We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chablis Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chablis Inn to your Saves list
Chablis Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3360 Solano Ave., Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Grovetown, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great stay and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were here for 5 nights and enjoyed the time there. Great location 8-10 minutes away from downtown Napa. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and clean. We suggested to the staff that they use a couple brighter light bulbs for the canister lights, as it was pretty dark in the room, even with all the lights on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    176
    62
    18
    16
See reviews for
36
147
16
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brewerton, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

When I travel with my wife I look for a room that is clean and large enough to handle our luggage, a microwave oven, a refrigerator and a pool. The Chablis Inn satisfied all of my requirements and was in walking distance to restaurants, and a grocery store. The Inn staff was friendly and helpful. I could have paid a great deal more to stay at a Mariott or Hilton that were close by but these hotels would not provided me with any more comfort or convenience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you're looking for a nice roadside motel that's inexpensive, clean and available, this might be a place for you. Don't expect a typical Wine Country boutique inn or resort, but it's just fine for your overnight stay. Just a very short block off the highway up into the Wine Country and across the way from downtown Napa, it's clean and comfortable. There's a small pool and hot tub next to the office (with complimentary towels). Across the street is a medium size mall with a market with good food options for carry out and a Roundtable pizza. Yes, Starbucks is there, too. Recently remodeled, it's worth a second look for those on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor and away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife for two nights while on a tour. The Chablis inn was in a suitable location for winery's in the area with some other shops and amenities near by. The Chablis inn is fairly basic. The room was comfortable, clean and tidy but nothing special. It doesn't feel particularly homely, but the staff were friendly, welcoming and the housekeeper was very helpful. We didn't use the pool or hot tub, so I am unable to comment on these. The Chablis inn is a good stay at the very reasonable price. Worthy of a three star rating, no more, no less.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Who: I got a king room for myself and my fiance for her birthday weekend. Napa was packed and room rates were high so we decided to get the best room Chablis could offer with a hot tub and king bed.

What: We came up to Napa to go hot air ballooning, wine taste, eat at the nice restaurants, and hit a great spa. So i wanted to stay at a place a little more economical, BAD MOVE! Sometime on Saturday while we were gone I had a pair of brand new Beats By Dre head phones stolen off of the desk in the room! I woke up Sunday, packed in a haste and checked out. I called once I got home and unpacked. I realized the head phones were missing so I called. The desk guy Larry said he would leave a note and someone would call me in the morning. No one called - so I called back, this time a man said someone would call me once they talked to the head house keeper. Again nothing - so I called back and they said: "No head phones were found, because you left the property we cannot be sure that you did not loose the head phones along the way." So I am out of an extra $350.00!!!

Where: Room 113 Chablis Napa

When: August 24-26, 2012 Weekend

**From reading other reviews now that I am here it seems the establishment is under new ownership. A Message to them - Not Cool, Not Cool at all!

Sincerely,

Jesse W.
Walnut Creek, Ca.

Room Tip: Dont stay here - period
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChablisInnGM, Manager at Chablis Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Hello Jesse,

I truly apologize for the experience you have had with our property. I also wanted to apologize for the way in which you have been communicated with. As our staff have mentioned to you when you contacted the hotel, the item you are missing has not shown up despite a thorough search within our housekeeping department and lost and found.

These situations are difficult to handle as we can only vouch for our staff and all employees at the hotel, that they have never been, nor will they ever be in the business of stealing items from any one of our guests and that such actions would be a serious breach of trust and result in a loss of employment.

In fact, a recent review in July, on this very website, was in response to a guest receiving a valuable item that they had left in their room upon checkout. The reviewer mentioned our staff's honesty and was ever thankful for the service we were able to provide them.

I can only once again apologize for the manner in which we communicated that we could not locate your item. We will definitely use this experience to help better serve our guests in the future.

Should you item turn up, we will most definitely contact you as soon as possible.

