We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad for the price you pay in the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4195 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not too bad for the price you pay in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spent two nights here. Slightly off the main attractions from Napa area, but we all drive a rental car to go up there so no issue commuting in-n-out of the hotel. Staff were nice and greeted us almost every time we walked by the front desk. Some staff were concentrating too much on their PC screen as if they're playing games on the PC... would prefer some smile to each guest walking by.

I didn't have any breakfast at the hotel so no comment for that. However, the place was always packed in the morning. Must be okay.

Room is a bit outdated but clean. Extremely huge bed with the height that seems to have been built for those who are 6 feet and taller. The bed was a bit noisy, but the sheets were clean and changed every day. Nothing bad to comment here. Given the size of the bed, the space between the bed and the side table was a bit too narrow... Don't really need that huge side table unless people want to display the entire collection of wine bottles they have purchased during their stay. :-)

I asked for a quiet room and they placed me on the 2nd floor, which was indeed quiet. However, the distance was a bit too far from the elevator and the ice machine. Given the sheer size of the hotel, I assume there is not much they can do about this.

If you have no issue with your own transportation and save some money for the wines, I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor far from the elevator if you need tranquility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    180
    84
    30
    25
See reviews for
72
233
14
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, Cambodia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We are use to staying in downtown Napa. This hotel is a litlle off the beaten path but right off of Hwy 29. Rooms were very clean, and VERY,VERY Comfortable bed and pillows. No resturant but the breakfast was very well done. Resturant next door was very good. And there is a small market one block up. And the wine tasting at Happy Hour during the week was a nice added touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodinville, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hotels are not cheap in the Napa are, but this one seems to be the best value. Spend the savings on more wine. Rooms are quiet and clean. Breakfast is included and handy if you just want to roll and go, but there are lots of place to get real breakfasts. Costco members can get the Best Western discount with your membership. Use your Costco membership to get great deals on car rental... more money to spend on wine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Well the title really says it all. The hotel in and of itself is fine ( it is a BW afterall). The rooms were pleasant and clean (if not noisy). The beds are a little bouncy, and are likely from the 90's, but not a bad call in Napa for the rice.

The real issue is that they charge guests credit cards without regard for policy. Be aware, that you may have some false charges on your card, and you will have to be very careful and diligent to look for these.

The mngmt is unhelpful, and argumentative - so no use (Shane and Jacob were both extremely unhelpful and provided no recourse or resolution) Not to mention making my wife cry.


If you have options, go somewhere else. If you ust stay here .........
Again - pay cash!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The staff was extremely nice when we checked in. I asked for a quiet room, and he gave me a corner room on the 2nd floor. The free breakfast was terrible. There was a mexican restaurant near the hotel, try the recommendation on the menu with !!!.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great value for what you get. Nice breakfast buffet and lovely décor. I highly recommend it! Location nice as well including the hotel staff. One of the breakfast workers went in the back to bring out the coffee after the buffet closed down. He saved the day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel after roughly about a year. We just checked out 9/19/2013.

Hotel itself: The hotel is still an old hotel. It is showing it's age even more. It seems that ownership isn't reinvesting back into the hotel. We noticed a lot of broken and damaged stuff that wasn't repaired (door handles, doors that don't close, broken garbage cans, etc.). The hotel hallways still have that "old hotel funky" smell. They did add a scent machine in the lobby, maybe they need to make the investment and add it to the rest of the hotel. No exterior trash cans, only when you go into the hallway. In the mornings we found litter around the parking lot areas, I guess I wasn't the only person who couldn't find a trash can. I actually took mine back to my room .

Pool & Hot Tub: Pool area was clean with trash. The water was clear both in the pool and hot tub. I never use hotel pools, a big petri dish in my opinion. The entry gates were rusted over. The furniture looks nothing like what they do in the pictures. Most of the lounge chairs were broken and had no cushions. The furniture looked pretty beat up and didn't give the "Premiere" look.

Rooms: They were ok (very important to me). I always check for bed bugs and the room I had didn't have any. The furniture had a lot of nicks and gauges around the edges, made it felt cheap. Bathroom was clean and free of hairs and reminiscence of previous guest. Now the HVAC (or known as PTAC unit) had an energy management feature installed. So without movement our room was not comfortable. We turned the temp really down and by morning our room had warmed up again. The sheets were clean when we checked in, but were NEVER CHANGED during our 4 night stay. I can understand skipping a day, but four days is too long.Room was vacuumed in the main areas, but the edges of the room had dust and behind the nightstand there was garbage. The plumbing was messed up. Our sink never draining and after mentioning it to the staff nothing was done during our four night stay. The tub stopper was broken and just sitting on the wall mounted soap dish when we checked in. The bathroom had the smell of sewage every morning. I also found ripped wallpaper throughout the room. Also a very interesting were the holes in the bathroom walls from when they tried mounting the robe hook to a wall stud. Just made the room feel cheap.

Free Internet: This was by far the worst free internet service among any mid level hotel I've ever stayed at. Every page took forever, and this was confirmed even on my iPhone using mobile basic sites. I had to switch over to my cellular data. If you can't offer decent speed, I would suggest hotels not offer WIFI for free.

Staff: This part is when things got interesting. There is a total lack of professionalism. When you ask basic questions, they just give you a yes or no answer. There is no hospitality in this staff. I left my room one night around 1 am to get something from my car and the 3rd shift guy was passed out on the wing chair next to the front desk. Breakfast attendant was not professional, breakfast items looked like they were just thrown into their holding containers. Housekeeping staff never changed our sheets during our four night stay even after requesting. Either management has gone cheap or staff really doesn't care.

Breakfast: SKIP IT. There is nothing premier about this. They had a vat of oatmeal, bruised cut fruit, two very bad looking hot items, cold cereal (3 kinds), danish (not edible), bagels, wheat & white toast, self toast waffles. The bacon literally was in a pool of grease. Egg omelets that were burnt (don't know how that could happen, because they used microwavable foods). The milk and juice were lukewarm. I don't trust lukewarm beverages, the risk is too high to get sick. Coffee was ok, but ran out and wasn't filled up. The coffee cups are paper, and they get hot (possible issue there) and they don't provide sleeves. You are forced to double cup (what a waste). Also everything was about empty around 8:30 am and the breakfast continued till 10:00 am. If it's empty whats the point to having breakfast (checkout the pics).They have so much room to improve. I've stayed at Best Western hotels that aren't Premier and I have seen better food offering. Even Hampton Inn, Holiday Inn Express, or Fairfield Inn offer better.

The bottom line is this hotel is now not worthy staying at. There are many other hotels to choose from Westin, Hilton Garden Inn, Marriott or even the Best Western Elm House (the Elm House has one tripadvisor award year after year). Skip this Premier property even if you can get it for cheap. This hotel just ruins the Best Western name.

Room Tip: Skip the hotel, if you have to stay choose a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa

Address: 4195 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatically poised entering Napa Valley's famous wine region and hot springs, the Best Western Ivy Hotel Napa Valley is an opulent avant-garde boutique hotel. The Ivy is an oasis to relax, reflect and rejuvenate. Enjoy a breakfast buffet and morning or evening swim in our year round heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel Napa
The Chateau Hotel
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.