We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3425 Solano Avenue, Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Avon, Indiana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice little Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

In following with the rest of Napa, this property does not look like the typical Marriott . . . it's only a few stories high. The layout worked for me, but I could see a few downfalls if the weather was not as favorable.

The fitness facility was quite nice (stocked with towels and water, lots of equipment to choose from) but it was in a building that was separate from the hotel. Just a short walk across the parking lot, but not ideal if the weather had been rainy or cold . . . also not ideal as a single female walking around late at night.

Check-in was great and the associate was enthusiastic about the property and the area. The lobby was a nice area, good for relaxing or socializing. In the evening, they had tastings from local wineries - pay attention to the timing though, it didn't last long so I missed it:(

The location was away from the main "downtown" part of Napa, but still not far and conveniently right off the interstate. It was also very near an outlet mall . . . I didn't have time to visit, so I can't comment on this. One thing that was quite nice and I did use, was that the property is right down from Evans shuttle company that runs to both Oakland and San Francisco airports multiple times a day each way. $29 each way if you get yourself to their location or they will pick up at area hotels for $45.

Rooms were nice and the property overall was good . . . didn't quite feel like a "resort" as compared to some of the other properties in the area or some other Marriott resorts, but was still a good property and I'd recommend it.

Best option for a Marriott property in Napa. Not for drive north to many wineries or south into the heart of Napa.

Room Tip: Request a specific area in the hotel if you want to be near the fitness room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Amy- As a TripAdvisor "Top Contributor" you must travel often and we truly appreciate the fact that you rated us so highly. We especially appreciated the comments about our staff being enthusiastic about our hotel and the area as we view our associates as ambassadors to the Napa Valley experience. Thanks again we hope you have a great summer. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    367
    147
    45
    19
See reviews for
116
392
16
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, Ca.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've stayed at the Napa Valley Marriott over the years for both business and pleasure. The location is close enough to many of the wineries that this makes a great starting and ending point to a wine tasting day. The restaurant and bar are excellent and they taste local wineries many evenings during the week.

Room Tip: Try to get on the pool side as the view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your continued patronage. We appreciate your comments about our VINeleven Restaurant & Bar and our nightly wine reception. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel every August for the past 15 years. The changes that they have done are extraordinary. They have transformed the hotel into a 1st class hotel. The service of the staff goes above and beyond as well as the exprience they provide is worth the money. The hotel is centrally located to the wineries and downtown Napa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Pete - Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad that you have been able to experience our transformation over the past few years and appreciate your comments about our wonderful staff. We will be sharing your comments at our next associate gathering. Have a great summer and we hope to see you again this August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I are doing a road trip down the pacific right now. We stopped and stayed in Napa Valley Marriott for one night and I have to say Rosanna, the person who checked us in, seriously made our day/night. She was high-spirited, helpful and accommodating. We checked in at 10:30pm and having missed our dinner reservation at the Press due to our impromptu decision to hit the Pentaluma Premium Outlets, we were starving and Rosanna suggested we eat at the hotel's restaurant - VinEleven. It was the best decision ever. I come from Hong Kong with LOTS of good restaurants and I have to say Vin Eleven is now my FAVE restaurant. We ordered everything they had on the menu. We had 2 rounds of oysters because they were SO fresh; mussels; salad; ribeye (best ribeye EVER); cheesecake and THE WINE (one white and one red).... EVERYTHING was perfect. Good food aside, in the middle of our amazing and very satisfying dinner, Rosanna came by and gave us a $50 coupon due to some mishap we had with finding our hotel room. Seriously felt like we won the jackpot! :)

For the price, ambiance, service and quality of food, you're getting top notch stuff. Because it was so good, we had VinEleven for breakfast as well and I have to say they did a good job in that aspect as well..

The only "bad" thing I could point say is that we didn't really have any help with the luggage and since the marriott here is relatively big, it was annoying having to tug our luggage around ourselves. It would be helpful to park the car near where your hotel room is for easy access.

As for the room, we had a King-size bed. The bed was super comfortable and the hotel was really clean. The experience we had at the Marriott was exceptional and it made it very hard for us to leave. I know the Hotel also has a spa-side but we never had the chance to try it out so I can't give my opinion on that. Needless to say, I would definitely go back again. Staying at the Marriott made our first-time experience at the Napa Valley remarkable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We hope your road trip down the Pacific coast was fabulous! Thank you so much for the kind words. We will be celebrating your comments about Rosanna at our next associate gathering and really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with her. We are also so appreciative of your comments about our "hidden gem", VINeleven Restaurant and Bar. We take pride in offering an experience other than the "typical hotel restaurant" and are so glad that you were able to join us. I also wanted to recognize your comment about the lack of luggage assistance. This is certainly not our standard as we typically have bell staff available. We truly apologize for the inconvenience as our property is large and sprawling and I can see how that would have been a problem. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I typically stay at 5 star properties and hardly ever at Marriotts. I was impressed with this property. It is clean and comfortable with a great price tag and a central location to all the wineries. For a one or two night's stay in Napa, this is your spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Miss MMeyer - Hopefully your stay with us will lead to more stays at Marriott properties! We appreciate your kind words and hope that the next time you find yourself in the Napa Valley, that you again allow us the opportunity to serve you. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Not exactly what we expected at a "spa". The rooms were small comparable to a Courtyard. Although it was the first Marriott we stayed at this trip that had a safe in the room. The swimming pool is rather small. The restaurant has a good, attentive staff who remember what your habits are from day to day which helps when sitting down to eat. The rooms are clean, bathrooms are not up to a "spa" category. For the money I expected a little more. The place reminds me of a conference center rather than a spa. I must add that the staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Be sure to visit the Waterfront and Market at Oxbow on the weekend. There are bike rental places nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is a converted Holiday Inn. It is comfortable and close to all that Napa Valley has to offier. Each night in the lobby there is a complimentary wine tasting by an local winery.
The concierge lounge is spacious and features local specialties in the evening.
It is family friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, Director of Sales at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I must admit, we love to read "Relaxing" in a review title. We're so glad you were able to sample our winery partner wines at our nightly welcome reception and that you enjoyed our concierge lounge as well. Come back and see us soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 3425 Solano Avenue, Napa, CA 94558
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm and beauty of Napa California’s world-famous wine country from the area’s premier hotel – the Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa. Providing exceptional hotel room accommodations for business travel, meetings, and perfectly located for leisurely exploring, our Napa hotel is surrounded with opportunities to treat yourself in every sense. Conveniently located in the heart of California’s renowned Napa Wine Country, just off Highway 29, our hotel offers the ideal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel And Spa
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel Napa
Marriott Napa
Napa Marriott
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.