We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved The Old World Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old World Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old World Inn
1301 Jefferson St, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Napa for $169-199/night !
Ranked #16 of 25 Napa B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved The Old World Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2005

The Old World Inn was great! Their motto is "like staying with friends", and that's definitely true. The Innkeepers are so friendly and helpful. It was my wife's birthday during our stay and Sharon helped make arrangements to make the day special - flowers and champagne in the room, etc. She also make reservations in advance for a limo tour, balloon ride and in-room massages - all great! The house is beautiful, and we stayed in the cottage which was clean, cute and very comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious, and so were the desserts at night. We would highly recommend the Old World Inn, and would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    91
    38
    15
    4
See reviews for
25
399
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2005

In searching the internet for a B&B to stay while in Napa a few things drew us to the Old World Inn. Great website offered pictures and information. Great recommendations made our decision a no brainer. Boy, were we in for a treat. The Innkeepers not only provide a beautiful place to lay your head but are accommodating to requests and are quick with directions, eating suggestions, maps or a phone call to a winery to make an appointment for you. They even provided a coupon for a free wine tasting at one of the wineries we inquired about. The breakfasts provide the perfect start to the day and the palate. The fresh fruit and orange juice and then on to the main course all make for a great breakfast experience!!! Further, the Innkeeper's knowledge of local bars/restaurants was exceptional and their willingness to help decide and call for reservations was awesome!!! In closing, be prepared to be taken care of. The Innkeepers take pride in making sure you have the time of your life. No question or request is met with indifference. Your request is the most important thing they have going at the time!! Thank you and we will be back. The Old World Inn is a must for Napa visitors!!!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2005

I researched many Inns throughout Napa Valley on the Internet. I narrowed my choices and started to phone the inns I though would meet our needs. Sharon spent almost an hour with me on the phone discussing each room, describing the restaurants and telling me about the wineries. I booked three nights before I ended the call. Closer to my arrival, Sharon emailed me and suggested I make reservations at local restaurants, which I did. The service before we arrived was amazing and when we arrived it was just what I expected. Both Sharon & Russ arranged personal for us based on our likes. They added to our wonderful time in Napa. Our wine country experience was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2005

We found the inn while surfing websites for Napa Valley. The on-line process for booking a room was easy and our expectations were met as soon as we drove up to the inn. Great hospitality, excellent food and a cozy place to meet and share stories at the end of the day. We will highly recommend the Old World Inn to friends traveling to Napa!

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2005

We spent 3 nights of our honeymoon at the Old World Inn and enjoyed a very wonderful stay. We had never before stayed at a B&B and the experience was unforgetable.

The Inn itself is a very charming old house in downtown Napa. The rooms are all unique and tastefully decorated. We were very fortunate to stay in Walden's cottage. The cottage is very nice and very cozy, perfect for a honeymoon stay. The 2 person spa tub is most relaxing and watching a movie on the big screen at the end of the night was quite the treat. The soft feather bed will put you to sleep in no time.

The breakfasts each day were very good and set out in an elegant style. They were filling and made you ready to start your day. We enjoyed coming back each afternoon to sample the wine, cheeses and crackers before heading out to dinner. The desserts at night were the perfect ending to a great day.

Russ and Sharon were very helpful in our stay for recomending out of the way and unique wineries to visit. Goosecross and Jarvis wineries were awesome. They were also very helpful in recommending places to eat and helped with the reservations. Mustard's Grill is a must for our return visit some day, very good food.

All told we had a wonderful stay and would gladly come back again. If you want a quaint B&B with a homey atmosphere this is a great place.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2005

My husband and I were so irritated when we arrived. The pictures are nothing like the inn photos. Our room was so small, and we had a view of a parking lot! We were there for 2 nights and on the first morning we were there, we were awaken by the people power washing their parking lot next door at 6:30AM. We had breakfast delivered to our room, but there was no place to eat it. We basically had to eat, using the bed as a table. The shower was a joke, you couldn't move in it, and the knobs were backwards... the wallpaper was peeling off the walls. We paid close to $300 per night, but then ended up having to pay $100 more for some reason. I could go on and on but I won't. Let's just say you should save your money and stay somewhere else. Don't waste your hard earned money on this dump.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Innkeeper at Old World Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2005
These guests arrived shortly after our Inn was filmed for the TV show "Trading Spaces". Working with Trading Spaces was lots of fun, but we had to promise not to publish any new photos of our Inn until after the episode had aired (it aired several weeks after these guests stayed with us). We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience, especially since these guests were unhappy with the changes they saw. To be fair, virtually all of our guests love the improvements, and we do, too!

