We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast
1727 Main St., Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Champagne Greeting
Ranked #13 of 24 Napa B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hennessey House for two nights at the end of March. It is a quaint historic home with lovely gardens, in which spring flowers were just starting to bloom and it was so pretty. We stayed in the Upstairs Hideaway room. It was very spacious, and one of the few rooms in the house with a t.v. in it (not important to me, but my husband appreciated it given the season, March Madness). The home itself is very old, and thus has some unique character not found in more modern establishments (original claw foot tub, water closet toilet, tin ceiling, and lots of beta fish???). Despite it's "age" the home is in very good condition and perfectly clean. We also enjoyed the peace and quiet of the location. The house is located on a residential city street, an inconspicuous parking lot, with plenty of space is around back. We enjoyed the breakfasts both mornings of our stay. Lorrie makes healthy and delicous choices! She was also very kind to notice that my husband had a cold, and offered up a little something extra to help him feel better. We did participate in the wine and cheese hour and winery presentation by Bonnie on the first night. The wine and cheese hour is such a nice touch. Bonnie had some great suggestions for wineries to visit. I would do some research or get recommendations on your own for restaurants. We asked Bonnie to suggest a place one night, and indicated that we would like to stay under $100 for our meals and a drink....upon her recommendation, we ended up at a place that wound up costing $250! I can tell that Bonnie has good, but expensive taste! Just something to keep in mind. All in all, I would definitely recommend the Hennessey House. It was a great experience, especially for the cost. I do think that if/when my husband and I return, we would not stay in Napa, and try for Calistoga, St. Helena, or Yountville instead (more to do, cute shops, more affordable restaurants, etc.).

Room Tip: Definitely pick the upstairs hideaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hennesseyhouse, Owner at Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast service and wine and cheese hour, and we do hope your husband is feeling better. As we speak, the downtown area is undergoing a renaissance, with the addition of the Napa Riverfront, West End, and Oxbow Market, and more restaurants are coming into the city of Napa now than anywhere else in the Valley. In addition to the top end choices, there are more moderately priced dining options as well. We'll be happy to assure our staff is pointing these out.

Sincerely,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    31
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
191
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent three nights at Hennessey House while we were in Napa and found our stay comfortable and relaxing.

Decor is a bit dated but everything was clean and the room refreshed every day. Each room is also quite spacious, with a little sitting area to enjoy a sherry (which is included) in the evening. Breakfasts were good; like mom used to make. Lorrie, our hostess was very friendly and accommodating with any dietary restrictions.

Each evening they have a wine and cheese discussion, lead by Bonnie who is very knowledgeable of the industry and area. A great resource for planning out your itinerary if you're winging it during your stay.

Free wi-fi is offered as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hennesseyhouse, Owner at Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to maintain the storybook character and warmth of the house, but with today's amenities. As part of our winter upgrade program, we are just completing upgrades to the room you stayed in which include a new gas fireplace, area rugs, window treatments, and bathroom fixtures.

Sincerely,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A lovely historic home with gracious hosts. The meals were amazing, one morning was a decadent croissant french toast dish with a fruit course. Several very nice couples staying at the same time but the house was quiet and serene even with 10 people staying there. I was in the Paisley room and loved having an elegant big bed with a down comforter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I found the Hennessey House in my Frommer's guidebook and thoroughly researched it on TripAdvisor too, and everything that was written was absolutely true! We had an amazing experience! We traveled to Napa as a group of nine that included five first cousins, three cousins-in-law (or as we call them the "outlaws"), and the 88-year old family matriarch. The trip and the Hennessey House exceeded our wildest expectations. Lorri and Kevin were incredible hosts; Bonnie was extremely knowledgeable about the area; breakfast was delicious and the accommodations were awesome. We all just wished we lived closer, instead of clear across the country, so we could return again and again. Thank you for making our trip something none of us will ever forget, we made memories that will last for all time!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Hennessey house. The owner is very sweet and the breakfasts were all amazing. They are very accomodating to everyones needs. The concierge is very helpful and knowledgable about the area. Our room was nice, although I thought it could use some updating to make it somewhat luxurious (robes, pillows, comforter). I would definitely make time to get to know the other guests and partake in any wine tastings or chats the B&B provides. Sitting around with our wine and chatting to the other guests was a lot of fun!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Hennessy House is delightful. The breakfasts delicious and cooked individually. The wine tasting in the early evenings were enjoyable and informative, with guests visiting and exchanging advice. Each afternoon Lorrie baked fresh cookies (loved the macaroons). I stayed in the Fox Den for two nights. Lovely private courtyard attached to the room - perfect for sipping wine under the stars. I definitely recommend the Hennessy House when visiting Napa. I plan on returning soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was a last minute flying visit to Napa and I found this delightful B&B on line. We arrived early and went into Napa for lunch, on their recommendatio,n to the outdoor market which was great.

They do have a wine tasting and info session but we sadly missed this, however, we were given excellent winery advise for Sunday.

Breakfast was delicious, so refreshing not to have the usual buffet and eggs benedict. I would recommend HH if you want a quaint stay within walking distance into downtown Napa.

Room Tip: They all have cute names, ours was 'Pheasant Dreams' :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1727 Main St., Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hennessey House Hotel Napa
Hennessey House b&b
Hennessey House Bed And Breakfast Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.