We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill to your Saves list
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Main Street, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Harvest in Wine Country
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Napa River Inn is well appointed and well located, overlooking the Napa River. The service was excellent, and this was a perfect place to spend a few days away from it all. It's in the downtown Napa area, and you can walk to good restaurants and shops, including the Marketplace on 1st St. Parking is included, free wifi, breakfast is included, along with a wine tasting nearby. Our room was lovely, a comfortable bed, excellent amenities, and turn-down service. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    254
    54
    36
    13
See reviews for
91
569
24
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Prompted by a Living Social voucher (great deal), we changed our NoCal itinerary to stay here for 2 nights. This was our first time staying in Downtown Napa, and we loved being able to walk to restaurants, bars, shops, etc. The property itself is lovely, although we were in the out-building (I forgot the name) which was also very nice. Our room had a fireplace, river view, and shared balcony; comfortable bedding and overall just very cozy. The staff was professional and friendly, and the breakfasts were pretty good - and substantial, which was really important before a day of wine!

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This was our first overnight stay in napa for my husband and I. It was a great experience staying here. It felt like a bed and breakfast private and relaxing. The lobby was beautiful staff was so helpful parking is free and easy and the location of the hotel is perfect and easy to find. Our room had a fireplace balcony and nice amenities such as organic shampoos conditioners and lotion free waters and free hot breakfast and pastries for 2 with free room service delivery! Good value for what we received! The sweetie pie bakery is great and there are also little shops to visit with chocolate frozen yogurt and a gift shop! Walking distance to downtown napa with a choice of great selections of places to eat and shop. Also right around the corner from the napa valley wine train depot! What more can u ask for? Stay here!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was our second trip to Napa and Napa River Inn. It is a quaint hotel in a great location. The rooms have tons of charm. We just moved to San Jose so it makes it a great getaway for the family... We had dinner on the wine train for Thanksgiving and they provided a shuttle to and from even though it was walking distance. Great accommodations and location. Definitely a must... Stephanie Killingsworth happened to help us both times and she was amazing...

Room Tip: If you do not need 2 beds, stay in a room with a fireplace. Feels like a real bed and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was the second stop in our CA Trip. The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is very convenient to all the resturants and shopping. The room was charming with fireplace and nice view of the riverwalk. Great little bakery next door. Very friendly people in Napa, made us feel like faimly. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at the Napa River inn in Nov. Special thanks to Laurie (concierge) who we talked with prior to our arrival. She had everything set for us so we had a great stay. Room was great, Breakfast at Sweetie Pies was great. If I had to list a negative its if you are staying more than a couple of days than a second breakfast option would be nice. Inn's location is great easy to get to all of Napa from there and right on the Riverwalk. I would stay there again and have recommended it to others.

Room Tip: they have several room sizes ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Drove to Napa as a stopover on the way to SF for a family Thanksgiving.
Took a chance (no reservations). This place looked cute, and on the trendy Riverwalk. We were pleasantly surprised that they offered a $229 room for $179 and included parking and breakfast.
room has a brick wal, fireplace,a d ohhhh so comfy bed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 27 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
8.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
8.9 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Address: 500 Main Street, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa!Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country.Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.