We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARNING BANK OWNED” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Belle Epoque to your Saves list
La Belle Epoque
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1386 Calistoga Ave., Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Napa Mid-Week Special
Ranked #15 of 24 Napa B&B and Inns
Napa, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WARNING BANK OWNED”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

wow we booked this stay months ago and I really wish I would have picked something else!!! received no notice that Roxanne and Derrick lost the inn. The changes really make it more like a hotel than a bed and breakfast. The innkeeper informed us that breakfast would be downstairs, not brought to our room. It was more like continental breakfast then gourmet, The wine tasting hour was dull no guest winery, not in the wine cellar, just a glass of wine in between the innkeeper answering phones and the door, For what we spent I really wish there was a warning that the inn is a foreclosed bank owned property. I only found out because I stumbled on a meeting of bankers in what was supposed to be the relaxing garden.

PLEASE do not stay here if you really want a bed and breakfast feel!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison T, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
This posting is incorrect.

La Belle Epoque has not had a change of ownership, but does have a new innkeeper who has brought her years of experience at high quality hotels and inns to make many improvements to the property and will continue to do so. There have been no other changes to our warm and friendly inn staff; our breakfast chef Sarah is still preparing delicious gourmet meals and treats for our guests. We welcome you to come experience our B&B hospitality for yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    73
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
302
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We spent four nights at this lovely bed and breakfast. It was the perfect place from which to launch our exploration of Napa vineyards. Excellent advice on places to visit. The evening wine receptions were great fun...a nice way to get suggestions and visit with other guests. The room was lovely and cozy and breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were very satisfied with our stay. It's hard to judge a B&B online but the accommodations were very nice. Derrick & Roxanne were awesome! Breakfast was great and Roxanne was so accommodating with dietary restrictions. We stayed in the Cabernet room and would recommend this B&B to anyone!

Room Tip: Remember to get the code before you go drinking or you will feel like a high school student trying t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBelleEpoqueNapa, Owner at La Belle Epoque, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Roxann, our son Randy and I want to thank you for the last review while owners of the La Belle Epoque. It is gratifyng to finish with a very positive review and knowing you had a great time. Due to circumstances we will no longer be involved in the running of the inn. We had several great years at La Belle with the highlight being the interaction with our guests at the evening wine reception in the cellar. We really appreicate all the friends we have made throughout our stay and will keep in touch with many.
With love
Roxann, Randy and Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This was our first time in Napa and found La Belle Epoque on the internet and booked it from the UK. We stayed in the Elizabeth suite and would recommend it to anyone. It is across the road from the main house so it is exclusive and quiet and so unusual. We felt we had gone back in time but in a wonderful way. The breakfasts were outstanding !!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at La Belle Epoque! Derrick and Roxann were gracious hosts. The evening wine tasting / happy hour is a very nice touch and the winery pass - for free wine tastings at approx. 13 local wineries - can't be beat. The B&B itself is an absolutely charming, lovingly restored Victorian house. Our room - the Zinfandel - was very quaint and extremely comfortable. Our room was cleaned and serviced immediately, every morning while we were at breakfast! Breakfast, honestly, was hit or miss: two of our four breakfasts were absolutely delicious, while one was average and one was rather disappointing. Great location - centrally located for both Napa and Sonoma County exploration. All in all, truly excellent value for the area!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

From the moment you step through the beautiful stained glass doors into an elegant and beautifully furnished late 1800's home, you know you have arrived somewhere special. Quiet, clean and comfortable with tasty breakfasts each morning. We enjoyed the nightly 6:00 pm wine tasting get togethers, getting to know the owners and other guests. A very welcoming Inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

My wife and stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon. Derek and Roxann are great! They were so welcoming and gracious to have us. Derek gave us wonderful recommendations to wineries, restaurants, places to see, and things to do while in the Napa Valley. Breakfast was 1st class! The evening wine reception was a fantastic way to wind down after a day of tours and tastings. Location was close to downtown Napa. I can't say enough about La Belle Epoque and the Napa Valley. We'll be back!
Thanks for helping make our honeymoon unforgettable!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Epoque

Address: 1386 Calistoga Ave., Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Belle Epoque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over a century this stunning Napa Valley Queen Anne Victorian has reigned over Napa. Today, La Belle Epoque is a luxury Napa Valley boutique inn - ideal for romantic getaways, family reunions, small weddings and solo retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your La Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Belle Epoque Hotel Napa
La Belle Epoque Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Belle Epoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.