We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK spot for a cheap stay in Napa.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wine Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Wine Valley Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   200 S Coombs, Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK spot for a cheap stay in Napa.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night at Wine Valley Lodge in April 2015 and it was fine. It's a motel style place that's pretty outdated and not in a very happening area. The rooms were clean but old. The pillows were pretty flat and the Wifi was fairly slow. But all in all we got good sleep after a day wine tasting and it was fine since we weren't hanging out at the hotel much. It was also very cheap to stay here so we can't complain much. It's not the place if you're looking for a great hotel experience or if you plan to hang out, use the pool, etc. But if you're just looking for a place to crash while in Napa and you're on a budget, this place works.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    202
    92
    15
    16
See reviews for
44
208
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Oh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Older property where you park outside your door and the rooms are on the exterior with pool and siting are in the inside or parting area. Rooms have updated, but very dark due to lack of lighting and decor choice. Very basic breakfast bar. Easy to drive into downtown Napa and into wine country. Value allowed us to spend more on food and wine.

Room Tip: numbers 30-45 has less traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had 3 rooms booked at the Wine Valley Lodge in Napa for today, April 26. My husband had a violent attack of the Neurovirus yesterday. Violent vomiting and diarrhea. We were in Urgent Care for hours last night. I called the Wine Valley Lodge last night and the nasty woman at the desk said she would only refund one room. My cousin and her husband were staying with us. They went home because they were scared that they might get it. We couldn't go to Napa to stay at the Wine Valley Lodge today because he needs to lay low for 48 hours (It's the Cruise Ship disease) he's still suffering. My cousins don't want to go because they don't want to be in the wine country and come down with this illness or give it to other people. The short of the story is that one couple that wasn't with us are going to stay there today. They won't refund for 2 rooms. Trip Advisor tried to get our money back so It's not them. I would never stay there! From some of the reviews, I can see that it's a dirty dump anyway.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Realize that this is an old motel, but it is well maintained and very reasonably priced. About 2 miles from downtown, but an easy drive. Quiet, clean and safe. Decent breakfast in the morning. Staff very helpful. For the price it was well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
446 helpful votes 446 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in Wine Valley Lodge outside Napa during a 3 day visit to the area in April 2015. As we booked a bit late the hotels were getting pretty expensive so we decided to go for a hotel located a bit outside the city center. We had a rental car with a GPS so finding the lodge was not difficult at all. The check it was fast, we got the password for the wifi that was complimentary and got room 35. The hotel is like an old school motel with the rooms in a U shape with parking in front of the rooms and a pool in the middle.

The room was a bit dated with darkish pink colored walls and an ugly blanket on the bed. The bed was decent in size and the pillows were OK. But I’m not sure that I understand the blanket thing – I’m used to a decent duvet covered in a bed sheet and I don’t really like the three layered blanket version of it. The room was not very well lit and there was no reading light. There was a new flat screen TV, a microwave oven, a small desk and a chair and a fridge that contained two bottles of complimentary water. The aircon in the room was a bit noisy but at least it provided some heat as it was still a bit cold in the mornings and afternoons. I would have liked to see a safe in the room.

The bathroom had the same colors on the walls as the main room and tiles on the floor. The amenities were OK and included some soap and shampoo and the shower had hot water.
Breakfast was next to the lobby – it was a help yourself kind of breakfast and it included some fruit, cereal, yogurt, pre-packed sandwiches and a coffee machine. It was not very impressive to be honest and we chose to have breakfast at Starbucks or similar the following days to get some proper oats.

The location of the hotel is good enough if you have a car – it only takes like 5 minutes to drive to Napa. But it was a bit too far to walk at night but it was easy to get a taxi to drive us to Napa.

All in all this is a motel style lodge and we got just what we expected really. It is not a place that I want to recommend for a romantic honeymoon but if you just want some cheap accommodation while visiting Napa this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you book with this hotel, you'll be sent to another site called Hotelclick. There you will see that you've actually booked a three star hotel, not a four as it's represented on Trip Advisor. I cancelled the res. immediately when i saw this, and booked another hotel. However, the cancelation did not go through. When i realized this, the night of the trip, and called them. Tthey were completely unhelpful. Saying their hands were tied. The Hotelclick service contacted them, they refused to give a refund. Obviously their hands were just busy grabbing on to my money. Just the kind of ungenial, frigid behavior that gives a destination a bad name.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thought I had booked a hotel in the cente of the wineries in Napa but turned out to be in the back end of Napa town overlooking the flyover. Motel fine though. Clean and comfy bed. $6 taxi to downtown with restaurants and bars. Not sure how impressed UK visitors were! Continental, help yourself breakfast better than some motels but no coffee/tea making facilities in room which was unusual/bad.

Room Tip: It's a motel! You get what you drive up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wine Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Lodge

Address: 200 S Coombs, Napa, CA 94559
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Napa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wine Valley Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Wine Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Hotel Napa
Wine Valley Motel
Wine Valley Lodge Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.