We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a deal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chablis Inn

Save Saved
You added Chablis Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chablis Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3360 Solano Ave., Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 25 hotels in Napa
Ventura, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Such a deal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Five stars? No, that's reserved for only those properties that make me say to myself, "Wow!" Did not feel that way with Chablis Inn and, in fact, if the motel (not hotel) was in any city other than Napa, an overall rating of '3' is plenty generous. Now, having said that, the price was so reasonable that I spent the difference buying a handful of bottles of wine on the road. I'd rather come back home with glasses half full rather than memories that are half-empty. It's a deal!

Also, my adult children (in their 20's) joined us for a rare family excursion and, thus, we paid for two rooms. Double the cost per night makes the Chablis even more of a value.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, except for the middle-aged man, who said 'tomahto' when I said 'tomato'. We did not communicate ear-to-ear, but Darcy, the young assistant, was gracious and helpful, in addition to listening to my needs with a caring ear.

Room was small, but clean and accommodating. The TV was purchased when Dan Rather was doing the CBS Evening News (or so it seems). Shower control was odd, but after a few moments of playing around with the funky knob, it worked.

Downtown Napa was very close and there is a gourmet market across the street that is simply the most wonderful little European style market you will see in the states. Starbucks is across the street and the neighborhood is quiet. Although I would rather be in downtown Napa, I found the Chablis to be very accommodating.

All in all, a smart place to stay, if you can live without 'luxurious'.

Spend the difference on a nice cabernet or chardonnay.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the food offerings across the street and save your dollars for vino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    166
    55
    16
    16
See reviews for
34
135
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California, Usa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great little hideaway for a quick weekend staycation. The front desk staff is very efficient and pleasant. Extremely clean and the nice fruity scent greets you as you walk in. The jacuzzi spa tub is huge and is in a separate little room/alcove. There are clean white towels in the spa area as well as the bathroom. Room has a mini fridge and flat screen t.v. Very comfortable room and quiet location not far from the freeway. Will definitely be back

Room Tip: Room 113 on the bottom floor in the corner with jacuzzi spa tub is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Management at the Inn are great. Very helpful and accododating! I recommend to all to stay. We will be back. You are close to the restaurants, the wineries etc.

Take a stroll to Stags leap to all the many excursions. it si agreat opportunity to share a weekend with friends, family or just a couple.

Room Tip: Close to Freeway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a nice place, nothing fancy. Across the street is a great market and it's easy on and off the highway. The management is VERY nice and came up to fix the t.v. right away when I called. The neighborhood is quiet, not much traffic on the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Very good inn, great staff, the girl at the reception helped us to find our way downtown! We had a really good price through booking.com without breakfast. This is not a problem at all because downtown is plenty of options for breakfast and it is only 5min drive.
The room was clean and spacious, the bathroom was clean too and with good shower pressure. The only bad point was the air conditioning of one of the other rooms that sounded like a tractor idling in your bed.
Overall I would recommend it and would get back there!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, British Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Well kept, clean with updated furnishings. From the outside the Chablis Inn looks like a painted Motel 6, (which is right next door), the appearance is more Motel than Inn, Inside it is a lot different, Rooms are spotless, with well appointed furnishings, Beds are comfortable. The only complaint I have about the rooms is the walls are paper thin, outside noise could be a problem. I asked if the room was available when we arrived (around 12 noon), dealt with a gentleman behind the desk, completely unhelpful, however went back 30 minutes later to ask if we could drop off luggage before heading up to the wineries, and what a difference, The young lady who was now behind the desk could not have been more pleasant and helpful, let us into the room to leave luggage. Another small complaint is the office is not open till 8:30 in the morning, a little late if you want to be on your way early in the morning and check out properly, Surely a front desk should be going from at least 7 am. But would recommend this place to others looking for reasonably priced basic accommodation in Napa

Room Tip: Second floor would be preferable with noise levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were only staying in wine country for 3-4 days. I went to booking.com to find a place that was reasonable. Let's be honest--we go to Napa and Sonoma for the wine...NOT the lodging. This place was clean, safe and surprisingly quiet. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chablis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chablis Inn

Address: 3360 Solano Ave., Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chablis Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality, Pure and Simple. Value Hotel in the Heart of the Napa Valley. Conveniently located to Wineries, Restaurants and Shopping. We offer "Green" cleaning products and natural amenities as well as upgraded linens and towels to make your stay comfortable. We have a friendly and informative staff to help you discover the gems of the Napa Valley. As a guest of the Hotel you can also relax in our year round heated pool and hot tub after a hard day of wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Chablis Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chablis Hotel Napa
Chablis Motel Napa
Chablis Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chablis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.