For their two day stay, these guests initially booked a different room, then later requested an upgrade to a room with a Dolby Digital surround system, 80" Hi-Def screen, and a 2-person Jacuzzi tub. We were happy to accommodate their request, which we told them would run an extra $50 per day, plus taxes/charges. They asked us to put the additional $100+ on their charge card.

One of the most requested items by our guests is a treat called "Breakfast in Bed"-- our signature 2 course gourmet breakfast delivered hot to your room on a special bed tray. We specifically call this experience "breakfast in bed", since it's designed to be enjoyed while in bed. Had we known these guests had wanted breakfast on a table in their room (and not in bed), we would have been happy to accommodate them.

We are sorry these guests found the operation of our tub and shower unsettling. In keeping with the Old World nature of our Inn, we have Victorian style showers built inside antique cast iron claw foot tubs, with period brass piping and porcelain knobs. Many guests actually choose to stay at our Inn because we have these types of period details. As a side note, the peeling wallpaper had been repaired long before this review posted.

We recognize that the B&B experience is not for everyone. Since our Inn is a historic home, we do not have a large parking lot, hotel-sized bedrooms with multiple beds, or spacious bathrooms with large counters for toiletries. When folks call and ask what it's like to stay here, we say the experience is much like staying in a guest bedroom at a friend's house: Our rooms are small, but homey, and the overall atmosphere is very warm and friendly.

Since we have a lot of first time B&B guests, we talk about what to expect when they come for a visit, especially if they are accustomed to staying at a hotel or motel. B&Bs typically don't have some of the amenities common to hotels: We don't have valet parking, or 24 hour room service, or a bellboy to carry your bags. We welcome guests into our home, and want them to have a great time while they're here. We warn guests about local tourist traps, and draw maps for folks to route them around the wine country traffic. We recommend small, out of the way wineries and restaurants known only to locals. We call and make reservations for special meals, balloon rides, horseback rides through the vineyards, or even one-of-a-kind picnic lunches at the wineries. And each day from 5:30 to 6:30, we have a wine and cheese social in our parlor. We offered all of these items to these guests, but they declined.

Every B&B has its own charm and character. The Old World Inn is known for its friendliness and welcoming attitude. We are truly sorry these guests did not enjoy their stay.

We really want everyone that comes to Napa to have a great time. We hope that this guest's review is helpful to those who are considering the Old World Inn for a getaway. We are not a hotel, and we do not offer hotel type rooms or amenities. We are truly sorry that this guest did not have a good time. It is our most heartfelt wish that all who visit the Napa Valley are able to enjoy all that the wine country has to offer. It is a magical place.

Sincerely, Russ, Sharon, and the entire staff of the Old World Inn


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2005

Pros
Breakfast
Cozy Old home
Sitting room nice
Dining room beautiful
B&B Feel to it
Walking distance to downtown napa
DVD theatre each room (get instruction on use)
Wine tasting which does not consistently occur nightly
Nice robes and towels for use

Cons
No dresser for clothes in rooms, luggage scattered around beds
Routine maintenance (Ie loose tiles, burned out bulbs, cracked windows, blinds missing, cracks in hall walls) Lacking
parking
Spa not working
Rooms smaller then described & pictured
TV amounts to a portable 13inch TV with VCR on Cart table
Wine and Cheese as described was sparse with off label wines poured into decanters of poor quality wine
Desserts recycled daily until gone
Oversold and billed on internet
Overpriced for what you get
What its worth about $109-150/night, not a penny more
Inn keepers not available week days until late since they work other full time jobs
Not enought staff during check in
Stingy with coupons for winerys (Had to push Inn keepers to get many coupons discussed on phone before check in)
Cookie variety amounted to recycled 1x1inch size (world smallest?) Chocalate chip cookies we've ever seen. (Not baked fresh daily as far as we can tell)

Overall pleasant but lacking in the HIGH end qualities of a $200/day+ B&B they promote.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old World Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old World Inn

Address: 1301 Jefferson St, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Old World Hotel Napa
Old World Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old World Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old World Inn to your Saves list