We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed with this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4195 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very impressed with this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised during our one-night stay at the Best Western Premier Ivy in Napa. Our king room had been completely renovated with new linens, a very large bathroom, large flat screen tv, chairs and table, desk, and large closet. Our room was right near the side entrance of the hotel, so it was a bit noisy, but overall okay. The breakfast was better than expected - scrambled eggs, waffles, bagels, muffins, toast, cereals, fruit and yogurt - they ran out of sausages before we got there. The front desk clerk was very friendly when we checked in and provided some recommendations for dinner. The only downside is the location of this hotel - while it's right near the freeway for easy access, it's almost a 10 minute drive to downtown Napa. So a lovely place to stay, but you'll need to drive - not much within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    219
    112
    35
    28
See reviews for
91
282
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was not your ordinary Best Western, much more upscale. The rooms were nice and updated, very comfortable. Great bonus was breakfast was included, we had free wine tasting one night as well. Not right in town, but two bonus, one, close access to the main highway and two, walk about 5-6 blocks and you are walking through vineyards, very nice. We stayed in a 4 star in Napa last year, another chain, this was just as nice or nice and much more affordable, we will probably be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

There was very limited availability in Napa the night we were coming through. This place isn't bad, but it was overpriced.
Based on conversations with the staff before we booked, we were expecting to be within walking distance to downtown Napa, which this property is not.
The rooms are comfortable, but as other reviewers have mentioned there is a lot of noise in the rooms from the hallways, courtyard, etc.
Overall, it's not bad. Considering it was the only hotel we could find in the area for the night we were here, I can't complain too much!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were very pleased with the accommodations at this Premier Best Western. The rooms were spacious and inviting. I like that they use a comforter encased in sheets to keep the linens fresh. We especially liked that we were given a room that had a connecting door so all of us in the travel group could get together in the privacy of our rooms for wine and snacks. The granite counter top that covers the mini fridge and microwave made the perfect buffet table for us to enjoy our daily purchases. The breakfast was fresh, and the young lady who was in charge of that breakfast buffet worked untiringly meeting the needs of the guests. Whether it was to refill the juice, find a cereal of your choice, or get more fruit and oatmeal, she was on top of it. The housekeeping staff was friendly and did everything they could to make sure the guests were well taken care of. The clerks who checked us in made sure we had directions to where we were going and even helped us out with some complimentary wine tasting certificates. We never had trouble finding a parking spot and the central location was perfect for all of our day trips. This is a PREMIER Best Western indeed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The first thing you notice when you walk through this property is its dated appearance and dimly lit interior. If you are on the second floor, the floor creeks as you walk along. Our king room was spacious; mini frig would have been a plus but didn’t work. Microwave and coffee maker a plus. The best thing about this property was the value we paid per night and the proximity to Napa Valley vineyards. My favorite feature was that the hotel backs up to a residential area, and therefore I was able to get my morning run in before the start of the day. The desk receptionist kindly showed me an area map detailing a good running route through the neighborhood so I knew where I was going.

The biggest drawback is that the property is older with a wood frame (instead of steel or cement), which makes a lot of noise when you walk around on the second floor. There were some young teenagers running up and down the hall all night between rooms, and it was bothering us as well as some of the other guests. Even worse was the next morning around 6am, someone repeatedly slammed their door for about 45 minutes; I assume they were checking out. It was very loud and disruptive to say the least, and exceptionally rude and inconsiderate. Also, small bathroom area, dimly lit. Two of us could not get ready in front of the sink at the same time.

Room Tip: request a room at the back of the property, away from road noise, and on second floor as the propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel was a very old hotel that was refurbished and converted into a Best Western Premier property. The overall property was good, but it didn't feel new or newly renovated. The location is prime, and close to many vineyards. For this location it worked out well for us, because we really didn't spend much time at the hotel.

Hotel itself: This again was a older dated hotel which was refurbished and turned into a Best Western Premier property. The public areas were clean when we arrived, but the elevator was out of service our entire stay. The property is two stories, but really spread out. It was a hike from our room to the front desk, when our keys didn't work. Lighting in the outside areas were bright and made it comfortable to go back and forth to my car at night. Parking is tight on the weekends. Breakfast area is tiny and was not clean during breakfast hours. The hallways smell musty, maybe a scent delivery system might help.

Pool & Hot Tub: Were very clean during our stay. Hardly any guest were using it while we were there.

Rooms: Our room was clean. Linens and towels were spotless. The overall layout of the room made it comfortable. Decor had a retro feel to it. The bed was comfortable and the iHome clock radio made it convenient to charge our iPhones. Outlets weren't properly place throughout the rooms, we had to move furnishings around. When refurbished I think the hotel rushed it, because the towel bar, toilet paper holders and shower rod came off. We mentioned it to the front desk, who stated this was a common issue. As far as noise, we could slightly here our neighbors TV on one side and staff coming up and down the stairs on the other side. The oversized furniture made the room feel cramped, we just slept at the hotel so not a major issue. We were at the back end of the hotel, so I can't tell you about the road noise or neighborhood noise.

Free Internet: WiFi signal was strong, and it allowed you to roam from one end of the hotel to the lobby. Bandwidth was an issue in the evenings and morning when everyone was on. This is an ongoing issue with most hotel who don't good backend equipment. Problem solved with my cellular data hotspot.

Staff: The staff was great, including the GM. We spent some time to speak to him about the hotel and the area. Everyone we interacted with, were engaging and always smiled. The housekeeping staff and great, prompt and efficient. Only issue we had was with the breakfast attendant. She was too focused on her cell phone in the back, not paying attention to the empty breakfast buffet. We ended up getting breakfast in Yountville, so it was too big of an issue.

The bottom line, good hotel in an area with a lot of hotels (every brand is represented). Location was prime, and if you don't mind refurbished hotels it's a great choice especially with low rates. I've heard this hotel can get pricey, and if higher than $170 I would look for other choices.

Room Tip: Request a room that doesn't face the street. We were at the backend facing the houses, not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have very mixed feelings about this hotels.

It looks ok,. Rooms seems very nice and comfortable. Lots of space and very nice design and comfort.
But on the other hand a lot of things is falling a part. Bathroom doors did not close. Towel hangers were not mounted to the wall. Toilet paper hanger was barely hanging etc. Seems to me like no one really cares of the room quality, especially that this stuff is easy to fix.
I even had a problem to complain about it to hotel stuff since reception was always occupied and I would need to spend hours waiting until they take care of all the people waiting.

The worst thing was noise. My room was next to back exit and stairs. For entire evening and half of the night there were children and adults running around, moving in and out, playing and making terrible noise. I could not get any sleep until late night.
The same thing happens in the morning.

Breakfast was one of the most terrible experience in this place. Feed was ... there are no words but I will just say uneatable. Too many people in very small place, no place to sit, everything busy form early morning.

So even that it looks very nice at first, I was more then happy to leave the place and will never return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at the Vines
0.4 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#15 of 27 in Napa
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
1.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa

Address: 4195 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatically poised entering Napa Valley's famous wine region and hot springs, the Best Western Ivy Hotel Napa Valley is an opulent avant-garde boutique hotel. The Ivy is an oasis to relax, reflect and rejuvenate. Enjoy a breakfast buffet and morning or evening swim in our year round heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel Napa
The Chateau Hotel
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.