We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible AC noise and no soundproofing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vino Bello Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vino Bello Resort to your Saves list
Vino Bello Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   865 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
DEstin Fl
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Terrible AC noise and no soundproofing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

They are stretching the definition of "suite"--basically a hotel room with a pullout couch. No chest of drawers to unpack your stuff--we put it in the tiny kitchen cabinets The worst problem is the AC noise--if you are a light sleeper, forget about it. You cannot hear the TV when the AC kicks in. Folks across the hall said they could not regulate theirs and were freezing to death. On the bright side there is a small fridge, coffee maker and microwave. And a washer-dryer(what for in this tiny space?) No sound proofing whatsoever--you can listen to your neighbors as well as the folks above. The "jacuzzi" is a small oval tub with no jets. The place is poorly built---the doors don't hang properly and the bathroom drawer hits the door molding!! It is also noisy with lots of kids and people coming and going.
We had a great trip except for the accommodations--what a disappointment for our anniversary trip. Very expensive to boot.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — AC noise and lack of soundproofing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jruperto, Resort Manager at Vino Bello Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2008
I have asked our Engineering and Housekeeping departments to look into the issues this guest described during their stay with us. We are happy they appreciated the services offered by our Front Desk staff. As a number of the items decribed are structural, we will have to consult professionals on how best to alleviate these issues. We appreciate the comments presented and will work to make the improvements we can.

Regards,

Jose Ruperto
Director of Rooms
The Vino Bello Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    169
    59
    38
    23
See reviews for
113
339
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

Great place to stay; very clean, great restaurant, more than one pool. Spa was in a cave and really neat. The resort is relatively close to all the wineries. The concierge is very helpful and will help find activities for you and/or the kids. They will also arrange to ship home the many bottles/cases of wine that you decide to pick up while in Napa.

Overall, an amazing place. Our family will be staying there every time we travel to Napa.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, brand new, nice staff, good food, good location
  • Disliked — A lot of construction still taking place.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

We had called ahead of time to see if we could get an early check-in since we had a concert to attend that evening in Napa. The front desk said they couldn't guarantee an early check-in but that we would be in our room no later than 4pm. We arrived at around 4pm; not only was the room not ready but the woman at the front desk said she didn't know how long it would take, and that there was nothing she could do about it. She repeatedly told us we bought our room on expedia so she had no control over the room (????) She said we could get changed in the public restroom and that she would call us when the room was ready. Needless to say, we never received a call and didn't get into our room until close to 5pm. When I actually did get my key, she asked to see my ID (after I had already given her my credit card and dealt with her for about 20 minutes). On the way to the car to retrieve our bags, we were accosted by the concierge who wanted us to attend a time share presentation. She gave us a hard sell and told us it was an "invitation only" presentation and if we didn't respond then, she couldn't guaranty a spot. We told her we weren't interested and she continued to pursue. At this point, we had no room, no indication of when we'd get in the room, and a woman trying to make us go to a time share presentation for a hotel we were treated badly at. This was overall an incredibly disappointing experience and I'd recommend AGAINST going to this hotel. In addition, it is in a commercial office park area and lacks the charm of Napa. This place sucks.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jruperto, Resort Manager at Vino Bello Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2008
The issues presented in this review have been directed to the appropriate department managers for training with the service staff. We will make every effort to ensure the guest experiences are dealt with with the utmost in graciousness and care at all times. We appreciate the honest feedback this forum presents in helping to help us improve our service levels.

Regards,

Jose Ruperto
Director of Rooms
The Vino Bello Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

We chose the resort based on internet photos and info, and were not disappointed. The resort is only 2 years old so everthing was beautifully maintained and sumptious. We stayed in a one bedroom suite w/ a kitchen lvg room and dining area which accomodated a family of four nicely. Our comfortable bedroom had a jacuzzi tub in it which was great for soaking w/ a bottle of wine, and the TV swiveled so we could watch TV in the TUB. I loved that. Also the balcony was nice for dining or morning coffee.

The on site restaurant was excellent, although service was a little slow,but great if you wanted to relax. Also the wine I found to be a little on the expensive side.

I had a massage at the beautiful and incredibly serene on site spa, even my therapist was gorgeous (wish I could mention his name)!

The pool and Jacuszzi was very nice, there is one for each building, so never too crowded, and the pool towels were a nice plus.

My only issue is that being new to Napa, I did no know that the vinewyards were a good 25 mins from this location, so the driving got old after a while. Next time I will stay in St. Helena, where most of the action is, and is excrutiatingly charming.

