We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill to your Saves list
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Main Street, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner's On Us
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Belton, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Napa River Inn is amazing! Our check-in experience was smooth; front desk staff was knowledgable about the town and sights for us to see. Extremely accomodating in all ways. Breakfast delivery to the room was wonderful! Beautifully landscaped, awesome courtyard to relax in. Everything was clean and well taken care of! If I ever get the chance to visit Napa again, Napa River Inn is where I'll be staying!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    219
    50
    34
    13
See reviews for
70
500
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emigsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had the opportunity to visit Napa, a beautiful small town set in the Napa Valley's beautiful wine country. I was very fortunate to be able to stay at the Napa River Inn. This hotel is really beautiful. The outside is in an old agricultural center that has been converted into a group of chic businesses and restuarants. I loved the room and which overlooked the Napa River and a beautiful courtyard. The entire town is like something from a magazine and this hotel is right in the middle of everything. If youre heading to Napa, book this hotel for a great stay.

Room Tip: I think they are all great and I hear some are even haunted!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Tammi Mazziliano was the "go-to-gal" for coordinating a fairly extensive list of itinerary items for a group stay. Restaurant reservations, winery tours transportation and various guest requests were handled in a personable and professional manner. She did some productive negotiations with Beau Wine Tours that resulted in great transportation for the entire visit. We "shopped" several properties before selecting "NRI" for our reunion. Prices in Napa were fairly comparable, but the ambiance of the "NRI" rooms and surroundings made the choice an easy one. Each and every staff member, over a five-day visit, repeatedly showed our group great hospitality and extra effort to attend to any request. From this experience, I'd say if someone can't be happy here, they're unlikely to be pleased anywhere else either. This is the perfect base of operations to spend time exploring wine country. Thanks "NRI" for making a 45-year reunion a most fulfilling one.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms in the Embarcadero building... quiet and really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Laurie Gordon, the chef concierge and member of les clefs d'or, made our stay at the NRI a dream come true. We have never had such attentive assistance in booking a holiday. She made us feel like VIPs but at the same time like friends. The hotel was spotless, beds were the best we've seen, and the NRI is part of a complex that includes a fresh pastries shop, a homemade candy shop, a jazz wine bar, a general store (including a restaurant) and a wonderful French restaurant...the NRI is in downtown Napa, so walking to wine bars for tastings is very convenient (and Laurie helped out with free vouchers. The setting on the river is beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is great choice for people who want to enjoy the old town of Napa itself. Convenient, but just off the main highway drag, the Inn gives travelers a nice option for something that still feels quiet and secluded while still being right in town. Since it is against a riverbend, you don't lose the quaintness and beauty of the area. The riverwalk, though short, is a great way to start and end a morning run, and many great shops and restaurants are in walking distance for during the day (Morimotos is right next door!). The on-site bakery and sandwich shop is an evil temptress. The layout of the hotel includes a couple different buildings; I have stayed a few different times and prefer the Embarcadero building. The hotel and room décor is traditional and nothing special, but everything is comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for the Embarcadero Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Napa River Inn is completely worth the price. It is located right downtown and is within walking distance to so many great restaurants and shops. The staff was very friendly and helpful every time. I would highly recommend this hotel when planning out a wine weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is one of our favorite places to stay in downtown Napa! The room was gorgeous, the people were very friendly. Breakfast was delicious and served right on time. I felt like I wanted to spend time just enjoying the room and the grounds - you don't want to leave and look forward to coming back to this hotel! The superior room made our anniversary that much more special! The fireplace and bed made me so cozy!

Room Tip: We have stayed here twice. Once in a standard room & this last time in a superior room. While...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Address: 500 Main Street, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa!Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country.Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.