We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Save Saved
You added Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Main Street, Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights during a short trip to Napa. The location was ideal: a five-minute walk to downtown, and a short drive away from many wineries. Our room was fairly large, with a huge bathroom and a Juliet balcony. The room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast delivered to the room each morning was delicious!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting your lovely review. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and you were able to take advantage off everything there is to offer within walking distance. Hopefully your car didn't feel neglected while you were here!

Sara Brooks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    525
    202
    45
    34
    13
See reviews for
65
476
17
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

First off let me say the location and dog friendliness bumped this fun little property up from a 4 to a 5! How could I not? That said, the most important part of this hotel is it's location! Easy to access, walking distance to anything you might need, from Pub food to fine food! From the moment we drove up and the bellman relayed our name to the desk clerk everything was a smooth and easy experience.
Our room was a King with river front patio on the first floor. Excellent for us and the dog! The room itself is not huge but perfect for the three of us (including dog). Very simple and comfortable. The bed was quite comfortable, efficient and quiet air conditioner, large bathroom (okay the tub is not huge but it was fine and the hot water is HOT), flat screen TV and very welcoming. They even had the dog set up with food dishes, treats, disposal bags, blanket and a great letter addressed to him with all the dog friendly places he could go!
We were left an order form for our breakfast that was included. It had delicious options that suit everyone's taste. You can have your breakfast delivered or go into Sweetie Pies and have it there. We chose delivery and it arrived perfectly and tastily on time! Yum!
The grounds are great inside the Old MIll and everyone is friendly and accommodating. Great place!

Room Tip: Summer and Fall months usually only allow for two day minimun stays but often times if you call rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I'm happy to hear that everyone enjoyed our stay - including the dog! Downtown Napa truly is a dog friendly location. Next time you visit be sure to check out our new dog massages and walking services provided by our Spa - coming in July!

Sara Brooks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent 1 night at the Napa River Inn at the end of a west coast tour and it was our least favorite property. The reason, however, is specific to me and this is still a nice property. First the good. The property is a charming historic building and it is in an excellent location in Napa, walkable to many shops and restaurants. The staff was also very accommodating. The issue that I had with the room was the heating and air unit. When I made the reservation I asked if the room had central air or a wall unit and I was told that it was central air. When we arrived at the room we were disappointed to see a wall unit like the ones they have at Motel 6. (It was loud) I understand that most people probably have no problem with wall units so that is why I said that the problem is specific to me. I was offered a room with central air in the main building and declined because it was not ready so there is no one to blame but myself for the lack of sleep I experienced that night. Overall this is a nice property in a great location.



Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello Mitch,

One of the great things about our property is that we have many different room types, locations and decors. We have rooms with central air and with wall units (some guests prefer one or the other). It sounds like you needed to check in early and we didn't have any central air units ready yet - I'm sorry we weren't able to make that happen for you in time. Please come back and see us and I'll be happy to arrange it for you.

Sara Brooks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was way beyond satisfied from the moment I called! Sara Meuller helped me pick a room and package, called and made wine train reservations (even told them it was my boyfriend's birthday), and had notified all employees working that everything was a surprise. So nothing was given away like the in room massages (Anthony and Joanne from the spa were great!), the driver to the wine train, etc. Sara went to the bakery to arrange a certain cake that I requested at the last minute (Sweetie Pies Bakery , very awesome). The room was beautiful, love the wine soap and shampoo, and breakfast (from Sweetie Pies) was delicious! I wanted a very special birthday for my boyfriend and it was beyond my expectations! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: We upgraded for $50 more, had a fireplace and river view, was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We are so happy we were able to be a part of your surprise! What a nice thing to do for your boyfriend's birthday. Sweetie Pies is my husband's favorite 'birthday cake' location!

Come back and see us soon.

Sara Brooks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great location and very good service. However, the room & bathroom was a little small. I'm sure I asked for a King bed but ended up with a Queen. There wasn't even room for a table on one side of the bed. The TV Guide did not match the stations on the television, very frustrating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review!

I'm so sorry you had trouble with your TV lineup, we just recently went through a digital upgrade overhaul to include more HD channels and unfortunately it changed our channel lineup faster than we could change our guides! Thankfully, it was an easy fix but my apologies for not having it corrected before you left.

Sara Brooks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were here for the Bottle Rock Concert and meant to write a review at that time - but never got around to it. The staff was super helpful. Our rental car had a flat tire and the staff went out of their way to get us assistance in changing it and finding a place where we could get a new tire to continue our travels through the wine country.

Room Tip: River view is nice if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
BottleRock was such a great show! I'm glad to hear you were able to enjoy your trip even though you had a small tire snafu. Our staff tries hard to make sure your trip is as perfect as possible and a flat tire is no problem! We hope to see you at BottleRock part two next year.

Sara Brooks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the grounds are immaculate, lovely flowers, plants and fountains.
Within walking distance of many fine shops and restaurants. Easy parking. Delicious breakfast from Sweetie Pie and great coffee. Be sure to stop at the General Store for some wine. The pizza is great at Downtown Joe's Grill and Brewhouse. We enjoyed nice dinners at Pear and Fish Story.

Room Tip: We were in the Plaza Building and had a lovely room with a small balcony . The river was very low wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Happy first trip to Napa! Thank you for choosing us to spend it with. We pride ourselves on our garden oasis in the middle of downtown - our Master Gardener works hard to make our gardens lovely for everyone to enjoy. Come back and see us again soon!

Sara Brooks
Napa River Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Address: 500 Main Street, Napa, CA 94559
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#4 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#6 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa!Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country.Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.