WI-FI is free in the lobby. The room was good size, very clean and had a good size bath and shower. It had gone through a major renovation a few months before. Carpeting was new throughout the common areas and the lobby was good size with plenty of seating. Concierge desk, Jan and Sam, were very helpful in guiding you to the areas vineyards. Several of the local wine tours picked up guests from here. Concierge will provide several discount coupons to the vineyards. Each nite the hotel offers a complimentary wine tasting from the local winerys. We used the pool which was very clean and pool area very well maintained. It is a quick walk over to Target, Whole Foods and Trader Joes at the near by shopping plaza. We had a nice meal at Bounty Hunter in the downtown district, about a 10 minute drive. We would definitely stay here again: highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaValleyMarriott, Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Thank you so much for your feedback. We're so glad that you had a memorable experience. You mentioned the cleanliness of our facility, the helpful staff and our recent renovation...all things we are very proud of. We look forward to hosting you again. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I spent the Labor Day weekend at the Marriott Spa in Napa with 3 friends for a girl's weekend. It was my first time in Napa and I can't say enough about the Marriott hospitality. I stay at Marriott hotels for business trips and I'm always satisfied with their service. If you take the concierge area, they offer breakfast, appetizers and a 2 hour happy hour every night. It's well worth it.

We started with a spa treatment, which was wonderful and headed off the wineries. Here are some great large and small wineries to see: Jarvis, Hess Trinchero, Hagafen Cellars, Mario Andretti's and Sequoia Hills. These were our favorites because of the warm staff, good wine and they were not to busy. Our final winery, Sequoia Hills, was one of our ultimate favorites because of their great wine and Nicholas. He was the nice and so friendly we bought a case of wine.

For lunch or dinner you must try Angele' and Don Giovanni Bistro in Napa, Farmstead in St. Helena (fresh, homegrown foods) Uva Trattoria. What a great trip and I can't wait to go back and YES I would stay at the Marriott again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaValleyMarriott, Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Thank you so much for the feedback. Glad to hear that your girlfriends' weekend went well. Thank you for being a loyal Marriott customer and please let us know if we can be of assistance for future visits to the Napa Valley. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Normally, I like to stay in a B&B in the Napa area, but we tried the Marriott. If you take the concierge area, they offer a lot of extras, and well worth it- like breakfast, appetizers, ,and desserts at certain hours.When we were there, their appetizers were grilled heirloom tomatoes and feta. Amazingly yummy. I have never seen such great service. If we called about something, someone was there in a few minutes. There was a great mall across from it- Target, Trader Joe's, Whole Foods, and Pharmaca- all together. Never seen that before. Only thing was we were charged for Internet which we didn't use but they took care of it at check-out.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaValleyMarriott, Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Thank you very much for your feedback. We're so happy you enjoyed your visit with us and that we exceeded your expectations. You mentioned our concierge lounge amenities and service as being outstanding and we agree that our concierge wing is a fantastic experience and a great value for our guests. Thank you so much for your feedback and we hope you return soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

This was a nice hotel on the north side of Napa. Apparently if you visit in mid-to-late August you get to share your hotel with the Oakland Raiders (as they have training camp there). The grounds were nice, the hot tub was nice (although extremely chlorinated) and it was only a short walk away from TJ's, whole foods, and Target - which is great if you prefer preparing your own meals while on travel (I often do this for my breakfast)

The hotel also works with a bike rental service (not Marriot affiliated) called Change of Greenery. They rent electric bikes which is a fantastic way to see wine country & parts of downtown Napa!


As far as the sleep quality - I could not necessarily hear traffic on I-29, but could sometimes hear noise from the hallway.

When I head back to Napa, I may consider trying to get a hotel closer to downtown, but this hotel for all it offered was still quite nice & enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaValleyMarriott, Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Thank you so much for your feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. You did mention that our hot tub seemed a bit over-chlorinated and we have forwarded your comment to our Chief Engineer and his team to investigate. We appreciate the feedback as it allows us the opportunity to improve. You mentioned perhaps trying a hotel nearer to downtown Napa next time. One amenity you may not have been aware of is our complimentary house car service every Friday and Saturday evening. A great way to get around the city and it's absolutely free. Thanks again for your feedback and we sincerely hope you come back to visit again. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

My friend and I did a quick wine tasting trip to Napa in the middle of the week. As we wanted to save our money for wine and food, we picked the Marriott for it's affordable pricing and convenient location. As everyone has mentioned, it's right off of the 29 so very easy to get to and from the wineries. The whole hotel is clean and spacious and our room was comfortable, quiet and had a little patio overlooking the pool. Everyone working at the hotel was so kind, friendly and gave good recommendations. Since it was a weekday, we pretty much had the pool all to ourselves. Across the bridge over the highway there is a convenient shopping center with Target, Whole Foods, Trader Joes, and Peet's. I will definitely stay here again when visiting Napa.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaValleyMarriott, Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Thank you very much for your feedback. You mentioned one of Napa Valley's secrets - prices are much lower midweek. So glad you were able to take advantage of a great deal. You also mentioned our convenient location, cleanliness, comfortable and quiet rooms and friendly staff and we couldn't agree more. Please come back again soon! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 3425 Solano Avenue, Napa, CA 94558
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm and beauty of Napa California’s world-famous wine country from the area’s premier hotel – the Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa. Providing exceptional hotel room accommodations for business travel, meetings, and perfectly located for leisurely exploring, our Napa hotel is surrounded with opportunities to treat yourself in every sense. Conveniently located in the heart of California’s renowned Napa Wine Country, just off Highway 29, our hotel offers the ideal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel Napa
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel And Spa
Marriott Napa
Napa Marriott
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.