We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey option but can't beat the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3425 Solano Avenue, Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 25 hotels in Napa
Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Pricey option but can't beat the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This Marriott is a step above most of the equivalent properties in the Marriott portfolio. Even though it is showing its age a little, it is well kept up, clean, and most of all convienent. The folks are friendly and helpful, and unlike many other properties, actually know how to host a concierge lounge properly! The food in the lounge was not only plentifull it was of good selection and variety. Very much appreciated. There was complementary wine tasting each evening in the lobby AND in the lounge. Rooms were of good size and appointed very nicely.

The location is hard to beat. Right off the main highway just north of town on the edge of wine country. If you want to go to Sonoma, its an easy drive as well. To get to downtown and the river area is less than a 10 min drive even with lights and stop signs.

I would be neglect if I didn't at least say that it is overpriced. However being in a "resort" area and a high demand location I guess they figure that they can get the price point. In fact the resort was almost full the entire 3 days we were there, so looking for the price to come down a little is most likely just wishfull thinking. There are cheaper options in Napa, you just have to weigh the convienence factor against your expectations. When full the parking can also be a little challenge.

Would I stay here again? I sure would want to, however I also would monitor the prices rather closely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    333
    126
    32
    11
See reviews for
100
341
15
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I recently stayed three nights at the Napa Marriott, using it as a base for winery tours to Napa and Sonoma. The hotel is a Marriott so you you know what you are getting. The room was clean and comfortable. I stopped at the concierge desk and asked for winery recommendations. The concierge asked what types of wine we liked and the gave us a map and anumber of compliemtary tasting coupons (2for1). The hotel daily has complimentary wine tastings which is a very nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We met friends there from out of state, for a surprise 60th BD .Arrived early Fri evening. They were out on the courtyard patio. All had drinks and were enjoying the live music.Gorgeous area open to the stars. Servers were friendly and helpful. Had breakfast there two days in a row and it was fine. Be prepared for bigger crowds on wknds( food takes longer to get replenished). Rms were adequate and proximity is great for wine tasting. I just cant rave enough about the back courtyard area. Looking forward to getting back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

After reading reviews of other travelers on TripAdvisor, my wife and I lowered our expectations of this hotel. That was a mistake. This Marriott brand hotel does what is aims for very well. Not a Ritz (another Marriott property), I found it to be one of the most convenient places I have stayed in the wine country. Overlooking Hwy 29 it provides easy access to any area of the entire wine country. The rooms are sufficiently appointed with typical furnishings. There is also a mini refrigerator and a desk-dining combo table that slides together. The bathroom passed the "acid test" by having ample counter space for my wife to spread her grooming items with room left over for my shaving kit. The restaurant/bar/coffee shop is perfect for the savvy traveler. It has privacy booths in the back, lots of space by the bar, and efficient service in the nook coffee shop. You can order from the menu anywhere in the restaurant/bar. I can truly say I have never been a hotel with better trained, friendlier staff than this one. Our experience was wholly very pleasant. I highly recommend this hotel for savvy wine country visitors.

Room Tip: Request a room near the lobby. This is a large spread-out property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I checked into this hotel for our wedding anniversary. We received great customer service from the beginning and it did not stop until our trip ended. The hotel, for us, was in an ideal spot and served as a launching location for all of our winery trips. The concierge at the hotel helped us find so many additional wineries and helped with reservations. While the property may be a little dated, it is clean, and well kept. The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. The daily hotel wine tastings in the lobby were nice. They continued the wine tasting in the concierge lounge. We would definitely recommend this property to all of our friends and family visiting Napa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have ingrown toenails on my big toes. After many painful experiences at local mani/pedi businesses I made an appointment with Amber at the Marriott. Under her care one toenail is now normal and the other one is improving. The other places told me I had to endure the pain and they were not gentle. It wasn't until I started getting pedicures from Amber that I learned the procedure does not have to be painful. It cost a little more at the spa but you get to use all their facilities for the entire day, even if you just get a lip wax. They are careful to keep things clean. Locals get discounts Sunday through Thursday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I booked a conference at this hotel and could not be more pleased. The staff at the Marriott were wonderful -- from the concierge to the front desk to restaurant staff. Our stay was fabulous. Wonderfully located in Napa, across from a shopping center with Whole Foods and Trader Joe's and Target made it convenient to pick up items. Every evening was a free wine tasting in the lobby from local vintners, early mornings had balloon flights taking off in front of the hotel. The Vin Eleven restaurant in the hotel has a nice selection, though a friend and I ordered the fish dishes and the fish was very, very small. This was the only disappointment. There is a lot of outdoor seating to enjoy a fire, the pool, a quiet patio space and have a glass of wine. Guests carried their bottles and glasses around and really seemed to enjoy the atmosphere. I can't recall a more relaxed hotel atmosphere with such conviviality. Rooms are standard Marriott fare, but are a bit larger than standard Marriott rooms. Many of the rooms have outdoor access, which makes it nice. The Chef has an organic garden and gave my group a tour and cooking demonstration using vegetables picked from the garden. My group was thrilled with the hotel and the experience they had there -- and I was too! Great special events manager, Nina Hayes, went out of the way to make a fabulous conference. Wouldn't hesitate to have another meeting here -- or a stay for pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio to enjoy the lovely Napa weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel Napa
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel And Spa
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel
Marriott Napa
Napa Marriott
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa CA
Address: 3425 Solano Avenue, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#10 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm and beauty of Napa California’s world-famous wine country from the area’s premier hotel – the Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa. Providing exceptional hotel room accommodations for business travel, meetings, and perfectly located for leisurely exploring, our Napa hotel is surrounded with opportunities to treat yourself in every sense. Conveniently located in the heart of California’s renowned Napa Wine Country, just off Highway 29, our hotel offers the ideal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.