We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Greatest B&B Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Gables Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Gables Inn to your Saves list
Cedar Gables Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   486 Coombs St., Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ontario, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Greatest B&B Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

We spent two nights and three days with Ken and Susie Pope at the Cedar Gables Inn in Napa, California, in May, 2008. We already had reservations at a local hotel in town, but when we checked into it we were somewhat disappointed. We decided to go eat lunch and maybe look around for another place to stay. After a great lunch downtown Napa, we happed to drive past the Cedar Gables Inn and decided to see if they would give us a tour. Susie not only gave us a tour of her fabulous establishment, but gave us a map and told us which wineries were must sees, and which restaurants served what types of foods and which were the best. Then she wished us a happy stay in Napa and told us to let her know if we need anything else. We were so taken with her generosity and warmth that we went straight back to our hotel to see if they would let us out of our rooms, which fortunately they did. We called Susie and were back with her within the hour. She and Ken are the most marvelous hosts you could ever ask for. The food is divine and wine and hors d'oeuvres in the Tavern room is such a great way to start the evening. They made sure we had a plan for the next day, made any arrangements necessary, and were excited to visit with you in the evening and find out how your day went over a relaxing glass of wine or beer. If you're lucky, Ken will play his guitar and sing for you. It was one of the best vacations we have ever experienced! Napa was lovely, the wineries were great, but Susie and Ken are out of this world! The rooms are wonderful, inviting and extremely relaxing. We will definitely be back to enjoy more time with them.

  • Liked — The hosts, food and rooms
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
230
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

We stayed at the Cedar Gables Inn for two nights in mid-May. With fluid plans, a smaller budget, and a bit of indecision about where to stay, we booked only 24-hours in advance and were able to take advantage of the "romance special" that allowed us to get our room for 200$ a night (instead of 300+). Best decision ever! Cedar Gables is a fabulous place to stay and we will certainly be back. If you are looking for a comfortable place to stay, where you interact with your sociable hosts and other guests and eat the breakfasts of a lifetime, stay here. Ken and Susie are fabulous hosts.

The breakfasts were by far our favorite thing about Cedar Gables. They are all "three courses," so pacing yourself is essential. The first morning we were there, we had Susie's "world famous" homemade apple fritters (if they're not really world-famous, they should be), fruit with yogurt and granola, and a southwestern sausage egg casserole. We're currently living in Texas, so we are typically hard to please with the "southwestern" fare, but the casserole was just delicious, and given more time (or one less course), I could have stayed at the table to finish the whole thing. The second morning we had (again, homemade) cranberry and orange scones and almond scones, more fruit/yogurt, and french toast souffle with a cream cheese center, cut strawberries, and awesome maple syrup. Susie does not repeat breakfasts during her guests' stays, so you will be delighted by a new dish every morning. We could have stayed a week for the breakfasts alone. Susie has about three dozen different kinds of "Republic of Tea" brand teas along with coffee for breakfast. She also keeps a fridge stocked with water and sodas which you can access at any time.

Ken and Susie are fabulous hosts. They are very easy to talk to and are interested in giving you recommendations for dining or wineries. They helped us make dinner reservations and provided us with maps of Napa and coupons for complimentary tastings for certain wineries. They host a 'happy hour' between about five and seven in the den area. They serve wine from their own cellar selections with cheese, crackers, fruits, nuts, etc. We enjoyed getting to talk to them and other guests and learn about how they came by the property and such (ask about the secret staircases and the safe!).

Our room was very comfortable (as was the whole house) and very clean. We stayed in the Gables Suite. The carpet seemed brand new and the robes that were provided were heavenly soft. The towels and sheets were soft and in excellent condition. The mattress was comfortable and really our only picky point about our whole stay was that it could have used more support in the middle (I think it had more to do with the bed frame than anything). This was easily the best-maintained and most enjoyable B&B that we have stayed in and we will be back to visit again!

