We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property, upscale beautiful rooms, ridiculously LOUD air conditioners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vino Bello Resort

Save Saved
You added Vino Bello Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vino Bello Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   865 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 25 hotels in Napa
Zephyr Cove, NV
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely property, upscale beautiful rooms, ridiculously LOUD air conditioners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Vino Bello Resort and loved the rooms, the decor, the service and the option of an adults-only pool (THANK YOU!), but can't help but wonder WHO chose the in room air conditioning system. It is annoying loud and makes it difficult to enjoy a quiet night of sleep.

Other than the LOUD A/C (which isn't a deal-breaker), the room (we rented a studio on the second (of three) floor) was well-equipped with a small refrigerator, toaster oven, coffee maker and coffee, microwave, washer and dryer, flat screen TV and bistro-sized table inside the unit, and another one on the small deck. The kitchen area is also set up with cups, plates, utensils and basic cooking utensils. The bathroom had a large soaking tub and nice spa-quality soaps, etc., and a hair dryer.

Next time we'd likely upgrade to a 1-bedroom unit, but we were quite comfortable and pleased with the quality and cleanliness of the rooms. We'd also try to reserve a third floor room, since we could hear the guests above us quite often. We always prefer and appreciate non-smoking accommodations.

I agree with other reviewers that the location in an industrial park is a bit unexpected, but it's a short drive to downtown Napa, and the facility provides a shuttle service. The Meritage/Vino Bello Resort grounds include a tasting room, spa, beautiful vineyard for a quick stroll, 2 pools, a fitness center, Ultra Lounge with bowling, restaurant and fire pits. Hiking trails and parks are a short drive away, as are some chain restaurants (Applebee's, Black Bear Diner, IHOP, Denny's, Taco Bell), Raley's Grocery store and others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    146
    49
    37
    22
See reviews for
98
301
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We used Vino Bella as our location for touring the wineries of Sonoma, Napa and Calistoga. The suite was spacious with its own kitchen, all high quality. The spa and pool were lovely and the restaurant service was first class.

As long as you have a car to get around to widen you choice as it is a little out the way, Vino Bella is a great base to launch from to visit the wineries, 40 minutes is your biggest drive. You can u wind at the end of the day with a dip in the pool or hot tub.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I will not stay here again if I have to pay! It was a little better than a Motel 6. Thank goodness we stayed busy and out on the town the 4 days we stayed there. We only came to the room to sleep. The parking is not adequate and we had to park in the street 3 of the 4 nights we stayed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

During our stay, we had breakfast each morning at Siena, the restaurant on the property. We could not have had better service. In particular, Latasha, a delightful young woman took exceptional care of our party of six. The food was fresh, and perfectly prepared each morning. I highly recommend this spot for breakfast...and ask for Latasha!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We came with the kids (6 & 1) for a quick one night of relaxation with the pool and restaurants. From the moment we checked in everyone was extremely nice. Rooms was perfect!!! Very clean with lots of amenities. The pool was nice as well with room service delivering out to us. We will definitely come again!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

As Shell owners we have been to quite a few properties, in fact I'm writing this review while staying at another Shell property in Whispering Woods in Oregon.
We have never been to Napa before so i had pictured the rolling green hills and rows upon rows of grapes vines. I thought I had made a wrong turn following the GPS directions when we turned into a commercial business plaza, but upon following the GPS directions found a resort named the Meritage. Driving in we saw one small sign that said Shell and focus that we had found the right property. I think you would be better off looking for the Meritage instead of the Vino Bella. They are both the same property, maybe this is part of the Wyndham takeover? Confusing for now.


Check in was easy once i figured out we were at the right place. Checked in to our one bedroom unit, which was great. Seemingly new, nicely decorated and upgraded everything. Nothing to complain about work the rooms.

Called the concierge a couple of times and even left a message but no one ever called us back. Walked to the shuttle stop to catch the shuttle to Napa but the valet said the shuttle was running late so we just drove into town... 10 minutes. I suppose the shuttle is a good option of you don't have a dd and plan on drinking. As we were toting 3 kids this was not an issue that we had to deal with so the shuttle would have been a waste of time.

Wasn't overly impressed with Napa,but i suppose they don't really cater to families with young kids. Everything was overpriced and pretentious. Just not our cup of tea. Ate dinner at Gotts restaurant in Napa. They are very pround of their mediocre food as evidenced by their prices. Advice: skip Gotts and go next door to the market that is full of little local restaurants.

We returned to Vina Bello/Meritage for a swim.Gate to the pool was locked and the card reader wouldn't let us in. Another guest opened the gate for us and said the gate had been broken for a while. Not sure why maintenance didn't put a sign on the gate. The pool ran out of towels, called the front desk and waited 30 minutes.

Just seems like the place has some growing pains...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The stay was alright, other than the room smell, the resort should tie up with other wineries for wine tasting and not limiting to only one winery - only to be told that the resort winery closed at 7pm. Disappointing ! The bowling and food were amazing and my daughter loved the game and the food. Also, there were too many doors to go thru to our room. Security was sure tight. Swimming pool was great but the door was difficult to open with the sliding room card.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool will be good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vino Bello Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vino Bello Resort

Address: 865 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vino Bello Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Vino Bello suite is designed to complement your Napa Valley getaway with quiet space and luxurious appointments. Choose from 64 studio, one bedroom or two bedroom condominium-style suites, all decorated with Old World Tuscan charm that blends with the surrounding vine-covered hills to welcome you with style and grace. This is wine country at its best. Here you’ll find luxurious accommodations, fine amenities and gracious service, all designed to make your visit to Napa Valley a memorable one. Whether you choose to taste your way through countless Napa Valley wineries, venture into the hills on horseback, bicycle through quaint villages, or float above it all in a hot-air balloon, you’ll return to find first class amenities at Vino Bello Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Vino Bello Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vino Bello Hotel Napa
Vino Bello Napa
Vino Bello Resort Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vino Bello Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.