We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Back in Time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Valley Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wine Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wine Valley Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   200 S Coombs, Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 25 hotels in Napa
Oak Park, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Going Back in Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I spent one night at the Wine Valley Lodge this week. I booked via Hotels.com, and the photo and description did not look like what we saw when we arrived. The Lodge is a u-shaped motel from the 1940's or 50's, with about 30 units. The rooms are small and somewhat upgraded from those times, but not much. Our bathroom had not been redone in decades. There is a pool in the middle of the parking lot and a sitting area where people smoke - there are ashtrays outside of every room.
I would say that the Lodge is OK, but only for those who do not mind fairly minimal accommodations, a poor continental breakfast, and being located in a run-down section of Napa (lots of roofing companies share the street). The staff was nice, but they don't have a lot to work with.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    165
    74
    15
    10
See reviews for
34
163
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed at Wine Valley Lodge for a wedding two weeks ago. You won't get "luxury" here, but you will get updated, clean rooms, comfy beds and friendly staff in a great location. The rooms are small (somewhat motel-style), but you have all the space you need. We stayed three nights and seemed to be centrally located in relation to everything. There are many department stores and food options just over the bridge and a CVS walking distance. The staff at the front desk was always very friendly and helpful. There was a pool, but we didn't get the chance to use it.

Also, the free Continental breakfast offerings are actually pretty good. Plenty of bananas, bagels, coffee machine, yogurt. They even had Jimmy Dean frozen breakfast sandwiches available to microwave.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we return to Napa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My family stayed there July 20 to July 21, 2013. I wanted to thank the
> staff for being so kind and accommodating. My husband, 6 year old son
> (autistic) and I were coming to Napa, from about 5 hours away; for a
> concert that night (my son's favorite group). I called and talked to Judy
> about an earlier check in. I explained that we were hoping to get there,
> swim and have my son take a rest before our fun night of music. She said
> that she would be off that day, but would leave a note. On Saturday
> morning, I spoke to Elizabeth and she said that it was no problem. We
> actually arrived at 2:30pm (late, thanks to road work). but Elizabeth had
> a room ready and gave us easy directions to the concert.
>
> Elizabeth was very sweet to my son. A couple times he went into the
> office to talk to her and ask her questions.
>
> The continental breakfast was really great too.
>
> Thanks for a great and comfortable stay and we hope to visit you again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

After a late flight we arrived at the Wine Valley Lodge very late and were cheerfully greeted by a bright eyed and welcoming young clerk. This motel is a great alternative to the mega-hotel chains that take all the character out of traveling. Good value. Tidy property.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was the best place that my husband and I stayed in while we were in California. The lady at the desk was so accommodating in helping us get a map of the area and all the vineyards to see and where to eat. The room was spectacular and the pool was lovely and free breakfast. You could tell it had been recently renovated with modern taps and décor. We found it very affordable and didn't have to pay for parking like we did in San Fran.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Continental breakfast was OK, compared to many other hotels in California. Free parking and Wifi and a small pool. Easy access with car and about 10 minutes walk to downtown. CVS (shop) was just across the street.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 21, but I do not think there are any major difference between the romms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

After reading reviews on this site, my wife and I were somewhat disappointed by this accommodation. The front desk staff varied from extremely helpful to completely disinterested. I'm sure they know who's who from this description!
The rooms themselves were fairly clean, although a bit tired and dated in terms of decor. There were no tea or coffee making facilities, or guest laundry. The breakfast room offers a cut price low maintenance approach, with disposable cutlery, and a self service coffee machine which did not work properly the first time we visited. The drainpipe adjacent to reception was broken and looked a bit shabby. The swimming pool looks beautiful on their web site, but, although it is clean, tidy, and well maintained, it is in the middle of the car lot, and bathers are only partially shielded from public view as residents arrive and leave in their vehicles, or sit outside their rooms for a smoke. Every room has a chair and an ashtray outside the door for smokers. The rooms are air conditioned but some of the a/c units are old and a bit noisy.

On the plus side, this lodge, being tucked away in a corner of the town, is quiet at night. My bed was extremely comfortable with lots of soft pillows. Also, the hotel is within 5 minutes walk of some decent restaurants.

If the owners put a kettle in each room, and made available a washing machine with dryer, this would be much better service to their customers.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near breakfast bar and reception if you don't like noise. Check out the air conditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wine Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Lodge

Address: 200 S Coombs, Napa, CA 94559
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Napa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wine Valley Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wine Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Hotel Napa
Wine Valley Motel
Wine Valley Lodge Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.