We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabernet House, an Old World Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cabernet House, an Old World Inn to your Saves list
Cabernet House, an Old World Inn
1301 Jefferson St, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Napa for $129/night !
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I found The Old World Inn on the internet. They had a great website that lets you see each individual room.
The location is perfect to see all of downtown and easily accessible to the wineries.
My only regret was that I didn't have more time to stay there.
The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about all the sites and wineries.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    59
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
9
268
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This bed and breakfast is one of my favorites. The location is perfect, you can walk all over downtown and the rooms and breakfast are very nice. Also very nice and helpful staff. I like both the main house and carriage house,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My 23 year old daughter and I came to Napa Valley for a much needed mother/daughter getaway. We were lucky enough to stay at the Old World Inn (Bed & Breakfast). The location was fabulous for us, just 1 ½ blocks from the heart of downtown Napa. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the accommodations at the Old World Inn and their staff. From my initial inquiries and throughout our stay, I want to especially thank Hillary for her information, care, and help. She went above and beyond providing area maps, coupons, discounts, and advice. Hillary also was able to make a reservation for us for a guided winery tour. When we were picked up for our winery tour the guide provided us with a special embossed journal/diary to keep notes about our tastings courtesy of ‘The Old World Inn’! This was just one of many nice touches the Inn provided. The gourmet breakfast each morning was delicious and started our day with a full tummy! I would highly recommend ‘the Old World Inn’ and hope to be able to revisit again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here two nights with my boyfriend to celebrate our 3 year anniversary. I had a wonderful experience at Old World Inn! The rooms were a bit pricy (~$180/night after tax), but worth the splurge. The room was small, but the bed was very comfortable and the attention to detail in the decoration was well appreciated.

The service was incredible. The staff even left us a small card that said, "Happy Anniversary!" on our bed! They were very helpful in providing us good recommendations for wineries to visit, and even gave us some 2-for-1 wine tasting coupons!

The inn was about a 20 minute drive to some nice wineries on Silverado Trail, and about a 20 min walk to downtown and Oxbow Market. (Go to Ca' Momi in Oxbow Market for some delicious pizza!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Old World Inn was perfect for our weekend getaway this February. February isn't the most popular time to visit Napa but it's perfect if you're from the area (we live in Oakland) and looking for a cheap, low-key trip free of the summer crowds. Like most hotels and B&Bs, the Old World Inn lowers their rates in the off-season and I was incredibly impressed with the experience we got for our money. Here's what I most appreciated:
Location: The Old World Inn is a quick walk from downtown. With all of the restaurants Napa now has, you can have a great night out without worrying about driving or finding a cab.
Décor: I like to patronize small businesses but many B&Bs suffer from doily overload. I was happy to enter our room and find not a single doily, cross-stitch, or anything else fussy or twee. The Biblioteca room was charming but not overdone. I loved the antique tub too.
Service: The owners were pleasant hosts and one of them gave us some great recommendations for smaller, off-the-beaten wineries.
Food: The breakfasts were delicious and nothing beats having chocolate waiting for you at the end of a long night.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay and will definitely return the next time we want to stay in Napa.

Room Tip: The Biblioteca room was tiny but charming and perfectly fine for two people (as long as you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This B&B was exactly what we were looking for. The innkeepers are very kind and helpful. The rooms have fireplaces and a very cozy feel. We loved the breakfasts!! Wow, they were awesome and I have to mention that I am a picky eater. Lovely chocolates at the end of the day as well. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights in August 2012 (yes, it has taken me a very long time to write this review!) The facilities were great, and the room (in the main house) was really comfortable. I loved the breakfasts and the snacks that were free throughout the day. If you're vegetarian, just make sure that you let them know the day before, but there are heaps of options. I also really appreciated Tom's (the innkeepers) insights into the area, including dining and sightseeing recommendations.
Accommodation in the Napa is generally more expensive than you'd find elsewhere, but the money you spend here will be worth it!
Its also well located to Napa Town centre, although if you want to do a lot of sightseeing in the wineries, its best to hire a car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabernet House, an Old World Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabernet House, an Old World Inn

Address: 1301 Jefferson St, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1979 in a historic Landmark building built in 1906, Old World Inn's Cabernet House was one of the first small hotels in the Napa Valley. Choose from 8 rooms or a Private Cottage, all with fireplaces and featherbeds. Discover tips and secrets of the Napa Valley from innkeepers who are locals and love sharing their favorite spots. Enjoy a gourmet "wine taster's" breakfast each morning, come back and relax in our wine cellar at the afternoon wine reception at our sister property (Hotel Napa Valley, just one block away). Walk to dinner (choose from 50+ restaurants!), Then stroll back to find handmade chocolate nibbles waiting for you. Discover the Napa Valley from a different perspective! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cabernet House, an Old World Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old World Hotel Napa
Cabernet House, An Old World Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabernet House, an Old World Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.