We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Napa Vaction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill to your Saves list
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Main Street, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Relax into wellness!
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cotter, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Napa Vaction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

PJ & I took a nice vacation and stayed here for 2 nights. We stayed in a nice suite and had breakfast from Sweetie Pies sent to our room each morning. The best thing, I think, was the bathtub. It was a stand alone tub with a high back. I love baths and this was probably the MOST comfortable tub I've EVER been in! The staff was also very friendly, but I'd go back just for the tub.

Room Tip: This place is supposed haunted. 207 and 208 are the hot-spots!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello Denise,

Our claw-foot slipper tubs are definitely a reason to come back! Just big enough to immerse yourself, not so big that you get lost in it. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again.

Sara Brooks
Napa River Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    215
    49
    34
    13
See reviews for
69
492
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel was wonderful! There isn't much to add that hasn't already been said, but the highlights for us were the friendly, helpful staff, the delicious baked goods delivered to our room for breakfast, and the comfy beds. Oh, and the garden space along the river was just gorgeous. The room was not huge, but was big enough for two people in two beds and had plenty of counter space in the bathroom for toiletries. We will definitely stay here again if we return to Napa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We are very proud of our gardens - our Master Gardener loves hearing all of the wonderful feedback so I'll make sure to pass it along. The gardens are ever-changing so come back and visit us a different time of year to see all of the new growth!

Sara Brooks
Napa River Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I really loved my two day fun stay in Napa. I really enjoyed the inn. Since I was with my best buddy, another girl, we had a two bed room. The problem was they only had rooms with 2 beds on the bottom floor. Normally I would have been very uncomfortable because I always request a higher floor, but, this felt very safe. Also it was Napa during the week and the town doesn't really come to life until Thurs and is very busy over the weekends. I also felt the room was a little stuffy and didn't want to open the window being on the ground floor, but, that is just me. With our room they also gave us two $100.00 dinner gift certificates and we were able to try two excellent restaurants and we also received 4 coupons for wine tasting at the Bounty Hunter. We also had a free breakfast from Sweetie Pies which was good but not great like I expected it to be. It really was a great deal and we both enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you don't need 2 beds then there are other choices and I believe the rooms would be really ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our dinner package during your stay, I'm so glad you enjoyed it and you were able to get away for some girl time.

Sara Brooks
Napa River Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I recently took a 2 day trip to Napa and loved the Napa River Inn. Everything about it was great -- the staff couldn't have been more gracious, the location is terrific (within walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops) and the room, although small, was extremely comfortable. The towels were thick and lush, and the robes in the room were incredible -- again, so thick and luxurious. The breakfast in bed (or on our patio) from Sweeties was great -- a whole lot of choices but quite yummy (the scones I had both days were incredible). If I have one complaint -- and it is a minor one -- is that the lighting in the room was not great. The canopy over the bed makes it a little difficult to get the light from the bedside table, making it a little less comfortable for reading before going to sleep. Like I said -- a very minor complaint. Having a ride to and from the Wine Train was a special treat (although we had not been advised that this was offered -- we were told only when I asked how far the wine train was from the hotel; also, we had been told the car would be waiting for us when the train got back to the station. It wasn't. I had to call the hotel to remind them that we were waiting. Not a big deal, but a slight gliche.) All in all, I'd highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had one with a patio which was lovely for enjoying our glass of wine in the evening and our break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and writing this lovely review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and only had the one minor glitch. I will make sure we pass it along to our staff in our weekly meeting to make sure we communicate to guests properly about the wine train pick ups. Come back and see us soon!

Sara Brooks
Napa River Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed for a couple days on a quick trip to Napa. My friend and I got a courtyard room with two double beds. The room was spotless, and looked more like a B&B than a hotel. We both appreciated the yummy smelling shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and lotion. The room faced An attached restaurant and was a little noisy at night and in the morning. But the overall service was excellent and we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for writing this nice review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you took advantage of our in-room bath amenities. We feature NV Organics which is a local company that uses grape seeds and all natural ingredients in their products. We agree that they smell and feel yummy!

Sara Brooks
Napa River Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was perfect and quiet with sparkling lights outside the window. The dinner credit for one of three great restaurants along the river and the complimentary breakfast at Sweeties made the stay affordable for the wine country. We love the improvements in this area of Napa and hope to stay here again!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We love our new sparkling river-walk lights! It makes for a lovely walk through downtown and to the restaurants we feature in our dining package. Thank you for staying with us!

Sara Brooks
Napa River Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this property for 3 nights in May, celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary. The room was quite spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. I believe they had 600 thread count sheets. Needless today, it was plush. The hotel common area was well appointed and they had cucumber water available to quench your thirst. The front desk attendant was extraordinarily helpful especially with printing our boarding passes for the home-bound flight, which was not an easy task. At all times, I was made to feel like a very special customer. The property is also located in downtown Napa and is extremely easy to get to, making for a terrific launching-off point for the rest of our wine-infused trip. I would happily stay at this property again if my travel plans called for an overnight in Napa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were celebrating your anniversary. I'm happy to hear you had a lovely time at our location. Our bedding is always a big hit - it is such a nice treat to climb into a cozy bed after a long wine-infused day!

Come back and see us soon!

Sara Brooks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Address: 500 Main Street, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#6 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa!Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country.Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.