We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill to your Saves list
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Main Street, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Romance In Napa!
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2007

Napa River Inn is a great place to stay in the Wine Country. We stayed in the Plaza Building on the second floor. Our King Bed room was spacious, well appointed, and decorated in a wine country motif. The bed was very comfortable and you can't beat the breakfast delivered right to your door from the bakery downstairs. Service was excellent. We ate at Celadon for dinner and both my husband and I were very pleased with the meal. The Inn is also walking distance to other restaurants. Staying at Napa River Inn was a relaxing and enjoyable experience and I would not hesitate to stay here again. Only one downside....downtown Napa is in the process of constructing a riverwalk and there was a lot of unsightly construction going on around the Inn. The construction was limited to daylight hours, so it did not interrupt our evening. However, our view of the river was ruined by concrete and rebar wall being erected to support the new riverwalk. Other than the fact that we really didn't get to enjoy the view from our balcony, this place was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    220
    50
    34
    13
See reviews for
70
504
20
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2007

We really have no complaints. Great location especially if you enjoy stroll through a little town and it's nice to have that option after traveling to and from Vineyards all day. The Free breakfast was great...especially when delivered to your room! I don't have much to say about the Napa RIver itself -- not much of a site, plus there's currently a little bit of construction going on there, so the views are limited.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Napa River View
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2007

We had a wonderful experince. Close to everything. Staff great very helpful. Loved Sweetie pies got to have the scones!


We check out this morning couldn't wait to write the review.

  • Liked — comfortable bebs
  • Disliked — river construction
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

We just returned from a two night stay at the Napa River Inn (and we stayed at a different hotel for two nights - we planned it that way!)
PROS: We liked the location - walking distance to many downtown restaurants and beautiful neighborhood where we went running both mornings. The bed is very comfortable. Sweetie Pies breakfast is delicious and Celadon restaurant is a must!
CONS: We felt it was a little overpriced for the room and service. After being very dissatisfied with our room, we were upgraded at no charge. The room was a little larger (not much) and had a fireplace, balcony and river view. Still, not that impressive considering the price and that it was an upgraded room! Not to mention, there was construction all along the river and it was not in good shape! Also, very thin walls made it a little noisy.

I would probably stay here again because of the location and convenience, but the room was just average.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monterey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Napa River Inn this past weekend, and it was absolutely wonderful. We had a Deluxe Room in the Historic Hatt Building. The room was magnificent. Very spacious, and decorated in heirloom-style furnishings. The canopy bed was huge, with a very comfortable mattress. There was also a nice sitting area with two comfortable chairs and a giant ottoman in front of a beautiful fireplace with the television mounted above. We really enjoyed sitting and relaxing after spending our days out exploring the spectacular Napa Valley. And the bathroom was awesome, with a slipper tub on one end and a two-person shower at the other end. This place was truly perfect for our relaxing romantic getaway.

The hotel is just a short walk away from downtown Napa where you can find plenty of shops and places to eat. Not that you would need to go elsewhere to eat. Our complimentary breakfast was more than enough to get us going for the day. In fact the portions are more than we could eat. On Friday night, we enjoyed the free wine tasting in the hotel lobby. And the highly-rated Celadon Restaurant is located right onsite.

It's a very easy drive to Highway 29, where you can drive for miles and miles and see all kinds of vineyards and wineries, or just enjoy the scenery. Our favorite was the Artesa Winery, which is actually a bit of a drive off the beaten path, but well worth the extra effort. We also enjoyed the Beringer Winery.

We really didn't have time to do all the things we wanted to do on our weekend getaway. I guess we'll just have to go back!

  • Liked — It is a unique, historic property.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise, ID
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

We recently stayed at the Inn on a trip to the wine country. Never being there, I didn't know really where to stay. There were 3 couples that I was looking for and we chose to upgrade to both the 'river view' and the fireplace. The view was super dissapointing - that and our room was the first one you saw when you came upstairs, meaning we heard everyone come and go. I wasn't too happy considering my 'upgraded' room. Room 217 - room was okay, view was not worth the extra $$$. Bathroom was super small too. I will say the bed was great and the staff was pleasant. Our last day they did some cleaning and came to the window outside our room at 8:30am and started cleaning around the window with a broom. Luckily we were up!
Breakfasts were really good - that was a plus.

Overall - when going back to the wine country - I think I will choose to stay somewhere further up in wine country rather than downtown Napa.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night visit to the Napa River Inn. We stayed in the Captain Hatt Suite, which the hotel website describes as, "The largest and most luxurious room in the historical building". It was awesome. The room was huge and incredible, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the hotel was perfectly located in downtown Napa and close to anything / everything. The room was very clean, and fun, and the breakfast was great! The only criticism I have is that the wireless internet access inside our room was poor, but worked fine everywhere else we went in the hotel. We would LOVE to come back and stay here again!!!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Address: 500 Main Street, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#4 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#6 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa!Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country.Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.