We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two restful nights in Napa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Belle Epoque

Save Saved
You added La Belle Epoque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Belle Epoque
1386 Calistoga Ave., Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
�GETAWAY WINE TOUR
Ranked #14 of 25 Napa B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Two restful nights in Napa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Thank you Georgia & Bob for looking after us on our visit. Your beautiful property gave us a truly "painted lady" experience, and your breakfasts were an amazing experience each morning. It was such a comfortable "homely place" to come into after being out all day. The drinks and nibbles were GREATLY appreciated each evening, a really nice touch. The room was lovely and clean and the linen was amazing. We did not want to get out of the beautiful big beds. We had two rooms, Merlot and Cabernet. Maybe some block out curtains in Cabernet would help with the street light, but not detract from the beautiful glass window experience. I can recommend this to anyone who wants a homely , but very private experience. cannot wait to see what the garden will look like when completed. the four sisters from oz!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia534, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor! We enjoyed meeting the 'oz' sisters. We are so happy your liked our painted lady! The new paint job with new colors was just completed and it is great fun to hear praises on her new look. I will pass your comments on black out shades to our interior designer. She is busy helping us improve. Come again soon
Georgia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    55
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
249
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

La Belle Époque was the perfect place to stay in Napa. We had our own spacious and beautifully decorated room and bathroom with a working fireplace. Bob and Georgia were so kind and Georgia even made dinner reservations for us and also recommended and reserved a tour of Napa valley. The room was immaculate and the breakfasts were better than we have had at five star restaurants. The inn was located close to downtown so we could even walk to some of our destinations. I would highly recommend La Belle Époque to anyone staying in Napa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia534, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at La Belle. We are especially please you like our breakfast " ...the breakfasts were better than we have had at five star restaurants." Please come back soon. The vines will be in full leaf soon and the roses are great in May
Georgia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you are looking for a quaint, cozy, and romantic place to stay, look no further! This is such a charming place to stay! My husband and I cashed in our voucher that we purchased from Living Social and we couldn't have chosen a better place to celebrate our spring break! The deal included 5 Napa winery tastings and a $60 massage credit.- you can't beat that, right!!?? The minute you arrive on the doorstep of La Belle Epoque, you will feel the old world charm the property offers. We were met by Georgia ( the most amazing innkeeper). She had us take a seat in the parlor as she got our paperwork. She is very accommodating and she helped us map out our winery stops. We stayed in the Elizabeth's Suite and it is amazing!!!! The bed and sheets are so comfortable. Our refrigerator was stocked with champagne and fresh drinking water. Homemade cookies and snacks were on the counter for us to enjoy as well. We loved the massages we had in our room as well! We felt like royalty! The gourmet breakfasts were delectable and scrumptious! This B & B has it all! Great customer service! We didn't want to go home but we look forward to coming back again soon! Thank you Georgia! ~ Jill and Tom L.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia534, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor! We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfasts just this morning as a guest check out they said our breakfasts were the best meals they had during their visit! High praise indeed. Please come back again soon. The summer is a great time to visit.
Georgia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic stay! Breakfast was phenomenal and the property was spectacular. Georgia was incredibly attentive and professional. The bed linens were the most comfortable we have slept in. This is a well run operation and I will not stay anywhere else! Cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia534, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, C&H. Your praises for our breakfast are especially appreciated coming from a profession chef such as yourself. Many thanks. We all enjoyed meeting you and your friends. Wine hour was great fun with all of the comradeship between the guests. Do visit again soon
Georgia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This beautiful museum of a B&B is an exceptional taste of history and elegance. Georgia was very sweet and helpful. As it was our first time staying at a place like this it initially felt a bit uncomfortable sharing the community rooms (breakfast room, living room and wine cellar) with the other visitors. However, as Georgia put it, "The residence of Napa have a great sense of community". Hearing this made us understand that we were to feel right at home. Thank you for that.
Our room was upgraded free of charge to a newly remodeled/upgraded room while the initial room we booked was being remodeled/upgraded. This tells me they take pride in their property and the guests.
We will be back. Thanks again.
...and good luck with the walgreens =)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia534, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Please come back soon. The wine reception with Napa Cellars pouring exclusively for our guests over the weekend was enjoyed by all. Our wine cellar comes alive during these special events. The guests are happy to taste great wines and enjoy antimated conversation.(walgreens)
Georgia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I am very picky about hotels, and I am generally pretty wary of B&Bs after a few subpar experiences at other B&Bs in the past. However, I will DEFINITELY be returning to la Belle Époque! Beautiful, spacious room, delicious breakfast, and an incredibly comfortable bed. Everyone who worked here was knowledgeable, attentive, and very kind! They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome. We would highly recommend it!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia534, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Ali,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at La Belle Epoque. We are so pleased your enjoyed your stay. Please return soon.
There is a new restaurant going to open soon just a 3 minute walk away plus all the others close by as well.Guests tell us after being in the car all day it is a pleasure to be able to walk to nearby restaurants, evening clubs and tasting rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I brought my boyfriend here for a surprise overnight in Napa, to celebrate his birthday. Since we had a dinner reservation at nearby Cole's Chop House that night, the drive to SF afterwards was not something I looked forward to. When I went looking for a B&B in Napa, there were several to choose from, but La Belle Epoque looked just quirky and lovely enough to be a perfect fit.

When we showed up, Georgia greeted us at the door and it was like being received in the living room of an old family friend. Warm and inviting, we could tell we'd love our stay. She showed us around the living room, dining room, "snack/tea area" and the bedroom... which included a jacuzzi tub. She wanted to make sure we felt at home and comfortable.

We stayed in the Merlot room and it was beautifully appointed with Victorian style and a giant bed which may well have been one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in. There was a card advertising the sheets, which I found funny -- until I climbed into the bed and felt the sheets. Incredible. Which reminds me... I need to get in touch about how/where I can get my hands on some!

In the morning, we expected an early and swift departure... likely just before breakfast was served. I mentioned this and Georgia immediately offered to try and get things ready a bit early to accommodate us. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast that started with a warmed grapefruit half (yum), follwed by egg, chorizo and roasted veggies, finished by a fresh-baked (and still quite warm!) muffin. So delicious. And it made our drive back to SF a much more pleasant one.

Overall, great place to stay - great service from a caring host - great experience. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia534, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear R&N,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at La Belle Epoque. I love Napa and the best part of my job is helping guests enjoy their experience here. Please come again and I hope you can manage a longer visit next time.
Georgia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Epoque

Address: 1386 Calistoga Ave., Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over a century this stunning Napa Valley Queen Anne Victorian has reigned over Napa. Today, La Belle Epoque is a luxury Napa Valley boutique inn - ideal for romantic getaways, family reunions, small weddings and solo retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your La Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Belle Epoque Hotel Napa
La Belle Epoque Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Belle Epoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.