  • Liked — it was clean and luxurious
  • Disliked — distance from the wineries
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

We booked six suites at Vino Bello Resort to accommodate family for our wedding in June 2008. We made our group reservations through the Regional Sales Manager who was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the Napa Valley. Our special requests were accommodated, including room views, crib requirement, gift basket delivery and advance notification on our arrival date to permit early check-ins as rooms became ready. The front desk and valet staff were very friendly and efficient. Parking and room access were easy and the grounds were impeccable. The suites were gorgeous, providing a poolside balcony with a view of vineyards, fireplace, large tub, complimentary wine, etc. - everything one could want for a relaxing and memorable stay. We did not get the opportunity to enjoy, but noticed the wonderful spa, poolside grills and restaurant. The resort is also close to Napa attractions. The corporate business park in close proximity does not detract from one's stay. Our family was extremely impressed with their accommodations and threatened not to leave! We're planning to book a return stay this month to celebrate a birthday. I can't recommend Vino Bello more highly!

  • Liked — Amenities, Location, Customer Service
  • Disliked — Too short
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Stayed 1 night here on a Wednesday late April, paid $A224 which included the "resort fee" and got free bottle of wine.
We stayed in the 1 bedroom Suite which was massive, it had a full kitchen which we used, then a lounge area with large LCD. The bathroom was also massive and awesome shower with multiple shower heads and then a main bedroom with huge comfy bed and spa bath. Small balcony also off bedroom.

Very good price for what we got! We didnt use pool but it looked lovely.

Check in was simple and quick. We checked in about 3pm

Only negative was we requested a crib on booking and no crib in room, so rang up to get one and they said they would get us one, we went out and got back around 3 hrs later and no crib so had to call up 2 more times to get one and baby quite tired by this stage. Also place seemed a bit sterile and no "cosy/romantic" type place but more business like.

Room had a washing machine and dryer in it which was great and got free washing powder.

Overall was very happy with nights stay especially at price we paid as room was huge and had everything you could need.

  • Liked — Whole Room - Kitchen, Shower, Bed, Washing Machine
  • Disliked — Poor Room Service - had to ask 3 times to get a crib
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubaman543
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

We went to the Vino Bello for a timeshare presentation, which was bad enough by itself. I am trying not to let the memory of the presentation doesn't taint my review of the hotel...

First, the good: The bed was excellent. It was extremely comfortable, and quite soft; a good way to relax. The hot tub/pool area was also quite nice. I enjoyed the size of the tub, as well as the fact that there were BBQ grills for guests to use.

Now for the not so good: The location of the resort is pretty bad, looking out over a corporate office park instead of vines and valley like many other Napa Resorts that cost the same amount per night. Also, the overall construction of the hotel was pretty low. The walls and ceilings were quite thin, allowing nose from rooms around you to leak in quite easily. We unfortunately happened to get put in a room right next to a family with young children who didn't like to sleep...not good. When we called the front desk to switch, they were not amenable to the request, saying that they were totally full and then hanging up on us. After that, the rest of our customer service experience was pretty poor. When we called to have some missing items brought to our room, it took them 25 minutes and 2 further calls to bring them to us. The concierge was very inattentive, paying more attention to the older guests, as we were one of the youngest couples there. Finally, the same was true of the wait staff at the bar and the restaurant. Both times, our waiter forgot about us more than once. We just felt like we were being overlooked.

I am glad that I did not pay the $350+ per night that would be normal without the presentation package. If I had been paying that much, I would have been even more upset, because at those prices, you expect 5 star service.

  • Liked — The Bed
  • Disliked — The Staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jruperto, Resort Manager at Vino Bello Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2008
We truly appreciate the time taken by this guest to report the issues they experienced during their stay! We wish to apogize for the inconveniences that occurred while here at the Vino Bello Resort. We are happy they were able to enjoy some of the amenities we offer. We continue to strive to improve our service daily and we get good viewpoints from reviews such as this! I have forwarded this review to the departments involved to use is as a training tool for all future guest interaction.

Jose Ruperto
The Vino Bello Resort at Napa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vino Bello Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vino Bello Resort

Address: 865 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Family Hotel in Napa
#14 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vino Bello Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Vino Bello suite is designed to complement your Napa Valley getaway with quiet space and luxurious appointments. Choose from 64 studio, one bedroom or two bedroom condominium-style suites, all decorated with Old World Tuscan charm that blends with the surrounding vine-covered hills to welcome you with style and grace. This is wine country at its best. Here you’ll find luxurious accommodations, fine amenities and gracious service, all designed to make your visit to Napa Valley a memorable one. Whether you choose to taste your way through countless Napa Valley wineries, venture into the hills on horseback, bicycle through quaint villages, or float above it all in a hot-air balloon, you’ll return to find first class amenities at Vino Bello Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Vino Bello Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vino Bello Hotel Napa
Vino Bello Napa
Vino Bello Resort Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vino Bello Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.