We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel a 3 but spa/massages a 5 so giving it a 4” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3425 Solano Avenue, Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 25 hotels in Napa
las vegas, nv, USA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“hotel a 3 but spa/massages a 5 so giving it a 4”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

just back from 2 nights at the hotel, it was raining about the whole time we were there but we live in las vegas so we enjoy the rain when we get it. our room was off the street and facing the garden so it was quiet. windows open and we loved listening to the rain all night. room was spacious and clean. the wine tasting at 5 is just that, it is not a happy hour or complimentary wine. it's a winery there giving you a couple of ounces trying to sell wine. Dave, the bartender is great. he's a local and is very knowledgeable about the region and the restaurants. he sent us to Il Posto and you should go there too! (very close to the marriott) concierge was very nice and helpful. we were there at a slow time, maybe they have more than one concierge during busy times but it was a wait to visit w/ her. the free shuttle was sort of a weird hassle. we used it and it was nice to be able to drink and not drive but is seemed oddly unorganized. the spa was a great experience, only because of the staff. the spa itself is a little worn and in the ladies side the steam room never got hot. BUT, Eva and Delphina the therapists each gave my husband and i one of the best massages either of us has ever had. REALLY, really sublime. And Britanny at the front desk was super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaValleyMarriott, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We love our bartender Dave Taylor! Thank you for recognizing how great he is and his local roots, which have been invaluable to so many of our guests. Also, I have shared your comments regarding our complimentary limo service on Friday and Saturday with our Front Office Manager. We will analyze the system we have in place for reservations and ensure that it is logistically sound. I sent your comments regarding our massage therapists Delphina and Eva to our lead therapist and spa manager so that they can know right away how extraordinary your massage experience was. Thank you from all of us for your thoughtful feedback and for staying with us in the Napa Valley. Shawn Milburn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    356
    134
    40
    13
See reviews for
109
364
15
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I am a huge fan of Marriott, but the Napa Valley Marriott is definitely below-average in many respects. The hotel feels worn and in need of upgrades. The fitness center was lacking and the place feels much more like a Courtyard or Residence level hotel.

When we were there in November 2012, they were giving the entrance a facelift but it didn't appear they were making any substantive improvements to the property.

I would stay here again only if I needed the nights to keep my Gold status - which is why I stayed here this time. It's a shame, because the area really could use a nice hotel by Marriott.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaValleyMarriott, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for being a huge fan of Marriott, and for being a Gold Elite member of Marriott Rewards. As the final phase of our three year renovation comes to an end this Christmas, I am especially thankful for dedicated guests such as your selves that continue to visit us during these vital improvements. The Napa Valley Marriott Hotel was built shortly after Staggs Leap and Chateau Montelena won a blind tasting against the French in 1976, and has been the home base for international oenophiles seeking to explore the legendary Napa Valley ever since. Our objective since we purchased the property in 2009 has been to significantly improve the entire 9 acre hotel complex across all areas. The guest rooms, spa, function spaces, concierge lounge and restaurants have all been redone – with the most extraordinary change being the addition of our Great Room and VINeleven bar and restaurant which won “renovation of the year” for all Marriott hotels in North America in 2011. The current exterior “facelift” will be complete by Christmas, and we know that you will really enjoy the visual enhancement and sense of arrival when it is complete. Have a wonderful holiday season and extraordinary 2013. Shawn Milburn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan County, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Picked this one on PriceLine.com...because of the name, mostly. A bit pricey, but the Marriott name and reputation made this a second thought. The night previous was in the Burlingame Hyatt on Thanksgiving Day.

Arrived in Napa, CA the next morning, locating the property and checking in early afternoon. PriceLine had this one at "4 Stars". The entrance was under construction and the workers were sawing and beeping their way through the day. We drove around the 'danger' tape and parked close to our room, second floor facing the expressway, and trudged up the stairs.

The room was 'clean', but that's about all I can say for it. All of the cleanliness one would expect in a consistently maintained property. But the "...This is living, this is MARRIOTT" slogan from the past was not what I was experiencing. The room was average...at best. The non-skid mat on the bottom of the tub/shower appeared and disappeared twice in the three day visit. Hmmmm!

The noise from the construction ended abruptly at 5 PM and we now had to contend with the din from the expressway. Turned on the A/C. The fan was just slightly below the interior noise level of the AirTran jet we had arrived in the day before. However, it did make the traffic noise less noticeable.

Breakfast in the combination lounge/dining area was less than remarkable. "Sit where you like," shouted the waitress as we were searching for a table for two. None which were vacant was clean so we chose a 'hi-boy' table in the center of the room...and sat there for ten minutes, without recognition, set-ups or offer for coffee, while the wait staff was tending to the sparse number of customers around us.

