We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3425 Solano Avenue, Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Overall nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel was in a good location in the southern part of Napa. The best part of the entire hotel is the restaurant, the food was delicious both for dinner and breakfast. We were there over New Year's and we were a bit surprised they didn't have anything going on that night for guests and the bar area was practically empty by 10:30 pm. The nightly complimentary wine tasting was a nice added touch. Adding a morning coffee and tea bar would be nice too. :). The gym was adequate and not busy at all. Overall it was a good hotel to stay at for a visit to Napa.

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd floor so you don't have to hear your neighbors walking around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaValleyMarriott, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Our Executive Chef Brian Whitmer was delighted to hear about your experience in our restaurant, VINeleven! He is an extraordinary talent and we are lucky to have him on the Napa Marriott team. Have a great New Year and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    388
    158
    47
    19
See reviews for
124
414
16
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is a bit unassuming from the exterior - very nice on the inside. The rooms are quiet and comfortable with plenty of space. Two courtyards - one with a pool/hot tub and the other with a garden. Plenty of outdoor seating with fire pits and heaters for cooler weather. Great location - very close to 29 and just a few miles from downtown Napa. Nice spa and fitness center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaValleyMarriott, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
I see that you are an expert traveler and a top contributor to Trip Advisor! That is very exciting and we really appreciate the kind words in your review of our property. Have a wonderful year and enjoy your future travel adventures. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights the week of the Christmas holiday. We also celebrated my birthday there. They delivered chocolate covered strawberries and sparkling wine to us our 2nd night there with a card wishing me a happy birthday. It was a very special touch and I appreciated it very much! The rooms were nice. It is more of a boutique hotel than your typical large Marriott. The lobby felt more like a large living room with comfy seating and a large fireplace. They also host evening wine tastings from different vineyards and that was kind of neat. I will say that the extra $20/day per person for the Concierge Lounge is NOT worth it. Each morning the brekfast consited of 3 different types of eggs, very hard bagels/toast, cereal and oatmeal. Would have been nice to seem some meat or potatoes added to it. Coffee was good though. The appetizers in the evening were just so-so but nothing extrordinary or special.
The staff was great and really made us feel welcome. We would definitley stay here again!

They have an awesome outdoor courtyard area with comfy seating and fire pits...our only complaint was that it rained 3 of the 4 days we were there and the seats that were outside were soaked so we could not go out and enjoy the fire pits. Seems to me they should try harder to cover those seats up so that folks can go out and enjoy them once the rain stops. They did have small awnings but it didnt help. Other than that we really enjoyed our time here!

Room Tip: a room overlooking the courtyard would be nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaValleyMarriott, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Happy belated birthday! There is no better place to spend a birthday than the legendary Napa Valley. Thank you very much for your suggestion about our outdoor seating. We are working on a solution to ensure that those cushions stay dry all the time. Your comments about our concierge lounge are also very valuable to me. I spoke to the Executive Chef, and we are going to add breakfast potatoes to the morning buffet. Happy New Year and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I was staying at the Napa Valley Marriott on business (for a conference located in the hotel), staying for 4 nights in November. First impressions were that the room was very comfortable; loads of space, a large comfy bed and a great sized bathroom (although I found the full length mirror on the back of the door, that directly faces you when you're on the toilet a little disconcerting..)

The rest of the hotel was equally impressive, with the bar area providing an excellent cooked-to-order breakfast, a solid lunch/dinner menu and a good selection of drinks (if a little pricey, but that isn't surprising). The location is excellent, being very close to the main road that takes you straight to all the vineyards. It's a short drive to downtown Napa though so not really walkable, but from my two visits to Napa, it's all about the vineyards, as downtown doesn't have too much to offer.

If I was in the area on business (i.e. not paying!) I'd definitely stay again, but for a personal visit I might find it a bit too expensive for what it is (we were on a heavily discounted group conference rate), but since we generally prefer the experience of B&Bs I might be a bit too biased!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaValleyMarriott, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are so glad that you stayed with us for your conference in November. As a Senior contributor to Trip Advisor, I have to say that your feedback is very important and well received. Thank you and have a wonderful 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Dad was in the hospital and checked into this hotel and the front desk employee Jose was the best. He was very friendly, smiled, went out of his way to help us. More hotels need employees like Jose. The hotel was clean, room was nice, will definitely come back and stay at this hotel again. Management please be sure to thank Jose for the best customer service ever. You need more employees like this.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaValleyMarriott, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
I want to print out the title of your review and pin it on my lapel! Service is our game around here, and I am so glad to hear about your interaction with our front office superstar Jose. I personally told him about your comments and you should have seen the smile! Happy New Year and thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I couldn't agree more with some of the other Tripadvisor customer service reviews for this hotel. Outstanding. We were warmly greeted by the front desk staff who were attentive, knowledgable, and gracious. The assistance and courtesy shown by everyone on staff created a feeling of comfortability, as if I was visiting old friends. The size, appearance, amenities, dining, and location greatly beneficial for business travelers.
We didn't have a chance to visit the spa, as they were booked for a private event.
The front entrance (which included a fireplace with couches and lounging areas) and bar were inviting and spacious with seating always available. These locations were pretty busy and happening, without feeling crowded. The entrance and room decor were clean and contemporary in design. With regards to food, I had 2 desserts while visiting and they were well-portioned and tasty.
Fantastic, extremely affordable hotel, especially for business and leisure group travelers. Their price points were right on target.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaValleyMarriott, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
I like very much that you felt so at home at our hotel. We like to think of ourselves as one big family around here, with you a guest in our home. Thank you so much for the kind words Michelle… I am going to be sure to share them with our entire team so that they all know how powerful their consistent dedication to service is to our valuable guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Ca
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

As an early Christmas present my wife and I took the fairly short journey to Napa. The Marriott was a perfect place for comfort, location and exemplary service. From Jose at the front desk during check in to Sherry at the Consierge desk, the service was a treat. Sherry was very helpful , went the extra mile and also steered us to some great wine tasting venues.
The Consierge lounge has a nice ambience and well above average evening and breakfast choices.
The wine tasting in the evening was a plus - Frederick from White Hall Lane was a true professional and very interesting.

Overall a great stay - done construction going on but not intrusive.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaValleyMarriott, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us in December. I especially like that your Christmas present to your wife was a trip to the Napa Valley. I cannot imagine a better one. Happy New Year and please visit us again soon – the exterior facelift is complete and the hotel has never looked better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 3425 Solano Avenue, Napa, CA 94558
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Napa
#13 Family Hotel in Napa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm and beauty of Napa California’s world-famous wine country from the area’s premier hotel – the Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa. Providing exceptional hotel room accommodations for business travel, meetings, and perfectly located for leisurely exploring, our Napa hotel is surrounded with opportunities to treat yourself in every sense. Conveniently located in the heart of California’s renowned Napa Wine Country, just off Highway 29, our hotel offers the ideal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel Napa
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel And Spa
Marriott Napa
Napa Marriott
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.