We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3425 Solano Avenue, Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Carrollton, Virginia
2 reviews
“great hotel but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel is beautiful, with a great patio with fire pits and lounging furniture. What a fabulous place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine and conversation! The only concern I have is that you can book a "concierge level" room and have it be ANY room in the hotel,including the one I got overlooking the back parking lot. Not worth the increase in price if you are paying for it...but still clean, with a good location. The staff was not consistent at all...some were FANTASTIC and very customer-focused and others just couldn't be bothered... oh well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi Charlene! Thank you so much for your wonderful description of our patio and fire pit areas. We love it when our guests enjoy and relax out there. Also a big thank you for your description of our staff service consistency. We will use this as a learning tool for our team, so that they understand how important every guest is, every day. Enjoy the rest of your summer and thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    364
    143
    42
    16
See reviews for
112
381
16
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We are Marriott platinum elite customers and this hotel did not provide good customer service. They had blocked off much of their parking lot (for an event?) and we searched (at mid-day) for a spot to park, finally finding one at the opposite side of the hotel. There was no valet nor were we offered help with 4 large bags. The hotel was so noisy we turned on the fan to drown out the noise. The bathroom had little ant like bugs on the wall. This hotel was expensive--almost $400 a night. We are not used to this type of service from a Marriott hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your experience at our hotel. I understand how frustrating it is when parking and valet assistance is not readily available. I am happy to report that we are in the process of installing a valet parking program at our hotel that will be in place by September! Thank you for staying with us and for this valuable information about your stay. We will use it to make our hotel better for all of our beloved guests. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I recently stayed for a conference. Great location with easy highway access to the wineries and all the great restaurants that Napa has to offer. The hotel room itself was large, clean and comfortable. But our view was the parking lot--in fact the cars were about 5 feet from the window.
We had to leave the drapes drawn all day and night to have any privacy. We paid the conference
fee of 270 dollars a night and I suppose I expected a nicer room. In fact initially we had paid the 315 dollars for a concierge room--same room but access to a lounge. When we found out the room with the parking lot view would not change we opted the less expensive rate. Staff was friendly but the pool, spa and hotel arrangements are very dated.

Room Tip: Try to get a patio room--but there is an upgrade fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny K, Director of Sales at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear StaceyAN,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa. All of your comments have been shared with our management team, and we appreciate the candid feedback as we strive to continually improve. We are genuinely thrilled that you had a great experience with our staff and sincerely hope to see you during another stay in the near future. Thank you again for your time and response.

Sincerely,

Sonny K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed for a Medical Conference. The conference rooms were good.
The room and furnishing was old. There was a small pool outdoors, good for kids.
Not your typical Marriot. Rooms were clean, close to the Highway for excursions in Napa.

Room Tip: We were in a standard room, looked out to the parking lot, probably garden view would be better, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonny K, Director of Sales at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Charesef,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We hope you had an opportunity to experience some of our treasures of Napa Valley during your conference. We sincerely hope you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to seeing you in Wine Country again in the near future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Sonny K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Was at the hotel in July 2014 attending a conference. I really liked the well organised conference venue. The hotel lobby had a very lively atmosphere.The standard hotel room was comfortable and spacious.
The staff at the desk was very friendly and helpful. The lady at the travel desk Sandy Hausser was very competent She went out of her way to motivate a timid chicken like me to go for a "Balloon over Napa valley." I thank her for my first time wonderful exprience. A redwood plaza close to the hotel had a yummy Pizza outlet roundtable.The Nappa Velley Wine Train dinner organised by our conference organiser was excellent. I carry great memories of this place to Auckland.

Room Tip: Our room faced the fountains and was close to the car park. Could look for a room facing the swimmin...
See more room tips
Green Features: Ths hotel staff was cheerful and the restaurant service was prompt. I really enjoyed the Sunday icecream.The rates were reasonabale.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werner M, Director of Rooms at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Novey,

We are very pleased to hear that you had such a terrific time with us! Our goal is to create as many memories possible while you are staying with us.

It definitely seems like we created some for you. Sandy is a wonderful concierge that loves her guests and has mysterious ways to make you do things you normally will not try - such a ballooning over the vineyards!

You are correct; we are very centrally located with comfortable restaurants within walking distance from us.

We hope to see you back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Not only was our room well furnished, quiet and the bed the usual very comfortable Marriott standard but the staff was exceptional. I read the other reviews but did not have the negative experience that they did. The complimentary afternoon wine tasting was a plus.

Room Tip: Even the rooms closest to the front & highway are quiet (good insulation) but a courtyard room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werner M, Director of Rooms at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear NPC3,

Thank you for staying with us during your most recent visit to Napa! We know you have plenty of choices when you come to this area.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time with us, despite some of the negative perceptions that you have read about. We pride ourselves on the fact that we go out of our way to make sure that every guest we touch walk away satisfied.

I will make sure that our entire team knows that you noticed the service.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are not up to marriott standards. The room was more like a motel 6 with a view of the parking lot. Popcorn ceilings and outdated decor. We had just left the meritage hotel in napa where we paid $379 a night with a balcony (bistro table and chairs) overlooking a vineyard. The rooms there were super clean, stylish and spacious. Once we arrived to the marriott I was truly disappointed from the pool area, general location, and especially with the rooms. We paid a rate of $400 a night ( not including taxes and resort fees). We were on the first floor in a corner with a view of the parking lot. Do not go by the marriott name as this hotel is a waste of $. I never write reviews but I was truly disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback about your experience at our hotel. I am happy to report that we are working diligently on a renovation plan that will transform our guest rooms. In the meantime, we will continue to provide a legendary service culture that ensures all of our guests have a wonderful time in the Napa Valley. Thank you for staying with us and have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 3425 Solano Avenue, Napa, CA 94558
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm and beauty of Napa California’s world-famous wine country from the area’s premier hotel – the Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa. Providing exceptional hotel room accommodations for business travel, meetings, and perfectly located for leisurely exploring, our Napa hotel is surrounded with opportunities to treat yourself in every sense. Conveniently located in the heart of California’s renowned Napa Wine Country, just off Highway 29, our hotel offers the ideal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel And Spa
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel Napa
Marriott Napa
Napa Marriott
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.