We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Belle Epoque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Belle Epoque to your Saves list
La Belle Epoque
1386 Calistoga Ave., Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GETAWAY WINE TOUR
Ranked #16 of 24 Napa B&B and Inns
Burbank
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

We had a fabulous time at La Belle Epoque. The room was lovely and the gourmet breakfasts were unforgettable. The nightly wine tastings with our hosts were a delight.

  • Liked — Evening Wine Tastings
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    68
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
277
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glenville, NY
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

My wife and I, along with another couple, spent 2 nights at La Belle Epoque in July. In spite of our extremely late arrival due to flight delays, Roxanne and Derek had arranged for us to pick up keys to the rooms and left a late night snack for these weary travelers. The rooms were quiet, clean, nicely-appointed and extremely comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfasts, meeting the other guests and the evening wine tasting. Roxanne had some great suggestions for wineries to visit and helping us navigate the Napa valley. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

We have stayed at many B&B's in Napa and Sonoma. We did not have an expectation for this experience however what a surprise. The property is in a residential area however the experience was quite and very charming.

Rooms were very comfortable and clean.

The owners were very involved and knowledgeable about the all facits of the Napa experience and things you can do.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

We spent four delightful days at this gem. Experienced B&B travellers we rate this among the best. Gracious hosts, gourmet breakfast, clean rooms, premium wine tastings are just a little of what we enjoyed.
In the town of Napa, it was within walking distance to many excellent restaurants.
Derek and Roxanne gave knowledgable advice about the wineries and directed us to special places to have lunch "al fresco".
We will be back one day soon.

  • Liked — Personal attention
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed at this BB for 2 days, one night. The previous year I had stayed at another BB in the town of Napa. While the other BB was also very nice, La Belle Epoque was even better. The location is perfect for dining in Napa and is within walking distance so that you can feel free to drink wine without concern of driving. Roxanne and Derek are wonderful. Both are extremely friendly and they offer pleasant extras such as a wine and cheese hour during the evenings and home-made cookies.

The room was excellent. Well maintained and clean. The breakfast was enjoyable.

Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Location/People
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

We returned from a wonderful 25th celebration in the Napa Valley in July, 2007. We were so fortunate to have found this most exquisite B & B - La Belle Epoque on-line. The hosts, Derek & Roxann and fabulous staff could not have done anything more to make our stay more wonderful.

The B & B itself is gorgeous top to bottom with lovely displays of antiques throughout ...the lounge a lovely place to enjoy morning coffee, papers, and info on "what to do and where to go" etc.. The gardens offer several sitting areas to enjoy a quiet moment and the flowering shrubs leave a wonderful scent. The location makes is easy to walk into town for the Friday Night Market and restaurants in the area. Parking is most sufficient and gated.

We enjoyed our stay in the "Cabernet Room", with its lovely four poster canopy bed. There are several beautiful rooms to choose from, all very unique (very hard to choose).

Breakfast served daily at 0900 - always something so different to look forward to. From 6:00 - 7:00 each evening all guests are invited to a wine tasting and appetizers in the B & B Wine Cellar. The wines were brought in from a different winery each evening.....of course this was included with our stay. A really nice way to meet other guests from all over the world!! Each evening a platter of home baked cookies was left out for all to enjoy with a lovely assortment of teas/coffee. The guest fridge was filled with water, juice, soda pop - again included with our stay. Sherry was available in our room for an evening nightcap - again included. We have stayed at several B & B's and have paid a very similar price but without all of the noted extras.

As it was our first time to Napa and there are so many vineyards, Derek organized a tour for us which was really a fabulous day.

We enjoyed some lovely restaurants in downtown Napa...Zuzu - mediterranean and Uva - Italian.

Our cost was approx. $300 per night - worth every cent and with all that is included an outstanding price.

We are from the Vancouver, British Columbia area and highly recommend La Belle Epoque....we will certainly be visiting again.

Their website is very good...great pictures...be sure to check this one out!!!

  • Liked — Personal touch everywhere, many extras
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

My husband and I stayed in the Elizabeth suite for our 2-year anniversary in May of this year. We cannot rave enough about this place. It was quiet, intimate, & romantic. The accomodations were superb. The bed was super-comfy and I loved the jacuzzi tub. Having a little refrigerator was great too. The breakfast was amazing - Roxann is truly talented. The food really was to die for...and it was delivered straight to our room since we stayed in the Elizabeth suite and that made it that much better! The Staff worked with us too - we don't drink coffee, so they brought hot, flavored tea to our room everyday. Derek & Roxann provided nice complimentary soft drinks and snacks in our mini-fridge. The small things were SO wondeful, and very noticeable.

The wine reception every evening was a lot of fun. You get to try new wine and listen to what everyone else has been up to, or plans to do. Derek & Roxann (and Debby) helped us so much with our plans. We went on a hot air balloon ride on our actual 2-year anniversary - VERY romantic. We also rode the wine train, which was fun. They recommended great restaurants while we were there, and great wineries. It was like having our own personal advisor while we stayed!

The location could not have been better...close to "downtown" Napa and the wine train, but on a quiet, secluded, tree-lined street. I really felt like we were in paradise the entire time. The shops and restaurants in Napa were so fun and quaint, yet upscale at the same time. We were able to walk around and have a night on the town. It couldn't have been better.

We had to do some work while we were in town (unfortuantely), and Derek & Roxann were GREAT about facilitating that. We used their fax machine and they pointed us in the right direction of the UPS store (also very close).

Overall, I cannot rave enough. We absolutely LOVED our experience. We WILL be back. Looking forward to next time, Derek & Roxann. And thank you for everything!

  • Liked — Quiet, comfortable, romantic location (both inside the house & outside to other attractions)
  • Disliked — nothing comes to mind!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Epoque

Address: 1386 Calistoga Ave., Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over a century this stunning Napa Valley Queen Anne Victorian has reigned over Napa. Today, La Belle Epoque is a luxury Napa Valley boutique inn - ideal for romantic getaways, family reunions, small weddings and solo retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your La Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Belle Epoque Hotel Napa
La Belle Epoque Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Belle Epoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.