We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect get-away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Save Saved
You added Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Main Street, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Start summer off right!
Ranked #3 of 25 hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clayton, California
1 review
“The perfect get-away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The only hotel to stay in Napa is the "Napa River Inn". We chose the balcony room with a view, and fireplace. The decor, comfort and location to every activity was perfect....it exceeded all our expectations and we will return for a longer stay.
The staff was professional, warm and attended to all our needs. I implore you to stay and enjoy a completely wonderful time in Napa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    524
    200
    45
    33
    13
See reviews for
63
475
17
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was outstanding. This was the 3rd stop in our tour of Northern California and turned out to be our favorite! From the helpful, friendly staff to the delicious breakfast from Sweetie Pies to the very helpful recommendations from Laurie Gordon we couldn't have asked for more. The Napa River Inn receives our highest recommendation.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon and my husband booked a third floor balcony room for us. The bellman told us on the way up that it was his favourite room. We were greeted with a glass of local wine and the bell service was excellent and the staff helpful. The rooms were clean and luxurious. Breakfast room service is included in the price and they were able to do a gluten free breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Love staying at this hotel! Always a wonderful experience from the warm welcome of the staff, the location, the ambience, and the well kept rooms, and common areas. I've stayed here many times and will continue to make it my number one choice due to consistency of service and overall satisfaction. It's hard to find businesses that can maintain this kind if consistency, plus continual improvements and upgrades year in and year out for as long as it has. Truly a Napa gem! Clearly a well-run operation!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again! We will continue to offer the best possible experience we can! See you next time.

Sara Brooks
Napa River Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were lucky to find a room available last minute on Labor Day weekend, and were given a complementary glass of Napa wine on check-in! We had the "Hatt Suite," actually not 2 separate rooms, but a large room with bedroom and living room areas, separated by how furniture is arranged, but all fully visible. Comfortable Calif king bed at one end, small sofa & easy chairs at the other end, with a gas fire in a sleek fireplace & large screen tv on the wall. Bathroom has thick terry robes and claw-foot tub in addition to tiled, large shower. The room and hotel lobby are richly decorated in Victorian syles and colors. Good water pressure, no view but large windows and plenty of light. WiFi free but very slow. Breakfast included, delivered to room, consisting of choices from Sweetie Pies Bakery next door. Within a block or two of a dozen good restaurants and steps from the walkway along the Napa River. Has spa but we didn't visit it. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello Irene,
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the Napa Valley. We are happy to offer modern amenities at our classic hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our Captain Hatt's Suite and we hope to see you back again soon.

Sara Brooks
Napa River Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I cannot say enough about the staff. They were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. The location was great for shopping and restaurants. The rooms were clean and pretty nicely decorated. It was great to have "free" Wifi and I loved breakfast delivered every morning. OK, now for the downside. We had to move from our second floor room in the old building as it was virtually part of the open air restaurant adjacent to it. We were literally overlooking a row of tables and without raising a voice, could have easily conversed with the diners about their delicious looking entrees if we so chose. We were jet lagged from a 3 hr time difference and the chatter of dishes and conversation below was so noisy that we couldn't sleep. The very accommodating manager moved us to the other building and we paid even more than the already top dollar for a smaller room with a queen bed and river view, all of which which turned out to be quite disappointing. The "balcony" outside our window was a shared space with 2 tables and chairs that you enter from another hallway. Everything about that balcony, from the corrugated sheet metal siding to the metal table and chairs was scorching hot and uninviting. Just a few umbrellas and table plants would have made the space usable during the day. At night, our room was unremittingly illuminated by the balcony spotlight streaming in through our window, suggestive of a police interrogation scene. All in all, it is a nice boutique hotel with great staff that still has some kinks to iron out.

Room Tip: Ask about the location of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

very friendly staff and service. Were able to help with arranging shipping for our wine purchases. Downtown location convenient for restaurants, no driving required. Always appreciate the complimentary WIFI.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Address: 500 Main Street, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#3 Green Hotel in Napa
#6 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa!Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country.Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.