We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabernet House, an Old World Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cabernet House, an Old World Inn to your Saves list
Cabernet House, an Old World Inn
1301 Jefferson St, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Napa for $129/night !
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

This B&B has a very central location, just a short walk to shops and restaurants. The room is fairly small, but very neat and comfortable and therefore good value. They even had wine tastings on the premises on one of the evenings we were there. The staff were fantastic during our stay. When we checked out, we had to leave before breakfast was served, so they gave us a take away breakfast pack for the road.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    59
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
9
268
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We had a great stay here. We were in the merlot house but frequented all the houses. The homemade cookies and chocolates were amazing. The wine tasting every evening was informative and good. The staff went out of their way to help us. Thank you

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VISTA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Not only is the Old World Inn charming and welcoming, it is also near the heart of downtown Napa. We had a Girls Weekend planned and were supposed to rent a condo in downtown. Then the earthquake hit and we were forced to find alternate lodging. The Old World Inn came highly recommended. We had a top floor, 2 bedroom, 1 bath suite that was just perfect for us. It was adorable, clean and very comfortable. The beds were nice and big and soft! The lobby and dining room were always available with coffee, french press, water and desserts. The breakfast was included and both days we were there, it was impeccable! The items on the menu were both delicious to look at and eat! The grounds are small, but well kept and there's plenty of room to relax by the fire pit or take a break in the rocking chairs.
The location is close enough to walk to the shops and restaurants in downtown. It is also close to the highway, for when you're ready to take those winery tours. We rented a car and there was plenty of parking, as well.
We loved our stay and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We recently stayed at this B&B and it has great accommodations. The room was nice and clean, but if you want a peaceful sleep stay on the second floor. The price was affordable and it has a front porch and patio for relaxing. The guests were very nice, but there was not much interaction with the innkeepers. Breakfast was tasty and simple. They also put out sweets for a night cap.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor. We stayed on the first floor but due to the wooden floors could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Second time staying at Old World Inn ---
Lovely older building -- tastefully decorated in an understated kind of way.
Chef prepared a different breakfast each day and not only were they delicious, but beautifully presented. Everything at this Inn runs like clockwork. Tastings from a different winery every evening, coffee (French press) available all day -- chocolate desserts are put out each evening (choc torte was spectacular).
Staff all very pleasant and helpful --- thank you, Amy, for taking such good care of us --

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

This place is perfect for a getaway. Quaint lodging, friendly staff, great breakfast. Our stay in the master cellar was perfect. Firepits lit at night. Breakfast in the am was great and the coffee was outstanding.

Room Tip: You cant go wrong with Master Cellar room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to Napa and unfortunately it was after the earthquake so many businesses were still closed. Lucky for us the Cabernet House was not one of them. The inn has lovely architecture, a great inn keeper in Patricia and comfortable beds.

We especially loved the 5:30 wine tasting and light food pairing that is held nightly at the Inn's sister site just around the corner, the dessert snack at 6:30 (our treat was s'mores), the outdoor seating area with fire pit, and the yummy breakfast which is included in the rate. We enjoyed homemade croissants, a three cheese soufflé, and blueberry bread but you can choose from three other options if you do not want what is being served that morning. Choices include oatmeal, or yogurt with fruit and granola, and a different egg fish. Coffee and tea are available all day long and homemade cookies are out in the late afternoon.

The Inn is within walking district to downtown, restaurants and even a grocery store.

Everyone staying here were in town to hit the wineries so we were able to get lots of great tips on places to visit, plus the inn provided you with discount tasting coupons for several wineries.

We would definitely recommend the Inn. Visitors do need to keep in mind that this is an old inn more B&B than hot. Bedrooms are located on the second floor and there is no elevator. Also the bathrooms are in keeping with the rest of the place, ours had a claw foot tub but we did have a jetted tub in the bathroom. If you like a place with character this is a great place to stay. I know we would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabernet House, an Old World Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabernet House, an Old World Inn

Address: 1301 Jefferson St, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1979 in a historic Landmark building built in 1906, Old World Inn's Cabernet House was one of the first small hotels in the Napa Valley. Choose from 8 rooms or a Private Cottage, all with fireplaces and featherbeds. Discover tips and secrets of the Napa Valley from innkeepers who are locals and love sharing their favorite spots. Enjoy a gourmet "wine taster's" breakfast each morning, come back and relax in our wine cellar at the afternoon wine reception at our sister property (Hotel Napa Valley, just one block away). Walk to dinner (choose from 50+ restaurants!), Then stroll back to find handmade chocolate nibbles waiting for you. Discover the Napa Valley from a different perspective! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cabernet House, an Old World Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old World Hotel Napa
Cabernet House, An Old World Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabernet House, an Old World Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.