We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 5th stay here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Save Saved
You added Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Main Street, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20/20 Vision Getaway
Ranked #3 of 25 hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our 5th stay here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We love the Napa River Inn and have stayed here often. The breakfast from Sweetie Pie's is delivered to your room at a time you select and it is always delicious. The Embarcadero rooms are roomier than rooms in the main building (at least the ones we've had in both buildings) but all are nice. The location can't be beaten. You can walk just about anywhere in downtown Napa, very easy access to all the shops and great restaurants, including Angeles's which is right next door and is one of our favorites.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    193
    44
    33
    13
See reviews for
60
455
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This inn is on the waterfront in a newly renovated area of downtown Napa and is within walking distance of great restaurants like Morimoto's and Cole's Chop House as well as the fantastic Oxbow Place Market. We got vouchers for free wine tastings at Bountyhunter for every day of our stay and the BBQ there was delicious! Breakfast in bed from Sweetie Pies was convenient and yummy.

We were in the Embarcadero building with a view of the river in an executive room. The king-sized bed was incredibly comfortable with many fluffy pillows. As people have noted here, you can hear noises in the hallway (we were next to the elevator and the ice machine and could hear them), but it is an old building so not sound proof. (That is the only reason I did not give it 5 stars.) Our room was cleaned beautifully every day and we did not leave a tip ahead of time, so the review from someone on this site was not accurate when they said your room would only be cleaned if you left a tip. That was definitely not true for us.

The staff was very helpful. The concierge, Liz, was a 4th generation Napanian and very knowledgeable about all the wineries. She gave us vouchers for wineries and great tips on places to eat throughout the valley as well. She was a great resource.

I would stay here again if I was staying in downtown Napa. We liked all the restaurants we tried in Napa much better than Bouchon.

Oh yes, and there is free Wi-fi and bottled water in the fridge.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that have already been renovated and are not next to the elevator or ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked the Napa River Inn because of location and dog friendliness. The rooms were of a nice size for our family of 4 plus dog. The balcony gave a little extra space for the dog. Our room faced the river on the ground floor, but felt quite secure. Breakfast was tasty and the Danish excellent. The dinner package gave us a great night out dining at the Fish Story one block down. Concierge were extremely helpful. They were able to provide reliable pet sitting services contacts as several restaurants do not permit dogs, and dogs cannot be left unattended. They also help connect us to Platypus tours to arrange a party bus style wine tour for 5 adults and 6 children. There are several wine tasting storefronts available in downtown, and we also dropped into Silos downstairs for some live music. The kids loved the sweet shop downstairs too.

Room Tip: Moon rise can be seen from river side balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I loved this place. Very clean and beautiful. Beds were comfy. Breakfast in bed too. Nice little view. Great service from the staff. Tubs were small. And the walls were either too thin or the neighbors were being way too loud.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We visited Napa the first week of Nov 2012 and the Napa River Inn was our home base. Our room had a delightful view of the gardens and river. The staff were always helpful, the rooms spotless, and the location walking distance from the best places in town. There is a beautiful Riverwalk that runs behind the property and will take you to many really fun restaurants such as, Morimotto's, The Bounty Hunter, and the Fish Story to name a few. Oxbow Market and the Napa Wine Train were also within an easy 15 minute walk as well as numerous wine tastings. The Napa Film Festival was also in full swing when we were there and the theaters also were no more than a 20 minute walk. It is just a perfect location to day trip the valley and then return here, park the car, freshen up, and enjoy an evening out on foot! We will be staying here on our next trip out.

Room Tip: We would request a 2nd floor river view again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had the a last minute opportunity to visit Napa. By chance, we were lucky enough to get one of the last rooms available at the Napa River Inn. Check in was a breeze. The staff were so courteous and were able to get us in our room earlier than expected.

Once we checked-in, we enjoyed a walk-about the little village of Napa. The shops were full of wonderful goodies. The wine-tasting at the various shops was fun, too. After a full morning and afternoon of touring, we relaxed in the wonderful room in the old part of the inn. So beautiful and full of history. Once rested, we enjoyed the wine tasting party in the lobby that evening.

The breakfast served in our room was delicious. It came promptly at our specific time. We enjoyed breakfast in bed with scones, juice, and fruit. Lovely morning treat.

We will return to the Napa River Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for the original part of the hotel. The rooms there are gorgeous and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We started our trip with a tour at Castillo de Amoroso winery which is north of this hotel and then came back here to check in later in the afternoon. We selected this hotel for the free breakfast, free wifi and parking but most of all we could bring our little yorkie dog. Upon our arrival we were shown to our room in the Embarcadero building. The property is very pet friendly as is most of downtown Napa. Most of the restaurants we went to we sat outside and our dog could sit with us. On the other hand in our papers we received at check in - it said we couldn't leave the dog in the room unattended or it would cost $200.00. So even though we had a crate we couldn't leave her in our room. If your dog can be crated it should be allowed to stay in the room for a brief period of time. The room was pleasant and you could tell it was an older property but we didn't mind and the Keurig in the room made great coffee. Additional coffee was in the lobby and all you had to do was stop by if you wanted more. The front desk staff was very nice. The wine and cheese reception on Friday night was also a very nice touch. They deliver breakfast to your room and they only come close to the time that you write on the door tag - do not expect the earlier time. The breakfast was okay but the danish was the best part of the breakfast. At the hotel we did a wine tasting at the Napa general store and we ate at the restaurant next door. We had a wonderful dessert with some dessert wine. It was so good. As well we were close to everything downtown, lots of restaurants and bars. You do have to drive to any wineries that you want to visit - there are a quite a few that are close. We did visit back door wines and had a very nice time there as well. I would recommend this hotel if you go to it with general expectations. It is not a new property but provides just the right ambience for those who can understand it is not a chain property. One final note...there are streets surrounding the hotel where you can walk the dog. It is right across from the public library and down the street from the police station.

Room Tip: Embarcadero Building is the best location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA
Address: 500 Main Street, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#7 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa!Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country.Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Amex, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.