We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Memorable Birthday Ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabernet House, an Old World Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cabernet House, an Old World Inn to your Saves list
Cabernet House, an Old World Inn
1301 Jefferson St, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Napa for $129/night !
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Napa
A TripAdvisor Member
“Most Memorable Birthday Ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

My Boyfriend took me here for my 26th birthday, and i must say, it was the best birthday i've ever had. Though he did book the room in advance, my trip included a two night stay in their Starry Night room which came with a nice small bottle of their house wine upon arrival. The room had everything to make it a cozy stay. The little touches here and there made me feel right at home. The best amenities included the private outdoor spa tub, a skylight, cute little desserts left out for you at night, and thier delicious breakfasts every morning. Russ and Sharon were wonderful hosts. If you are looking to get away for the weekend, Old World Inn is the place to stay. I definately would recommend it to others who enjoy staying at bed and breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    59
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
9
268
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2006

We stayed for 2 nights at the Old World Inn in early June - and went in expecting to relax - do the typical Napa vacation. Little did we expect that we would truly escape the day to day bustle of normal lives.

We checked in on a Thursday - and were given the grand tour by Jennifer - and were very taken aback at the little touches that the Innkeepers have included - such as the fresh baked cookies at the door - a bottle of the house wine in our room - bubble bath for the hot tub (something we always forget before leaving for vacation - and was perfect for the jacuzzi tub) - and the hooded robes!!

We were ready about an hour before dinner - and we went downstairs to check out the menus that the staff at Old World Inn have on file (such a huge benefit b/c we were able to plan our meal beforehand - and knew exactly what to expect at dinner). Jennifer was at the front desk and was incredibly helpful about the Napa area & the typical winery questions we asked. She took about 45 min of her time to give us a map - walk us through the entire Wine Region - and tell us about her favorite wineries - and which ones would fit the style we were looking for.

The remainder of our stay was amazing - and relaxing - and beyond what we were looking for - I so enjoyed my stay that I am planning on booking it for my parents wedding anniversary!

thank you Sharon, Russ & especially Jennifer for making our stay match perfection!!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2006

My wife and I just returned from a trip to Napa Valley, where we stayed at the Old World Inn. Not only did we find the accomodations to be terrific, but the inn keepers, Russ and Sharon, were incredible hosts, making us feel like part of their family. They made sure any needs we might have were seen to immediately and were tremendously helpful with turning us on to smaller local restaurants that serve delicious cuisine that we would have otherwise missed. Of course for delicious food we had to look no further than the inn where we were served gourmet breakfasts in the morning followed by cookies that were baked fresh throughout the day, and finally a savory chocolate desert at night.
The room we stayed in was beautiful, offering all the amenities we could want including a state of the art theater system at the foot of our bed and a relaxing hot tub, each being a perfect way to wind down after a full day of wine tours.
During our stay, we felt like we were truly on vacation because it was Russ and Sharon who made sure all the details of our trip were taken care of. There was nothing for us to do but to relax and enjoy ourselves. Even after our trip was done, and we had forgotten some items in our room, it was Russ and Sharon who made sure it was returned to us the next day. Both my wife and I would recommend the Old World Inn to anyone thinking about staying in Napa Valley.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

This place was incredibly nice, great hospitality (thanks, Jennifer!) and the breakfasts are to die (and maybe to kill!) for. Lovely B&B, awesome lounge, great dining room table, delicious cookies around at all hours. We unfortunately didn't get time to take part in a lot of the inter-Inn coolness (wine pouring on Friday, massages, etc;) because we were so booked with activities in and around Napa.

We stayed in two rooms, the Secret Garden and Starry Night. The latter, Starry Night, is very romantic, but also dinky-small; not really recommended, at least not for us. (Though, the plasma TV was a very nice end-of-the-night topper!) The Secret Garden room was far, far better for us (though, oddly, the projection TV wasn't really as cool as it sounds, and inferior to the plasma).