Finally, my wife spoke up loud enough to attract the attention of a busboy who, in turn, motioned to a wait staff person who came over and asked what we wanted. From this point on we were given menus, offered coffee and our order taken. We noted that a nearby group which had come in just before us was lacking attention as well.

As we finished the meal, a woman in a pant-suit and carrying a walkie-talkie stopped and asked about the service. I readily offered that it was a "C" and no more. Gave a short synopsis of our experience so far. She motioned to the server that she "...would take care of the bill." I declined the offer since it was a Holiday and I knew the staff was very pressed in their service. This seemed to take the lady by surprise. However, the diminished tip was explanation enough.

We did not eat in the dinning room/lounge area other than this one time.

The one BRIGHT SPOT of this "4-Star" property was the availability of a "Courtesy Car" 24/7. We used it twice and found it's availability to be convenient and prompt. Since it was the Thanksgiving Day Holiday weekend, we did tip the driver accordingly well.

The property is well-kept and the grounds are well groomed. An herb and vegetable garden is located at the edge of the parking lot. However, the construction equipment and dumpster placement all but hid what could have been a good photo-opportunity.

The Napa Hilton Gardens Inn was next door...should have considered it.

The Napa Valley Marriott Hotel and Spa is a good location for conferences and for folks who are using it as a 'base' from which to visit local wineries, take day tours and/or rendezvous with friends and other associates. There was never a mention of a "spa"...for our use.

A pretentious wine 'tasting' sponsored by a local winery was accompanied by an art 'auction' in the lobby of the hotel. While this seemed to attract a number of folks interested in free wine...the presentation was less than impressive.

For the same price we paid and possibly less, there are several properties in the Downtown Napa area in which you could enjoy a much warmer, personal experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool or interior grounds. Rooms facing 'out' are noticeably noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaValleyMarriott, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during the Thanksgiving holiday weekend. We are very thankful for your visit, and for this constructive feedback about your experience with us. I am especially concerned about the lack of prompt service that you experienced in our VINeleven bar and restaurant and have spoken to the Director of Food and Beverage about your visit. We are extremely focused on prompt and graceful service levels across the hotel, so your observations and candor are extremely helpful to our growth and success. The facelift construction you experienced is almost complete, and I appreciate your understanding as we finalize the beautification of our exterior. The Executive Chef and myself built the culinary garden ourselves in early 2011, and I can appreciate your comments regarding the presence of construction vehicles near that serene space. I have spoken to the general contractor, and we are working to reduce the clutter in that area as they wrap up this project by Christmas. Happy Holidays to you and your family, and I wish you an extraordinary 2013. Shawn Milburn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a big family wedding at a nearby winery and about 40 of us stayed at this Marriott which worked about beautifully. There was a huge central courtyard with fire pits and full bar and restaurant service. One night we ordered in 30 pizzas and the staff was wonderful helping us with the setups.
The spa was terrific; we had lots of massages, pedicures, waxings, etc and everyone was very pleased with their services. There were lots of places for our group to comfortable gather and the entire staff went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just enjoyed a weekend at this hotel. While my favourite Napa hotel remains Batdessano recognizing the price point and the service this is an excellent option. The service at the front desk must be ackowledged-it was friendly, warm and helpful. The concierge was also helpful. They went out of their way to add a personal touch to our stay and their hotel. Breakfast was included in our reservation and the food was excellent. The afternoon wine tasting was also a highlight. The lobby and outdoor fireplace heated patio was enjoyable. If the rooms were updated it would be a definite improvement. Deanna Sgro

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Perfect location to easily get to Napa wineries. The hotel was nice and a great deal (won a bid on Priceline). Every evening at 5:00, they had wine tastings in the lobby from local wineries. The bar had great service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Recently spent a long weekend here while exploring some of the wineries around Napa. The room was comfortable, although it faced the outdoor patio that got loud at night where they were holding an event. The pool area was beautiful and the lounge chairs comfortable.

I enjoyed the complimentary afternoon cocktail hour with wine tastings by local wineries. We shared a yummy appetizer on the deck - local heirloom tomatoes with mozzarella - it was very tasty! Really, I just liked being able to bask in the sun. As evening dropped, they lit the multiple fire pits which kept the patio warm and inviting. The staff was very attentive and helpful.

We never used the spa, so can't rate that!

The one drawback was parking. It was a zoo. If you came back to the hotel after a late dinner, you had better be prepared for a hike.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 3425 Solano Avenue, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#13 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm and beauty of Napa California’s world-famous wine country from the area’s premier hotel – the Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa. Providing exceptional hotel room accommodations for business travel, meetings, and perfectly located for leisurely exploring, our Napa hotel is surrounded with opportunities to treat yourself in every sense. Conveniently located in the heart of California’s renowned Napa Wine Country, just off Highway 29, our hotel offers the ideal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel And Spa
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel Napa
Marriott Napa
Napa Marriott
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;