We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full service hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Napa Valley

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Napa Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel Napa Valley
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1075 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wine Tasting Package
Ranked #8 of 27 hotels in Napa
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Full service hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Embassy Napa is conveniently located to downtown and several vineyards. They offer a free cook to order breakfast and complimentary happy hour. The property (common area and rooms) tends to be cold most of the time. The room heaters are controlled by a central unit that only turns on when the outdoor temperature is cold so take a few sweaters and socks if visiting anytime other than June/July/August.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    330
    131
    45
    16
See reviews for
193
362
16
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

At first glance it does look like a nice upper scale quality hotel. The check-in clerks, however, are not friendly and almost seem like they don't like their job and wish they were somewhere else. We even overheard them talking negatively about guests and gossiping as we were checking in. Our room was not ready when we arrived and assumed we would not have that long of a wait, even though their check in time is late, 4 pm, we arrived at 2 pm tired from a long drive. We ended in the restaurant at the hotel and it was empty so that was nice. We ordered a sandwich and had a couple glassed of Chard. The staff there was very friendly in the restaurant area. Once we had our room, at just shy of 4 pm, we arrived to a smaller than advertised room, although clean it was decent. We retired about around 10 pm after having dinner in downtown Napa, and it was freezing out. The temperatures for Napa are cold in the fall and outside was going to be in the 30's over the weekend. We immediately tried turning on the thermostat only to discover cold air blowing out into the room. Calling the front desk resulted in them telling us they do not have their hotel system heat on. Although when you walk into the lobby at night they have a nice fire burning in the lobby fireplace and the front desk staff are all bundled in coats. That should have given me a sign that the heating system was not on in the Hotel. The front desk accomodated us with small, noisey space heaters that we had to put in spots that would attempt to keep our toes warm at night. The heaters were noisey and we had a hard time sleeping. They pulled so much electricity that they shorted out our room and we had no power. We called the front desk several times and they would take 30 minutes to turn our power back on. We both ended up waking up with terrible sore throats from being cold and showering in the morning in a bathroom that was 40 degrees was very uncomfortable. The front desk continued to insist that they will not turn on the heating system for the hotel. When checking out I again explained the terrible conditions and the power shorting out made us late for our morning appts. We ended up missing out on two appts. that we had made privately at wineries due to this terrible hotel and staff. The front desk did nothing to accomodate us on check out. I would NOT recommend this hotel for anyone who wants an enjoyable, relaxing stay in Napa. Spend the extra money and stay in Yountville or St. Helena.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynaldo Z, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Napa Valley, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I am sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues with both service and heating levels and will work with our staff to ensure this does not happen again. We regret that these issues caused an inconvenience to your trip. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Reynaldo Zertuche, Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This centrally located hotel was a great value and find. At first the rooms seemed a little basic, but having a two room suite with a microwave and refrigerator was very nice. The bed was soft but comfortable. The only down side is the walls are a bit thin. We stayed across from the pool, which was closed for the season or it could have been a problem with noise. The managers reception every evening from 5-7 was excellent with snacks and wine. Often after we had a glass of wine we would split a sandwich at the bar. The bartender was very friendly too. The grounds of this hotel are just beautiful and we found everyone to be friendly and very accommodating. The Concierge, David, spent a lot of time with us, helping us to plan some winery tours and suggesting places to dine. He was just excellent! Breakfast was delicious, made to order eggs/omelets and then the usual continental breakfast type foods. It was not very booked when we stayed there, but I could see where the egg line could get a bit long, as some other travelers have commented on. Either get there early or just be prepared to wait a bit. Everyone was so nice and the grounds were beautiful. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to downtown Napa. The fitness center is currently off site, but they are planning on renovating to add one on the premises. A great value for all that you get in the price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

stayed over the labor day weekend. motel feel. old but spacious units. convenient location right next to the highway. only minutes from downtown napa. better options in the area. includes free breakfast but decided to pass after seeing what is offered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spent a Thursday and Friday night at the property recently. When you arrive, it's not your usual Embassy Suites...you can tell it was built to be a different chain and then was converted to an ES. No matter now they are listed on the hotels website, ALL room are the same...only variance is the location on the property.

Booked an Executive Suite...came with a free bottle of wine (Salmon Creek, red) and free internet. Ho hum...Room was fine....except for the very musty smell when we opened the door the first time. Smelled like it hadn't been opened up in weeks! Lucky for me, I packed a nice, fragrant candle. The room had good cross ventilation and a ceiling fan in the sitting area so we were able to make the place smell okay.

Bathroom was small or shall I say average. Luckily, there was another sink and mirror in the room with the two beds so two of us could get ready at the same time in separate spaces. Room appeared to be semi-recently remodeled. The sofa cushions that you lean against looked tired...but the ones you sat on were nice and firm. Room had a sleeper sofa. Breakfast and managers reception were both included here. Grill29 on the property had the most fabulous smoked cheddar hamburger and fries! We ended up eating there 2 times on our trip they were soooo good!

Service persons at the hotel were all pleasant. Bellman was scarce when we arrived and we found the luggage cart and started filling it ourselves. He showed up and asked if we wanted help...said he'd been called away by another guest. Only one bellman???? Really??? We ended up taking the cart to our room by ourselves...which was our choice.

Took Friday for wine tasting. Hired a sedan to take us around to 4 different wineries. Best idea yet! 7 hours blew by in what seemed like 1 hours. Highly recommend wine tasting during the week as the crowds grow exponentially on the weekends,

Hotel also had indoor pool and hot tub...and an out door pool...not sure if it had a hot tub. We didn't swim.

Saturday we got up and went to the Napa Premium Outlets...5 min drive from hotel. Was your typical outlet mall.

Was a good trip. After much research, I felt that I got the best bang for my buck by staying at the Embassy Suites.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room in a quiet location...facing the front of the hotel is a good spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynaldo Z, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Napa Valley, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us as well as your winery tours! We appreciate your detailed feedback and will use it to make sure all of our guest rooms are fresh upon guest arrival and service is always available when guests need it. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you’re in the area. Thank you again.
Reynaldo Zertuche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel! Love the managers social hour and free breakfast. It is in a great location. Free breakfast is pretty standard although it does have made to order omelets. The hotel is very pretty- better than expected.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently remodeled, but on the cheaper side- i.e., laminate instead of real wood etc. Property is beautiful with lakes and indoor pool, meeting facilities are excellent and breakfast is excellent. Rooms not really quiet- could hear neigbhor above pounding on the floor when he walked to the bathroom in the middle of the night. No on-site fitness facility and no onsite store to buy toiletries/books/magazines etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Napa Valley

Address: 1075 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Napa
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Napa Valley 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic town of Napa, near world- renowned wineries and home to celebrity chefs, the Embassy Suites Napa Valley is a Mediterranean style property built around an interior courtyard and millpond. A three story building, this charming property offers 205 spacious suites, two swimming pools, sauna, whirlpool, gift shop, restaurant, and lounge. Complimentary full breakfast and beverage reception make this a great choice for anyone looking for hidden value in the Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Napa Valley
Napa Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Hotel Napa Valley CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Napa Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.