  • Liked — Breakfast!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

Took a long weekend and stayed at the Cedar Gables. From the time we showed up to the time we left, we felt like family. Susie and Ken are wonderful people. The mansion is incredible. Located within walking distance to all of downtown Napa. The rooms are well decorated with much of the original antiques in tact. Very comfortable and cozy and extremely clean. But by far the best part of the experience is definately the innkeepers. Susie and Ken go out of their way to make you feel at home. Happy hour every night, Breakfasts that could rival any Chefs' best fare, Music, and a wealth of knowlege of the area, wineries, history etc. We will definately be staying here on future visits.

  • Liked — The Owners of the Inn
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

I feel like a bit of an echo, but like the previous review to mine, I was totally impressed with this Inn. It all starts with the people at B&Bs. We showed up after a busy weekend and they had enough gas left in the tank to take great care of us. This was part one of a honeymoon, and I cannot imagine it's possible to find a better B&B in Napa (though the proprieters said there were some other great ones) nor a better spot for a relaxing place to kick off a new life together.

Vineyard recommendations were excellent
Food was over the top (never had a B&B breakie like that)
The Inn was beautiful.....but as I said before the people were what made it special.

Ken....thanks for the guitar lesson.....I'll send you some Nirvana tabs to compliment the Neil Diamond :-)

  • Liked — People
  • Disliked — Bed was too comfortbale...fell asleep too fast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston,sc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

From the moment we pulled up Susie and Ken took amazing care of us. They had upgraded our room, and it was beautiful. Susie is an amazing cook, I can't believe I ate that much at breakfast. They also had wonderful happy hours with wine and cheese each night, Ken is great on the guitar. Their suggestions for wine and restaurants were perfect, and they even called to make reservations for us. Going during the week in April was perfect!

  • Liked — location and the owners
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

I recently had a chance to visit my boyfriend in San Francisco while he was there on a business trip. Never having been to California before, I wanted to make this trip memorable - and thanks to Ken and Susie, it was one of the best trips we have ever taken together! We couldn't have gotten a warmer greeting when Susie opened the door to welcome us. The entrance hall is full of old time charm, replete with velvet furnishings and authentic wavery glass windows. I am theatre historian with a specialized interest in the Shakespearean era, so exploring the inn with all its many old time charms was a delight during my stay.Instead of looking austere and forboding which can sometimes happen with old houses, the room was warm inviting, and full of the scent of fresh baked cookies, which were displayed invitingly on a wooden table. After tour of the inn, we were showed to our room - beautifully charming, with a crystal decanter full of what I promise was absolute top notch port.

Susie and Ken went above and beyond in their efforts to ensure our comfort and happiness during our stay. We even felt comfortable enough to call Susie at one point to ask her to recommend a good restaurant - which of course was superb. The breakfasts we enjoyed at the inn were in a league of their own. If Susie ever wanted to open a restaurant I am sure it would be met with much success! We actually saved one of our apple fritters - yes it was that good - to enjoy at lunch time in wine country, where it was perfectly complimented with a dry reisling. Another thing I must mention was the coffee! It is a blend they have especially made for them in town at al local coffee shop - and much to our delight they actually sold it at the inn! We bought a bag and have enjoyed many a cup since then. It's a great way to start out the morning (now that we are back in Boston) and the taste brings back wonderful memories of an unparalleled vacation and the people that made it so. Thank you so much!!!

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

My husband and I spent Easter weekend at the Cedar Gables Inn in Napa and we had a wonderful time! It was our first stay in Napa and our first B & B experience. We highly recommend staying at the Cedar Gables Inn. The inn is very nice and the landscaping outside is beautiful. Ken and Susie go out of their way to ensure that their guests are having a good time. They add special touches to the inn that make the experience even more memorable (chocolates and port in your room, delicious chocolate chip cookies in the evening, happy hour with wine and cheese just to name a few). As for the breakfast, it was DELICIOUS and the presentation was beautiful. We especially loved the French Toast Sufflee. Ken was very knowledgable about the area and recommended some great wineries to us. The high level of service that Ken and Susie provided are rarely seen in businesses today and we truly appreciated their effort, kindness and hospitality. We look forward to returning to Napa and staying at the Cedar Gables Inn.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Gables Inn

Address: 486 Coombs St., Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cedar Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Gables Hotel Napa
Cedar Gables Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.