We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“napa on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Valley Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wine Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wine Valley Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   200 S Coombs, Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 27 hotels in Napa
Westlake Village, Ca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“napa on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

quiet location away from main thoroufares
motel is well located from restaurants and wineries
motel has small rooms but clean
a very good deal in Napa
will come back
helpful staff especially for Wi-Fi connections

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    168
    76
    15
    10
See reviews for
37
168
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

$90 on a Sunday night, A very reasonable price, nice clean rooms, big pool, classic Spanish clay roof, U shaped buildings surrounding the pool area. At least 60 years old and still in great shape with excellent gardening-blooming rosebushes well trimmed?-Just a great classic feel. the staff repeatedly went out of the way to make sure I was happy. we had four rooms altogether and everyone was very pleased with the overall experience. The continental breakfast was weak, but had fresh fruit, yogurt, mini bagels, and re-heatable sausage sandwiches, and brewed on demand coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Trip Advisor helped us find this motel as the closest available "one night stay" in proximity to where our daughter needed help moving to. All we needed was two comfortable Queen beds, a clean bathroom, coffee and a quick bite in the morning. Most affordable places in the area were either already booked or required a two night minimum for just the one week time frame used searching. I wasn't expecting the Ritz experience, so we were not disappointed. It was nice to have a small refrigerator in our room #24 at the end of the U shaped property....close to the freeway. We had no problem or delay checking in with the very courteous front desk young lady, who provided me with wifi connection information in our late afternoon arrival. She let us know about the evenings downtown street fair event that takes place every Thursday, which we did attend and found a good place to grab a bite to eat @ "Downtown Joe's". We also needed to find a mattress store, which ended up being just a couple of blocks away from the motel...."Mathews Mattresses" where we were able to help our daughter select the perfect set up for the next morning delivery. Our room was clean and fairly spacious. There was a little basket of amenities in the bathroom and free bottles of water in the refrigerator. Only downside was the very old television set did not work, but with our late night return, we were too tired to watch it anyway. The floors were really "creaky" as we walked about....as was the neighboring rooms....but felt lucky to not be sleep interrupted by other guests. The very small breakfast room offered a nice selection of coffee, juices, basket of fruit; bananas, apples and oranges. A small variety of cold cereals are offered as well as bagels, cream cheese, jellies, toast and small individually wrapped pastries. A friendly lady on staff was very pleasant while checking to refurnish supplies and cleaning up messes left by inconsiderate guests. There is a small outdoor swimming pool in the center of the property that appeared to be kept up fairly decent. All in all, we found the $148.19 to be very fair pricing for a clean, comfortable overnight stay. I especially liked the wrapped-sealed plastic glasses and neatly stacked clean linens. This shows consideration in my book, as you don't have to worry so much about previous glass use or what's been used to wipe them with....a small phobia worth mentioning. We felt safe in the area I was first a little unsure about. I will probably re-book again for future visits to see our daughter in a cute residential area a few blocks away.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I travelled to Napa with my family and unexpectedly got lost. In the other hand, when we arrived at The Wine Valley Lodge we arrived with an expectation to be disappointed with this motel being the only lodging place with vacancy and we were so glad we were wrong!

This private family own motel has great amenities. They offered bottled water, complimentary continental breakfast, wireless Internet access and parking. Although, I hate to admit the quality of the beds were quite nice, and all at an affordable cost, yet in an ideal location. The Wine Valley Lodge location was in a residential area minutes from the vineyards, wineries, and walking distance to downtown Napa.

The staff that we encounter was sincerely interested in making us feel welcome.

I have never stayed at a lovelier motel! The pool is tiny, but still, there is one.

Room Tip: No Gym on site, but you can always go for a run in the neighbor hood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at the Wine Valley Lodge for two nights during our visit to Napa. Bottlerocknapa brought us to town for a weekend of music. The Lodge is located about a mile and a half from the expo grounds and was an easy walk to the event. On our arrival and first impression of the place was "wow". Very friendly receptionist and beautiful and clean grounds. Checking in was a breeze, then onto the room which was perfect for what we needed for the weekend. The pool looked inviting but we didn't give it a splash, maybe next time. On returning to the room after listening to the music of different acts at Bottlerock all day and into the night, my wife went to open a bottle of wine and discovered that I had not packed a corkscrew (funny how that works) so after calming her down a bit I said I would find her a corkscrew. My first stop was the front desk. Eureka! The same person that checked us in was still on duty and said not to worry that she had one to loan us, and just leave it in the room and room service will pick it up after we check out. Thank you very much. The only reason I rated the lodge a 4 out of 5 was because of the breakfast. The breakfast area was very clean and had the normal array of pastries, cereal, and hot drinks, except oatmeal. There were signs posted everywhere stating "don't dump oatmeal in sink, don't do this with oatmeal, don't do that with oatmeal," etc. But no sign of oatmeal anywhere. I asked the morning staff person about it, and her answer was "I don't know but they stopped delivering it a couple of weeks ago". Ok so we skip breakfast until we get to town. At the end of the day the Wine Valley Lodge is a clean and very reasonable place to stay while in Napa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

In helping a family member move, we needed a place to park a pickup and trailer. Napa hotels are generally not friendly towards this vehicle configuration, so we chose the Wine Valley Lodge.

Having lived in Napa in the past, I was familiar with this older facility (it was here in 1971). We stayed on the south side, which is the "renovated" section. Paint, carpet and new tile in the shower, but still the old, Non-HD TV with limited channels. CNN and Bloomberg were the only cable news channels.

The free WiFi had to be rebooted a few times and was generally unreliable. So with limited TV, one cannot even watch Netflix on the laptop/iPad. Calling the office in order to resolve the problem seemed like an imposition on the part of the person answering the phone.

The air conditioner is under the window. It wasn't as noisy as some, but it was just two feet away from the bed, so we slept in a draft.

All in all, not worth the $100 bill (including 14% Napa tax) to stay here again. I'll drive a few miles down the road for a better value and to avoid the traffic and plethora of uncoordinated stoplights that has become Napa valley.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We chose this hotel for our one night stay at Napa. We read many good reviews and realized the same during our stay. The lodge is very conveniently located, near to the main road and just couple of blocks away from many restaurants. We checked in at around 10 pm and the person at the reception was very helpful. The room was very spacious and nice. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was excellent, much better than what you get in motels, with fresh fruits and yogurt. The lady at the reception in the morning was very knowledgeable about the place, she gave some excellent tips about some best winery ad also gave us coupons. I would highly recommend this lodge for anyone visiting Napa valley.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wine Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Lodge

Address: 200 S Coombs, Napa, CA 94559
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Napa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wine Valley Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wine Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Hotel Napa
Wine Valley Motel
Wine Valley Lodge Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.