We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Napa Valley value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4195 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Napa
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Napa Valley value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We are retired Bay Area locals who travel all over Northern CA every month. We've tried many mid-priced hotels in the Wine Cty and most are barely adequate. The BW Premier Ivy has been recently remodeled and the rooms are well-decorated, clean and comfortable. We were surprised how quiet it was (barring the usual corridor noise, which almost every hotel below 5-star suffers from). Excellent location for traveling up and down Hwy 29 to all wineries/restaurants in the Valley. About 4 miles from downtown Napa. We had an excellent wireless connection and customer service was fine. For maximum quiet get a room that does not face the pool.

Room Tip: For maximum quiet ask for a room not facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    201
    96
    34
    26
See reviews for
81
259
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
austin, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

no light bulbs, locked safe. minnium tv receiption, no response to complaints for three days. called the desk and person that came did not fix TV ,said he would call back. never happened / Went to front desk and reported problems , nothing fixed . At check out , only "so sorry"

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Ivy is a very clean hotel. The rooms are on the smallish side but nicely put together. The interior lighting is poor, recommend bringing your own lighting for makeup application. Average breakfast area, decent food ,not enough dining space. The heating/cooling system needed repair and the in room safe was fixed once and then broke again.Hotel is not dog friendly. On the good side, the price paid was fair for the area. Shop the various web sites for the best price. I would stay here again, if not traveling with my dog.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here with my mom for a 2 night Napa visit. We enjoyed our room very much. The beds were comfortable, the room clean. Everything in our room worked well. TV and WIFI were the same as most hotels. The breakfast area was very nice and we actually enjoyed our breakfasts. Parking was adequate. It was a good deal for the Napa area, so we were very surprised how nice the hotel and room was. My mom was impressed and she is much more difficult to satisfy than I am.

Keep in mind that when you read reviews of Napa and Sonoma and people complain about the prices you must consider that even Motel 6 is "expensive" in this area. There are no cheap lodgings, so get past that idea and you will be well satisfied with this hotel.

Warning about the weather in late February/ early March: One day it was sunny, in the 60's and light breeze, the next day it was 40's, cold, windy, thunder and lightning and rain, and actually hailed! This is off-off season, so don't expect it be as pretty as the photos you usually see of this area. My mother was disappointed a bit because there is nothing on the vine so the beauty of the area was diminished. Good news is that it is always the same on the INSIDE of the wineries and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternivyhotel, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear emomshart,
Thank you for the great review! I am sure fellow travelers would appreciate the tips regarding the hotel and the area you have provided. Glad that you and your mom enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you'll be back during the peak season.
Sincerely,
Ivy Hotel Napa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, B.C.
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I normally stay at the Hilton Garden Inn and I thought I would try the Best Western Plus down the road. My next trip to Napa will be back at the Hilton Garden Inn.

The best thing about it was the price/value. It was something like $130/night. Very reasonable for Napa. However, as the old saying goes, you get what you pay for. The room was clean and everything - almost too clean. There was a very strong disinfectant smell in my room that almost made my eyes water. The other thing was the noise from above and beside - the walls were too thin. Lastly, the breakfast sucked.

Anyway, I am probably being a bit hard on them and many others would probably like this hotel. However, for an extra few bucks, the next time I am staying at the Hilton Garden Inn down the road.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Banos, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here at the Ivy Inn. The room was very nice. It's location was good for the things we wanted to do. We were given a voucher by our kids for a one night stay and we paid for an additional night. We would most likely consider staying here again if we return to Napa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I have just returned from a 2-night stay at this hotel. What a disappointment! It is clean….but beyond that, it does not have much to recommend.

We were unable to get two of the lights to work in our room, unfortunately, one of these being the lighting directly above the mirror over the sink, which is outside of the bath. After the first morning of getting ready in the dimly lit area, accomplished by leaving the bathroom door open, we reported the problem to the front desk. We were informed that the maintenance people did not arrive on site until 9:00am. We returned from a full day of activities to discover that the lighting problems had not been repaired. There had been no attempt to contact us, assign us to another room or notify us. When I reported this to the desk staff that evening, the night clerk was not even aware of the problem with our room. He did offer to change our rooms, but at that point we were already dressed for bed. The nonchalant, ambivalent manner in which this was handled was certainly unimpressive and, in a business, where competition is keen, one would expect better.

Breakfasts were average. The scrambled eggs appeared to be powdered. One morning there was a waffle maker, but the next morning there wasn't. We have stayed in nicer in the area for the same price.

Room Tip: The plan for the room is that the sink and the dressing area open to the sleeping area which means i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternivyhotel, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Carol C,
Thank you for taking out the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your comments. Please accept our sincere apologies for failing to fix the light in the room. We take any guest issue with utmost importance and assure you that this won't reoccur. We hope that you give us another chance to show the hospitality we have to offer.
Regards,
Ivy Hotel Napa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa

Address: 4195 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatically poised entering Napa Valley's famous wine region and hot springs, the Best Western Ivy Hotel Napa Valley is an opulent avant-garde boutique hotel. The Ivy is an oasis to relax, reflect and rejuvenate. Enjoy a breakfast buffet and morning or evening swim in our year round heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel Napa
The Chateau Hotel
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.