Also worth noting: the beds are like sleeping on clouds. Most comfortable beds I've ever slept in, bar none.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2006

We stayed at five B&B's during our honeymoon in northern California. By far, Old World Inn was the best in terms of hospitality, comfort, amenities (chilled complimentary local wine in our room upon arrival), and location (a block walk from historic downtown Napa and ideally located for visiting wineries in St. Helena and Calistoga). The owners and staff have a comprehensive knowledge of the area and provide superb recommendations for eateries, wineries, etc. Sharon, one of the owners, recommended the Bounty Hunter, where we dined on beer can chicken and enjoyed incredible wine and Port; Jennifer recommended Rombauer Vineyards--two non-touristy places we wouldn't have found on our own. The century-old home has much character and is beautifully preserved. Rave reviews for Walden Cottage, the one detached cottage of the Inn. A jacuzzi, fireplace, king size feather bed, and a screen that pulls down in the canopied bed to watch movies, which are available for free from the Inn's video library. The owners have almost completed building a spa / massage room in the other half of the cottage. Breakfast at 9:00 is worth getting out of bed for--gourmet frittatas, maple French toast, local fruit, and interesting conversations with fellow travelers. Stay at the Old World Inn when your travels bring you to wine country. Look for the flags from every nation framing the porch--a sign that travelers from every corner of the globe are welcome.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2006

It's nice to be pleasantly surprised when traveling to new places and The Old World Inn, located near downtown Napa, CA, was truly a wonderful surprise. Selected online and unfamiliar with what was in store, we were quietly welcomed with a wonderful wine and hors d'oeuvres pairing that allowed the travel weary honeymooners to relax in the 100-year-old inn's parlor. Entering our room we found all the amenities necessary to celebrate a new life together including a full-sized whirlpool tub and a projection TV/DVD setup that allowed us to enjoy the wonderful collection of community movies located near the inn's kitchen. The assistance provided with local dining was impeccable, and services including reservation making for local tours was an unexpected bonus. Essentially, everthing you need is taken care of. The innkeepers could not have been more accomodating and hospitable. We will surely return to the Old World Inn!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2006

April 20, 2006
Last week we had the pleasure of staying at Old World Inn, located in the "wine country" of Napa Valley. The accomodations were clean, with fresh towels and linens each day, and we didn't even have to ask for them!
The day we arrived we had been driving in the rain for hours. We were warmly greeted by Jennifer and soon forgot about the long drive. Since we hadn't been to this area in years we had lots of questions. Jennifer's recommendations were right on, and in many instances we found that she knew first hand each place she reffered us to.
Now I said that I loved the folks at Old World Inn, and that is true. However, Im not just talking about the staff. The guests here all found a special place in our hearts too. Most were celebrating anniversaries. Some had been here before. With a two course breakfast each morning we had a chance to talk with the other guests and found them to be delightful. Since some had been here multiple times they also had good insights of what would be fun to do.
In the afternoon there was wine and cheeses to sample and chocolate goodies were put out all night long! That was fun!! Worth noting too is that the breakfast was prepared by Terry. Each morning was something new and always greeted by Terry's warm smile.
During our stay there was a slight mix up with my credit card. With the help of Jennifer it was straightened out fast and with little effort on my part.
Our last morning we met Russ and Sharon, the owners. They were down to earth and took time to talk with us as we finished loading up our car. Usually they are there at the Inn, but sometimes even Inn keepers need a little time off.
If you are looking for a bed and breakfast with good food, romance, and a warm friendly staff.....Old World Inn is the place to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabernet House, an Old World Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabernet House, an Old World Inn

Address: 1301 Jefferson St, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1979 in a historic Landmark building built in 1906, Old World Inn's Cabernet House was one of the first small hotels in the Napa Valley. Choose from 8 rooms or a Private Cottage, all with fireplaces and featherbeds. Discover tips and secrets of the Napa Valley from innkeepers who are locals and love sharing their favorite spots. Enjoy a gourmet "wine taster's" breakfast each morning, come back and relax in our wine cellar at the afternoon wine reception at our sister property (Hotel Napa Valley, just one block away). Walk to dinner (choose from 50+ restaurants!), Then stroll back to find handmade chocolate nibbles waiting for you. Discover the Napa Valley from a different perspective! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cabernet House, an Old World Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old World Hotel Napa
Cabernet House, An Old World Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabernet House, an Old World Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.