We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dan and Candy have created a warm comfortable place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arbor Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Arbor Guest House to your Saves list
Arbor Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1436 G Street, Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 24 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
pittsburgh
1 review
“Dan and Candy have created a warm comfortable place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Dan and Candy are wonderful hosts. They have created a very warm, cozy home like inn completly remodeled for comfort. The garden and deck are a great addition. We'll stay with them whenever we're in the Napa area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    42
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
543
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

This place met some of our expectations, but not all. We have stayed at a lot of very charming B&B's (mostly in New England), so when we go to a B&B we expect the place to be oozing with charm. (After all, if we want sleek and modern, we can stay at a hotel). We also expect a cozy atmosphere, and an excellent breakfast. This place was good at some things, not so good at others.

We went up to Napa for a last minute weekend getaway. Many of the places we visited were booked, but the Arbor Guest House had a room, and offered us a slightly discounted price for their Garden Room.

The Arbor Guest House is located on a nondescript residential street, just off from a busy and rather uninspiring big street. But I don't mind the location. Everyone drives when they go to Napa, so there is no need to be walking distance from anything; the upside is that this place is quiet. This inn is an easy drive from downtown Napa.

The inn was nice and well kept, and I can tell that they are making a lot of renovations and upgrades. We heard the owners recently took the place over. The garden was a little spartan, with lots of new plantings. In a few years I am sure it will be gorgeous. There is a wonderful gazebo with soft arm chairs. We sat there for a while, and the minute we got up some other guests grabbed it from us. It's a popular spot.

The Garden Room is in a separate house in the back, on the ground floor. It will be good for people who can't do stairs (most B&B's require you to walk up rickety stairs). The room was nice, but didn't exactly charm. The furniture was new, more similar to a good quality hotel than a B&B. The room did have a lovely gas fireplace (with many buttons and gadgets), a TV (located kind of inconveniently high up and away from everything), and good leather armchairs. The bathroom was huge, with a jacuzzi tub, a benefit of staying at a renovated B&B. There was some mold on the tiles of the jacuzzi though (note to innkeeper: easily removed with bleach!), which is a disconcerting thing to stare at while soaking in the tub. The shower also had no water pressure.

They give you free water and soda (very kind) and our room had a coffee maker. Breakfast though, was not that good. We were given fruit straight from the refrigerator (bad), a fresh and flakey croissant with jam (good), and a kind of mushy fresh toast thingy with some super dried up pieces of bacon (bad). When I asked for tea, they told me to get my own teabag and mug from the counter. Coffee drinkers though, got served at the table. Discrimination against tea-drinkers! Seriously, it would be nice to get a pot of tea in the morning. We didn't eat much breakfast, but the innkeepers were very friendly and generous with suggestions of places to go.

All in all, I think this place has potential. I can tell they are trying very hard, and we had a pleasant experience there. I wish the inn was more charming in its decoration, but I know that different people have different tastes in decor. Breakfast though, could be a lot better. The Garden Room was the most expensive room at the inn, so I would recommend staying at a cheaper room. Those seem to be a good deal for Napa. I hope the garden grows in soon and wish the new innkeepers all the best in setting up their new place!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

We have just gotten back from a fantastic trip to Napa valley. We were fortunate enough to have come across this gem. Candy and Dan have done a great job at renovating this guest house. The rooms are all beautifully decorated but more importantly, extremely comfortable.

The delicious breakfasts provided us with plenty of nourishment to get us through all of the wine tastings that kept us busy until dinner time. I love to cook and it is apparent to me that Candy takes great satisfaction in providing her guests with her little works of art.

The found this to be so much more than we had anticipated. Dan and Candy we very willing to share their knowledge of area vineyards, wine tasting's. restaurants and so much more. We truly enjoyed simply spending time at the guest house in the gazebo that looks out over the bocce court and beautiful arbor or talking with the Dan and Candy.

This is a great experience. Don't miss it! We will be back.

Kate O'Connor

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

My wife and I visited Napa forthe first time and chose the Arbor House based on price and other reviews. We were very please with our room, hospitality and the overall experience. Dan and Candy are both very nice and professional. Additionally, they were great hosts and made some great recommendations for wineries. When we come back to Napa, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

This was our first trip to Napa and we booked a room at the Arbor Guest House in hopes of getting a full experience of the valley. We couldn't have been more pleased! Dan and Candy were extraordinarily welcoming and helpful, willing to help us coordinate our adventure from the minute we stepped through the door (Literally, we walked in at 3:30 and asked them if we could catch a tasting before 4 p.m. they hooked us up and we were off again!) Breakfast was absolutely delicious and the accommodations were beautiful! They have remodeled the entire home with such care and attention to detail, from the linens to the bocce ball court in the yard the entire place creates a sense of peace, relaxation and fun! They also host a wine hour each evening which gave us a chance to connect with them as well as others staying at the house. Candy made dinner reservations for us (they are just a mile walk from downtown Napa) and booked a bus tour for us to explore a few vineyards (platypus tours, which was FANTASTIC! and well worth the $85 cost). We had such a delightful weekend and would love to stay with them again when we return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

We stayed at the Arbor House for a long weekend while exploring wine country. The hosts were extremely accomodating and so welcoming! The breakfasts were delecious (much better than my bagel with PB&J at home and the home has a lovely setting and garden area. We enjoyed talking with the hosts (and Ciara) as well as the other guests over wine in the early evening. Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

This being our first trip to Napa, I would highly recommend the Arbor Guest House. Dan and Candy's hospitality was right on the mark. The room was well appointed and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast each morning was exquisite and well presented. Further, Dan and Candy recommended and then made all our dinner reservation for three nights. Each of the restaurants they selected were perfect. All being said, it was a wonderful experience! We look forward to staying at the Arbor Guest House on our next visit to Napa.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arbor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor Guest House

Address: 1436 G Street, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arbor Guest House Inn is a unique, colonial revival home located just minutes from downtown Napa. We offer many of the amenities of luxury hotels at affordable rates. This winter enjoy great rates on spa services, free gourmet breakfast, free happy hour in the evening with wine and cheese, fireplaces, private entrances, HDTV and free wifi high-speed Internet access– all complimentary with your Napa lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B and Priceline so you can book your Arbor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbor Guest House Hotel Napa
Arbor Guest House Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arbor Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.