Darcy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, ON
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My partner and I stayed 3 nights at the Chablis Inn Napa Valley on a recent trip to California. For the second time when scheduling this trip we decided to take a chance on reserving a hotel, this time it was bookit.com offering a good rate on an unnamed hotel in the city of Napa. The Chablis Inn is the hotel we were provided and we had no idea what to expect.

As we drove up to the property after a lovely drive from SF, we were surprised at how small the hotel and parking lot seemed. This is a 2-level motel style property, with what I would estimate to be about 40 rooms. We were somewhat skeptical as we walked into the office, but the owners were extremely pleasant and provided great service during our arrival and throughout our stay.

Next stop was the room. We stepped into a room that must have been twice the size of what we just left in SF, and very well appointed with a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and bathroom with tons of counter space. The Chablis Inn was definitely turning out to be better than we had anticipated.

We were too busy during the day to experience the swimming pool, but enjoyed a dip in the hot tub at night. Both are on the small side with the capacity of the hot tub in the range of 4-6 people. They are located in a very secluded and cozy corner of the property, which made the pool deck a nice place to visit at night. Pool towels are available in the office which is a nice touch.

It is conveniently located off Hwy 29 @ Redwood, which means Napa’s wine country is just minutes away. Conveniences in the immediate area are a gas station, grocery store, 7 Eleven, liquor store, and there is a pizza place right across the street.

For fellow runners, this place is a good launching spot for an early morning run. Head east (left out of the parking lot) and the service road is a 1km long uninterrupted stretch, and then you can simply head south (right) into the adjacent neighborhood and enjoy an out-and-back run of your desired distance. I even ran into 3 deer when out for a run one morning, but they were much quicker than me ;-)

The Chablis Inn was far from one of the nicest places I have stayed at over the years, but it was also much nicer than we had anticipated. The only real complaint is the early morning noise that seemed to start before 6am every morning, and must have woken many of the people staying there. Since the pedestrian walkway and parking lot are right outside the front door and window, early morning foot and vehicle traffic are likely to interrupt the soundest of sleepers. The same loud truck seemed to leave the parking lot before 6am every morning, and shortly thereafter the service road was fairly busy with morning traffic.

Would we stay here during our next trip to Napa? We didn’t absolutely love it so we will likely try another destination. Would I recommend it to someone travelling on a budget and simply looking for a nice room to crash in for the night? Sure, but beware the early morning noise, especially on the first floor! The second floor might be a better location if you are looking to sleep late.

Some additional travel tips for Napa and area …

Dining – Take some time in between winery visits to enjoy a VIP lunch at Auberge du Soleil. Enjoy some very fine cuisine while sitting outside on the balcony with a spectacular view of Napa Valley. Some other destinations to consider are Bouchon in Yountville for coffee and a pastry in the morning, Taylor’s in St Helena for a burger and shake lunch, or our favorite dinner destination the Rutherford Grill.

Healdsburg is a quaint little town with wineries, cafes, and restaurants that should be a consideration during your next trip to Napa.

Room Tip: I wasn't up there, but I assume the rooms on the second floor would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed for several nights and had a very good experience. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful. Our expectations were realistic; we did not expect luxury for the price. It is an older place, but well-maintained. The location is great, near Napa and not far from Sonoma, where we were attending a wedding. We were able to drive easily throughout the area. Reasonable restaurants were close by. Although it was in a fairly busy area, the room seemed fairly quiet. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chablis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chablis Inn

Address: 3360 Solano Ave., Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chablis Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality, Pure and Simple. Value Hotel in the Heart of the Napa Valley. Conveniently located to Wineries, Restaurants and Shopping. We offer "Green" cleaning products and natural amenities as well as upgraded linens and towels to make your stay comfortable. We have a friendly and informative staff to help you discover the gems of the Napa Valley. As a guest of the Hotel you can also relax in our year round heated pool and hot tub after a hard day of wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chablis Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chablis Hotel Napa
Chablis Motel Napa
Chablis Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chablis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.